We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pros:
-The meal of the restaurant in El Pez are delicious.(but expensive, dinner main dishes MXN$225~375)
-24 hrs hot water for shower and electricity offering.
-Service is good.
-View from room is pretty.
-Relax and cozy.
-WiFi signals are good.(Cellphone signals of Telcel are weak.)

Cons:
-No A/C, even there are ceiling fan and sea-breeze I still wake up because of HOT.
-Free breakfast offer: hot coffee, tea, breads, fruits, Jam, yogurt, nuts, hams and cheese. If you wanna eat something hot meal or egg dishes, that's extra cost.(MXN$50~90)
-Water precious here, so I think for this reason I saw the water of the pool isn't really clean.

-The beach in front of El Pez is full of seaweed and rocks, bad for swimming but good for snorkeling(many fishes, crabs and etc.)
-There are mosquitos. Bring repellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chy_annietw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, General Manager at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We realize you had a choice of many Hotels and we are glad you choose to stay with us.
El Pez is situated on such a uniquely beautiful spot on the beach in Tulum. Our cove plays host to birds, crabs, fish and turtles which makes snorkeling a treat for all those that stay here. Seaweed being part of the reason we have a host of sea life.

It does get hot here in the summer months and a AC would be great at times. However, one of the things people come to Tulum for is its small boutique hotels that make you feel as though you are far away from the crowds and conveniences that the high rise all inclusive resort are known for.. We have remained this way because most hotels are still generator, wind or solar powered.
Again, part of the overall charm.
Mosquitoes too are just a part of living in a beautifully palm forested area. So yes, pack your repellent.

Thank you again for your review, We are constantly striving to be the best and reviews help make us aware of all the needs of our guest.

With warm reguards from all of us here at El Pez at Turtle Cove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    739
    120
    30
    3
    5
See reviews for
190
498
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

During an 8 night Tulum trip we spent 4 nights at El Pez. The bay is a beautiful and central location to discover both sides to this beautiful resort. We had one of the rooms off the main build rather than a Cabana which we felt was as good as the Cabana’s - a beautiful room with a very warm welcome from the team there.

The dining area is simply beautiful and the grounds / beach area are perfect for settling into beach life and relaxing. The food we ate was fantastic and competed well with all other places we experienced (Hard to have a bad meal in Tulum). We actually felt like we’d found a bit of an unknown treasure.

If you want to relax by a beautiful bay and watch a colony of pelicans’ fish away (we didn't see this anywhere else and you can watch them for hours) make sure you give El Pez a visit. Even if you’re not staying there it’s still worth a lunchtime or evening cocktail / diner trip just to watch the Pelicans.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, El pez team at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mia and Matt, we really appreciate your comments about El Pez, and we are glad we could be part of your vacation expirience. This is what we love to do and what we work for every day. It was a pleassure having you as one of the first guests after our re oppening. Please, let us know in advanced whenever you are planning to visit us again so we can prepare everything for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sk1nny
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Here is what went wrong:
The fan ticking in our room was enough to keep one of us up every night of our stay, but since there was no A/C it was absolutely necessary to keep it on.

No soap was put in our bathroom for two days.

We were awaken by a horrible smell of septic tank, later understood that's why they had a huge rubber drain stopper in the shower, to keep the smell out!
Coffee basket outside our door was as basic as they come and nobody told us where to find it until we accidentally realized it was left outside our balcony door.

Zebra was a restaurant the front desk had suggested, we both ended up sick with food poisoning, and we later found out it was the same owners as the hotel. Not exactly a hot local tip in our opinion.

The outside door which allows you access to the room areas was impossible to open, luckily there was another one.

The beach is much nicer in Playa del Carmen, maybe the one at el pez has less people but it was full of seaweed and rocks. Not easy to swim in.

The staircase to the room is extremely steep, we are both in our early thirties and still found it quite dangerous to bring our luggage up and down, oh ya btw...even after the polite phone call we got regarding the possibility of help bringing down our bags on check out day, they never came, forgot entirely!

Breakfast included is strictly continental, that detail was never specified when we booked.

Nowhere at el pez could we find anything near the service or quality they are charging for. Will not return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank vinovillegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Guest,


We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at El Pez Hotel and we are sorry your stay was less than expected.

Every review is of value and we appreciate you taking the time to write it.
We value your input and always strive to make everyone"s vacation something to remember.
Again thank you and we hope your next visit to the Riviera Maya is as amazing as it is beautiful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

it was fantastic staying at El Pez in Tulum. I have been travelling with my brother through Mexico and we spoiled ourselves with a couple of days on the beach. El Pez was the perfect choice.
The whole strip of beach is lined with hotels, hostels and cabanas but El Pez might be the best for the following reasons, which none of the other hotels have:
- the small bay is different than the rest of the beach. semi closed of by two rock parties, the water is quite and in the morning and late afternoon a favourite spot for the local brown pelicans that dive in the water after sardines. A spectacular sight from the cabana with a beer in your hand.
- The rocks are popular, so it is visited by people throughout the day, which is really nice to see.
- it shares the bay with only 1 other hotel, so it is quite and just away from all the other hotels.
- Still it's near to everything.

The room itself is spacious, clean and with great views. The staff is nice (even though maybe a bit too pleasing, but that might be me not being used to it) and the restaurant served the best ceviche I had in Mexico.

Also, I did some price comparisons in advance and recall that this one of the cheaper boutique hotels.

All in all, if you have trouble with deciding which hotel on the beach to stay, I believe that El Pez will be a very good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kees_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for writing this nice and extensive review.We really appreciate you took the time to do this, and also we will be very happy to welcome you back.We wish you the best and one more time thanks for sharing your expirience with everyone.

El Pez team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had the MOST wonderful vacation in Tulum, and at El Pez. From the moment we walked into the beautiful, open-air "lobby," of the hotel, Karla and the other staff took wonderful care of us. They helped coordinate our outings perfectly. They gave us wonderful recommendations. They accommodated all our special needs with cheerful positivity (a child with a fever, etc.) The food and drinks there were very good, they have a lovely little pool and my kids loved climbing the rather dramatic rock at beachside. The only downside was that the beach was a bit rocky out front, but we didn't even mind that -- as it gives the hotel a secluded feel, and easily swimmable beaches are right around the corner. We'd go again in a New York minute.

Room Tip: Not sure, but they all seemed great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Katherine!!

Gracias firts of all for choose El Pez for your vacations also we re so happy to read, that the family vacation were Wonderful and we want to let you know that we really aapreciate that you took the time to write this review. We wish you the best.
And we are going to be wating for you and family tha way back to El Pez

El Pez Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Solid hotel especially for the price. Small, great service. Food on site is better than average. No a/c which didn't strike me until I came home with a bag of damp clothes -- nothing ever really dries!! That said falling asleep to the sound of the waves is pretty awesome with the shutters open. Rooms definitely vary a bit so I'd request an ocean facing one and confirm the bed situation. Also note that most bathrooms are kind of open. Finally the locks on some of the doors need some work - but someone is always available to help. I think bikes on site would be a massive upgrade for what is already a lovely find. Mateo takes good good care of his guests and the house breakfast was a winner!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycity016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest:

First of all Muchas Gracias for your comment that is so special for all the members of this amazing hotel El Pez, i can tell you enjoy your staying with us as we did,we hope you come back soon to this Paradaise.

El Pez team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a long weekend of relaxation. By the end of my three night stay, I was extremely relaxed. This hotel is intimate with very helpful and kind service. After the journey to get there, we were greeted with margaritas, which was a nice touch. We stayed in two different rooms that were nicely appointed and all rooms directly faced the beach. It was a great place for birdwatching, as there is a nearby nature preserve and the native birds were abundantly visible. There were a couple of things to be aware of with this location. There is no A/C anywhere on the property. The sea breeze kept things cool, but it was a bit humid for my taste. Also, one of the floor plans has an open bathroom (no door or walls above five feet), which was a bit awkward in traveling with a friend. Otherwise, it was a lovely stay. There were many beaches and great restaurants within walking distance. Also, the best part of staying at this hotel was having access the beaches at the two sister properties. We enjoyed visiting all three.

Room Tip: You may wish to pick a floor plan with a closed bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Madame Rosen:

We are so grateful for your review and at the same time happy to read you. And please let us pamper you once again with our gifts for repetitive guests.

Now in spanish Muchas Gracias¡¡¡
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 96 in Tulum
858 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 96 in Tulum
274 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel

Property: El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing