We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed with my family in El Pez for four nights to attend my daughter's wedding at La Zebra hotel in May this year. I want to express my thanks to all the staff Mateo, Carla, Edwardo,Armani , the bartender, the chief and the cleaning staff. They were all very helpful, hospitable and polite.
The place is out of this world, very quiet and beautiful. To sleep with the room door open on the sea ,which was few meters away from our room was a dream come true.the food, the desserts, the drinks were excellent.
Anyone who wants to have a great vacation should head to El Pez at Turtle Cave

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wafashik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest.

Muchas Gracias for you review that means alot for us that help us to know that we are on the way to grow.

On behalf of my colleagues and the hotel management will appreciate your opinion

El Pez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is absolutely stunning - located on a scenic part of the beach, designed very stylishly and run by dedicated and the most friendly staff members.

Pros:
- the breakfast (even just continental) is delicious with lots of choice of fresh fruits. The home made granola is fantastic!
- The rooms - they are well decorated and feel romantic
- the location - although the beach isn't great for relaxing (and the water can be choppy), the location is beautiful with an incredible view of sunrise over the sea. However, guests at the el pez do get access at the private beaches of their sister hotels - we went to zebra beach a couple of times and it is perfect!
- the staff are some of the nicest people we met on holiday - they are genuinely concerned about your well-being and comfort, very knowledgeable on the area, restaurants etc and always ready to have a laugh with guests.

Cons
- it's not cheap!

Room Tip: Loved the private cabanas by the sea! The sea view king rooms were not bad either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for choose El Pez for your stay and we also hope you return soon to this Paradise that is wating for you once again.

We also want to mention that we are working very hard to have better facilities for our guests, and one more time thank you for writing this review.

El Pez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We couldn't have been happier with at stay at El Pez. We found a great deal online, and the amenities and service far exceeded other similarly-priced hotels from our trip. Our room overlooked Turtle Cove, which is a more private area of Tulum's beach. There was a nice breeze at all times. We just closed the screen door at night, and the breeze kept our room nice and cool (not the case at other hotels). We could hear the ocean at all times and had a perfect view of the sunrise. Our room also had a deck with a lounger, two chairs, and a table. They deliver coffee or tea to your deck before you wake up each morning. The waiters and front desk staff are very attentive. We were happy with every recommendation they made, and they always went out of their way to help. One waiter brought some honey back for us from his hometown so we wouldn't have to visit a sketchy part of town. Breakfast is a continental buffet which was delicious and filling. They have a large deck overlooking the ocean, and we spent many hours relaxing there. The drinks are the bar are expensive but comparable to what you find in any other resort town. They have 2-for-1 specials from 3-6, and the drinks weren't watered down. Overall, we were very sad to leave and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coachvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thanks for choosing El Pez for such an important momento in your life, it makes feel really proud.
We are so glad to read that everything was so perfect. That our main goal.

If you were sad when you left, you know you can always come back. We will be here for you.

El Pez Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My fiance and I stayed at El Pez at Turtle Cove from April 10th-13th and wish we could have stayed longer! We set up individual transportation to and from the airport through the hotel prior to our stay with Mateo at the concierge desk. We arrived with a wonderful welcome and two delicious margaritas. Mateo and the rest of the staff at this hotel were absolutely incredible and friendly!

Coffee is delivered to you every morning in a basket to your door and a delicious continental breakfast is served every morning. The breakfast is light, refreshing, and filling-fruit and yogurt topped with nuts and served with orange juice and coffee. We also had dinner at this hotel our first night and the food was delicious!

The hotel is right on the water and though it's not really swimming water, you can wade near the shoreline. Swimming water is just about a minute walk away. Mateo set us up with a private tour guide of the cenotes, Martin, who was also wonderful! Don't forget to visit the Sac Actun cenotes. One of the best experiences of our lives!

I can't imagine why anyone would write negative things about this hotel. There isn't A/C, but you never need it. The breeze from the ocean is amazing and we slept with just the screen door open every night, falling asleep to the ocean and waking up to an amazing sunrise, birds, and the ocean. You wake up feeling refreshed! You also have to put ALL toilet paper in the trashcan, but it’s whatever and you move on!

The hotel was on the quieter side of the beach rode and it was great. We stayed in the middle cabana on the first floor. The hotel was in walking distance to the other beach hotels and restaurants and within a short (and cheap) cab ride or bike ride. I miss Tulum already and loved our stay at El Pez!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasiri13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest,

So nice to read that your stay at El Pez was AMAZING. It makes us so proud to read that.
You know our included breakfast is the freshest way to start a beautiful day in Tulum, mostly if you want to do outdoor activities.
Thanks for the beautiful words about our staff.

Hope to see you around shinny Tulum,

El Pez Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

One of the reasons we chose El Pez was for the location - close to shops and restaurants without being right in the middle of them. It's also naturally cutoff from a lot of beach traffic thanks to the little cove in front of the hotel. These two things made for an ideal location. It was very quiet - the restaurant, the beach and especially the rooms.
From start to finish the service was fantastic. The staff did a great job of accommodating a couple of needs we had. First, my wife was on a very restricted diet for medical reasons and the wait staff and kitchen were willing to listen to what she needed and prepare dishes accordingly. Second, we changed rooms twice because we really wanted a few nights in one of the bungalows but the only choice was in the middle of our stay.
The last thing I will compliment is the concierge desk. We were very active in our time in Tulum and asked for assistance booking many activities and finding spots for dinner. Their knowledge of the area was excellent and while we were off doing something fun they were lining up the next day or evening.
All in all, this was a great choice for us. This was our last vacation before our first child arrives and it was a very luxurious place to stay, well suited for couples without kids. But I also noticed a couple families there and saw the warm way they were treated. I would consider returning in a couple years when our child is ready to travel.

Room Tip: An upper level bungalow room is an awesome choice. It's the fantasy suite of El Pez!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leffertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thanks a lor for writing such a beautiful review about your stay at El Pez. We always try to take care of our guests, so we are really glad to read that you had that feeling while staying with us.
El Pez is the perfect place to come to relax and have a dream vacation.

Hope next time you visit us with the new member of the family,

El Pez Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The staff at El Pez are exceptional, in particular we would like to mention Mateo and Karla who went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. They organised a driver for us (Jorge) who took us to the sights of Tulum (Chitchen Itza, Coba, Tulum ruins, Cenotes etc). We highly reccommend Jorge, he was friendly, personable and very knowledgeable.

The location of the hotel is great, right on the beach and within walking distance of bars, restaurants, tour companies etc.

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a great view of the ocean.

Unfortunately we only ate breakfast the restaurant but we did eat at their sister hotels La Zebra (mexican) and Mezzanine (thai) - the food at these restaurants was some of the best we had on our whole 7 week trip so we could only imagine how good the food would have been at El Pez.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a view of the beach so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guests,

What a beautiful review about your stay at El Pez.
We are really glad to read that you like the hotel and the beach.

Our doors will be always open for you.

El Pez Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from an excellent 10 day stay at El Pez. We were are a family with 2 children aged 8 and 5 and found that that hotel suited all of our needs. We stayed in a upstairs luxury cabana which we thought was excellent. The bed was super comfy and the children were well catered for. Shower / cleanliness etc were all excellent as well as extra little touches like coffee/chocolate milk delivery in the morning, extra beach towels, nice shower gels etc.

Mateo and the rest of the staff went out of their way to welcome us and to recommend places of interested. These were often off the tourist trail and we enjoyed feeling like we were in on a locals secret.

Our first impression was that perhaps we were slightly away from the hub of Tulum beach and the restaurants. We were proved wrong as they were a short beach walk away and we loved coming back to the quiet sanctuary of this lovely hotel. The pool was a definite plus for the children

The hotel also owns 2 others locally and arranged for us to spend the day at one which was also good.

Thanks again El Pez for a super stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review about your Stay at El Pez.
During the 9 days you stay you become part of El Pez family. Mateo still remember the footballs talks with Tim.
Thank you for the nice words about our staff.

Tulum will be always here for you,

El Pez Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
296 reviews
2.6 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £226 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing