We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birdwatching tour - Muyil Mexico November 2013”

Mexico Kan Tours - Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Chichen Itza Day Trip with Cenote and Valladolid from Tulum
Ranked #2 of 97 Tours in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mexico Kan Tours is a travel agency committed to showing visitors to Mexico the country's incredible range of culture and biodiversity. We design every tour with a desire to share our own extensive travel experience in Mexico,combined with the love that we feel for its true and hidden side. Our activities strive to enrich and entertain in a manner that is socially and ecologically responsible.Trust Mexico Kan Tours and let us make your visit an enlightening, rewarding and memorable experience..
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Agawam, Massachusetts
1 review
“Birdwatching tour - Muyil Mexico November 2013”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We booked a full day tour with MKT for birdwatching in Muyil. We got picked up in Playa Del Carmen at 5am and dropped off at 5:30pm. Although a long day it was such a great day of birding the day flew by. We saw many species of birds, Miguel our tour guide was awesome at both finding and identifying the birds. We also did the lazy river float which we highly recommend very beautiful and peaceful. We highly recommend booking a tour with MKT to any birders planning a trip to Mexico.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bambi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkt2007, Front Office Manager at Mexico Kan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are really glad that you were one of the lucky ones to live this experience! It is really good that you got to see this part of nature and continue it with a whole new relaxing and fresh floating experience.

We hope to see you soon in another adventure with Mexico Kan Tours! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    59
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sain Ka'an Adventure”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked the Sian Ka'an tour through our hotel (Luv Tulum). We've been here before and had a bird tour with Miguel and so thought we'd venture for longer into the jungle/rain forest area this time.

The trip was sold via their website as including many exciting things from exotic birds to dolphins. We are glad we went and for us the dolphins and the turtle made It worthwhile, however, it is more accurately described as a 5-6 hour round trip to see dolphins, a turtle or 2 and snorkel. The bird watching element was sitting in the mini-bus on the road, we did stop once to stretch our legs and we saw a few birds but do NOT imagine that you will see anything more exotic than you see on Tulum beach. If you do it is a bonus.

The day:
8am pick up from hotel
Then the worse road that you can ever imagine - seriously do NOT consider this if you are pregnant; have a bad back; know you're waiting for a hip replacement or get car sick ... take sickness tablets if you can. The condition of the road is blamed upon many factors but mainly that there is too much traffic, no-one will take responsibility and that if it were fixed there would be more destruction. I do wonder whether tour companies have to pay any tax or toll. A toll may fix some issues.
The driver DAVID was a genius at trying to get around the pot holes, of which there were more than flat road. We ached like mad the next day.
Anyway ... about 1-2 hours after being picked up expect to stop and take photos for 10 minutes.
Then back in for 2 or so hours and finally you go to the public loos and get changed and walk to the boats.
Then turtle/s
Then a 5 minute fast ride out to sea with 5-15 other boats to see if you can find a few dolphins. There are many pods there (dolphin family units) and at times I felt concerned that we were far too close to them, especially those with calves. In most waters you can be fined for going so close to them. Anyway, they were there and lovely to see.
Then off to see birds in trees on a small island - lots of them - nice.
Then off to the edge of the coral reef to snorkel. I didn't go in as I was aching from the drive but the others did. I asked 2 of them what it was like and they said not up to much, but I guess it's hit and miss as much as it is luck.
Then back to the village for a lovely lunch and then .... 3 hours of being thrown around a tin can in the heat, dark and then rain.

The only reason we would not go again is the drive and that is why I go on about it. Be prepared but do not dismiss the trip because of it.

Our guides
We had a woman whose name we cannot remember (our group split into 2 and she took the French speaking half) and Miguel the younger or bat man (as opposed to Miguel the bird man as we call him). Miguel was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable and for me made the trip far more interesting than if we'd gone without him.

Some of this sounds negative; it is just honest but we do still say 4 out of 5 and would recommend it and the company.

One little note to the guides: the laminated sheets that you showed to use were great. We would have bought 1 of each of you'd had stock in a bag in the van but are unlikely to make a special trip to Tulum (and another 300 pesos) though, just to buy them.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mkt2007, Front Office Manager at Mexico Kan Tours - Day Tours, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Martina is the guide´s name you don´t remember and it´s great to know that she and Miguel (batman) made your trip better than if you had gone on your own. This is one of our priorities, to have qualified and knowledgeable guides to be part of your one-life-time adventure!

About the road to get to Punta Allen, it is a really bad one and I would had wished that you where given this information before you booked the tour. Of course this is also part of the adventure, but it is not for everyone and it is really important and convinient that our clients know this, before taking the tour.

Thank you very much for your opinion, because it will help us make sure that all the receptionist from every hotel that we work in, tell their guests about this before they book.

As for the birds that you get to see this is not a specific bird watching Tour, you do see different types of birds, but to know and see even more we have another tour in a different area of the same biosphere, called Bird Watching. It is great that you actually got to take this tour even before going to Punta Allen, because you got to see Sian Ka´an Biosphere from different perspectives.

Hope to have you back soon in a different adventure with us! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Start to finish fantastic”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just did the Mayan inland experience with tour guide Miguel. Went into the shop to ask about tours and were given lots of information with absolutely no pushy sales pitches.

We decided on the inland tour as it included cenotes, ruins, zip lining and forest walks. We were picked up promptly from our hotel and it was just myself and my wife on the tour. We learned a great deal about the Mayan history on the way to the forest area. Here we gott to walk throught the forest zip lined across one of the lakes having kayaked across it. We then got to see a family of spider monkeys before heading to the cenote. Having been to one yesterday we never realised how beautiful they can be. This was absolutely amazing, again, it was just ourselves there. You do need to be lowered through a small hole but everything opens up once inside.

This was followed by lunch at local restaurant - with corona of course. The rest of the day was spent touring more ruins by bike, easy going, no hills. The ruin at the end may look a little daunting but well worth the effort to climb.

Absolutely amazing day with an amazing guide, would def reccomenda this or any other tour with this company. We will be returning for more before the week is out

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich-Jen2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayreuth
Level Contributor
1 review
“one of the reasons why I fell in love with Mexico”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We did the Sian Ka´an Muyil tour and it was incredible! Floating down the river itself was a great experience but doing this with such a knowledgable and caring guide like Miguel was absolutely amazing, He furnished us with a lot of very interesting information about the Mayan culture, the Sian Ka'an reserve and all the flora and fauna we saw. This was the most incredible tour I have ever done and I recommend doing a tour with MKT to everybody who is seeking for a unique and unforgettable experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vam0n0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent guides, ecologically responsible trips”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We did two tours with these guys: Maya Underworks & World Wonder Discovery.

Maya Underworld involved a great snorkelling trip between three Eco-systems - a river mouth as it reached the sea, the salt water from the sea and the edge of a reef. Our guide went at our pace and adapted to us. We were lucky that there were only the two of us on the tour that day. Then we went off to explore underground cave system through several 'cenotes', like an underwater river full of stalactites and stalagmites. The guides were very knowledgeable and really cared about the ecology of these environments, but we're also laid back and fun.

The second tour took us to Chichen Itza, another amazing cenote and an old yucatan town. Chichen Itza was amazing, but get there early - later it's packed with tourists and stalls selling all sorts of generic souvenirs. Our guide was again very knowledgable and pulled a lot of examples from modern day politics to help us understand the rise and fall of the Mayan culture. This was a little opinionated at times, but sparked some good conversations within our group.

Absolute experts on the environment, small tour, groups, helpful, excellent English, a quite Eco-responsible way to see the wonders of this part of Mexico.

Thank you!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mexico Kan Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mexico Kan Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing