We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the beach of Tulum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

it was fantastic staying at El Pez in Tulum. I have been travelling with my brother through Mexico and we spoiled ourselves with a couple of days on the beach. El Pez was the perfect choice.
The whole strip of beach is lined with hotels, hostels and cabanas but El Pez might be the best for the following reasons, which none of the other hotels have:
- the small bay is different than the rest of the beach. semi closed of by two rock parties, the water is quite and in the morning and late afternoon a favourite spot for the local brown pelicans that dive in the water after sardines. A spectacular sight from the cabana with a beer in your hand.
- The rocks are popular, so it is visited by people throughout the day, which is really nice to see.
- it shares the bay with only 1 other hotel, so it is quite and just away from all the other hotels.
- Still it's near to everything.

The room itself is spacious, clean and with great views. The staff is nice (even though maybe a bit too pleasing, but that might be me not being used to it) and the restaurant served the best ceviche I had in Mexico.

Also, I did some price comparisons in advance and recall that this one of the cheaper boutique hotels.

All in all, if you have trouble with deciding which hotel on the beach to stay, I believe that El Pez will be a very good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing this nice and extensive review.We really appreciate you took the time to do this, and also we will be very happy to welcome you back.We wish you the best and one more time thanks for sharing your expirience with everyone.

El Pez team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the MOST wonderful vacation in Tulum, and at El Pez. From the moment we walked into the beautiful, open-air "lobby," of the hotel, Karla and the other staff took wonderful care of us. They helped coordinate our outings perfectly. They gave us wonderful recommendations. They accommodated all our special needs with cheerful positivity (a child with a fever, etc.) The food and drinks there were very good, they have a lovely little pool and my kids loved climbing the rather dramatic rock at beachside. The only downside was that the beach was a bit rocky out front, but we didn't even mind that -- as it gives the hotel a secluded feel, and easily swimmable beaches are right around the corner. We'd go again in a New York minute.

Room Tip: Not sure, but they all seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Katherine!!

Gracias firts of all for choose El Pez for your vacations also we re so happy to read, that the family vacation were Wonderful and we want to let you know that we really aapreciate that you took the time to write this review. We wish you the best.
And we are going to be wating for you and family tha way back to El Pez

El Pez Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Solid hotel especially for the price. Small, great service. Food on site is better than average. No a/c which didn't strike me until I came home with a bag of damp clothes -- nothing ever really dries!! That said falling asleep to the sound of the waves is pretty awesome with the shutters open. Rooms definitely vary a bit so I'd request an ocean facing one and confirm the bed situation. Also note that most bathrooms are kind of open. Finally the locks on some of the doors need some work - but someone is always available to help. I think bikes on site would be a massive upgrade for what is already a lovely find. Mateo takes good good care of his guests and the house breakfast was a winner!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycity016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest:

First of all Muchas Gracias for your comment that is so special for all the members of this amazing hotel El Pez, i can tell you enjoy your staying with us as we did,we hope you come back soon to this Paradaise.

El Pez team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a long weekend of relaxation. By the end of my three night stay, I was extremely relaxed. This hotel is intimate with very helpful and kind service. After the journey to get there, we were greeted with margaritas, which was a nice touch. We stayed in two different rooms that were nicely appointed and all rooms directly faced the beach. It was a great place for birdwatching, as there is a nearby nature preserve and the native birds were abundantly visible. There were a couple of things to be aware of with this location. There is no A/C anywhere on the property. The sea breeze kept things cool, but it was a bit humid for my taste. Also, one of the floor plans has an open bathroom (no door or walls above five feet), which was a bit awkward in traveling with a friend. Otherwise, it was a lovely stay. There were many beaches and great restaurants within walking distance. Also, the best part of staying at this hotel was having access the beaches at the two sister properties. We enjoyed visiting all three.

Room Tip: You may wish to pick a floor plan with a closed bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Madame Rosen:

We are so grateful for your review and at the same time happy to read you. And please let us pamper you once again with our gifts for repetitive guests.

Now in spanish Muchas Gracias¡¡¡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Beautiful spot in a central area of a Tulum. Staff and service could not have been more accommodating & we had the most wondering not-your-average-resort experience! Unique, relaxing.. just amazing all around!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Dana:

Muchas gracias for your opinion that is so important for all the members of this team, and we are working very hard to be like you say Unique and we promese you we will to continue on the way.

Regards.

El Pez team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The staff at El Pez are exceptional- in particular Mateo and Karla. They help to organized everything for us. The beach is one of the most beautiful in Mexico, and we cannot wait to come back. The food at the restaurant very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ofreeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for write this nice review, on behalf of my fellow workers we are so glad to welcome you back at El Pez.

Best regards from Tulum México.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Waking up in NYC rather than at El Pez was not easy today as this weekend's stay was absolutely spectacular. From the beautiful views, to the luxurious accommodations, to the caring and dedicated staff, El Pez was the perfect place to stay. The hotel staff set up transportation, gave wonderful excursion recommendations as well as delicious restaurant suggestions. We could not have picked a better place for 14 ladies to vacation. We felt safe at all times and enjoyed every minute. My sister and I plan to return to El Pez with our family as soon as possible as we were both equally impressed by the hospitality and generosity of the staff. I will be recommending El Pez and all there is to do in Tulum to anyone looking for an amazing vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hola Dear Crhistine!!

Fist of all Gracias for choose El Pez Tulum, we are so happy to hear that your stay was SPECTACULAR.
And second Thanks for the time you take to write this opnion that means alot for the team to continue on the way.
And please come back soon to this amazing Paradise, that is wating for you and your Family.

El Pez.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,345 reviews
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
415 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £237 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing