We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Casa Banana

Casa Banana
Ranked #42 of 389 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located across the beach road from Nueva Vida is Casa Banana Steakhouse, a Tulum dining hot spot. Serving up classic Argentinian style cuisine, the food here is simple, fresh and delicious. For breakfast each morning enjoy made to order coffee, homemade banana bread, and pineapple coconut jam. At night the restraurant gets busy and comes alive with it’s outdoor grill, known as “parilla,” and dishes are cooked over the open fire for all to see. The menu favorites include grilled to perfection steak, fresh caught fish, impressive salads, and a thoughtfully selected wine list. Don’t forget to try the handshaken icy margaritas, too.Open daily breakfast, lunch and dinner. We provide beach service for all guests of the hotel.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Everything was pretty good. It wasn't amazing, but a lovely night nonetheless. It seems to be amongst the top 5 restaurants along the beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank OzEnigma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    481
    184
    79
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the Best Restaurants in Tulum”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Once again, we had a fabulous experience at Casa Banana! Santiago, Daniel and Augustina have left us feeling like family and the pride and passion for their place shines through in all the dishes and wait staff.
Our meal was delicious, we shared 2 entrees, even though they are quite large, and started with our favorite asparagus & goat cheese, yum!
The wine list is a pleasure to explore with lots of Argentinian gems, and tasty mixed cocktails. Their new addition of a cocktail bar is smart since during the high season, they get quite booked and a cool refreshing concoction is the perfect thing while you take in the ambiance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDanielle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD FRIENDLY SERVICE NICE ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I've been to Casa Banana on several occasions. I have seen the restaurant evolve into what it is today. I love Casa Banana! Danny and Santi do an amazing job. Their team is nicely put together and very professional. It is an Argentinian restaurant, they are from Argentina and know how to prepare a great steak. If you don't eat meat there are plenty of Vegetarian options as well. Try the delicious Beet Salad with roasted garlic and goat cheese. Its delicious!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank romeoklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great continental breakfast along with a solid menu”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This was the restaurant associated with our hotel (Nueva Vida De Ramiro, also a great place to stay). With our stay the continental breakfast was included. It came with fruit, tea or coffee, and breads with a delicious marmalade. Nothing crazy but certainly nice in the hot mornings of Tulum Beach.

The other breakfast, lunch, and dinner items were great. The prices were reasonable for the area and the food was delicious. The whole fish really was amazing. The place also steadily pumps out great remixes and original versions of various electronic tracks if you are into that sort of thing. They also have a really well maintained old school foose ball table. With an ambient and fun atmosphere this place was a great option if you are in the area. There were not many vegan options, then again it is not advertised as such.

Helpful?
Thank Makinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great staff and delicious food”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Casa Banana was the restaurant affiliated with our resort, Nueva Vida de Ramiro. We went there for breakfast every morning as they offered a continental meal with our stay. I would have gone back regardless. The breakfast included fresh fruit, fruit juices, coffee, fresh-baked brick oven bread, banana bread and fresh marmalade. Just my type of breakfast and so delicious! You could also order off the menu. We really enjoyed the salmon sandwich and huevos rancheros. The service was great. Super friendly and attentive. It was a pleasure to practice Spanish and English with the baker. We also went for dinner. I ordered the fresh snapper and my partner ordered the duck. Both were cooked to perfection, not dry or under done. Only downside is that it can get a little buggie since it's on the jungle side, but be ready for that since Tulum is in the jungle ;) can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank EmsKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Banana also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing