We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So rad!”
Review of Playa Selva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Playa Selva
Ranked #7 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Great beach & comfortable cabanas. Small fleet of bikes for guest use. My favorite part was the common area/kitchen. Each cabana gets their own cooler which is regularly replenished with ice blocks. Cold water & beer on demand! In between binging on not so healthy food in the pueblo, it's nice to have the option of preparing a healthy meal for yourself. We split our time between playa selva & la conchita. Not that conchita was bad, we just felt more at home at playa selva. Great staff & owners!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent 3 nights at playa selva and it was wonderful. The location is near the end of the beach road but there are still plenty of places close by to eat or have a drink. We took full advantage of the communal kitchen, it was perfect for us because we like to get up very early and have coffee. They give you a large cooler with a big block of ice for cold foods and a sealed bin for dry goods. There is everything you need to cook a meal in the kitchen and it is accessible at all times. The staff there are very sweet and friendly, the cleaning was impeccable!! When you arrive Mauricio shows you around, he is very nice and has great advice about the area. They also have bikes you can use to check out the beach road which was very handy, also there are boogie boards and even some kayak type floats, the water was pretty wavy when we were there so we didn't get to use them. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We loved the authentic palapa beach umbrellas which offered nice shade in the heat of the day. The beach in front of playa selva is nice and sandy for swimming and you can walk for a long way in each direction. They have free wifi and there was one outlet in our room. The shower water was a bit salty and slow but not a big deal. Previous reviews have complained about the camping area next door, we found the hippies to be a major source of entertainment on the beach, someone was usually out there dancing around or waving some sort of new age hippie wooden carved sticks that looked cool when you spin them. We heard some soft drumming by day that we liked but not a peep at night. A true gem in Tulum, we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lime999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Playa Selva is beautiful, clean and safe. The friendly staff is very helpful and the large communal kitchen is well equipped. There are also nice little touches like lit candles in the evening and a lovely bowl of fruit upon arrival.

Room Tip: They are all perfect, just depends on how much room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorelBrunswick_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The staff is wonderful; Manuela & Mauricio are the perfect hosts. We have been coming back twice a year to Playa Selva for the last 2 years and just love it! Our beachfront bungalow is charming. We have been vacationing in Tulum for the last 6 years and have stayed at many hotels but this by far is the best. Very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunmartaxco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing!
Total relaxation. Perfect location right on the best part of the beach (the most quiet part) across the street from the best restaurants around. Staff and owner were nice and helpful.
There's a kitchen so you can also eat in if you want, make sure you buy groceries on your way over (you won't feel like going back into town after you arrive).
They arranged a great tour at the biosphere reserve which is near and if you plan a day ahead you can get kitesurfing lessons.
Make sure you bring mosquito repellant and Alo Vera in case you get bitten (this a remark for Tulum, not specifically Playa Selva)

Can't wait to go there again. 3 night weren't enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TelAvivDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Playa Selva is amazing. For that matter Tulum and the surrounding area is truly amazing. We stayed in the 2 bed bungalow "Cabana Maya" approximately 30-50 meters from the ocean depending on whether the tide is in or out. I was very excited by the pictures online but was prepared for disappointment upon arrival. Not only were the pictures accurate but in person the place is 1000x better than the photos. The entire staff (Javier, Maria, Joanna, and Poly) are ultra-friendly and helpful, Poly gave us terrific recommendations for excursions. As a result, I urge any visitors to make a trip into the Sian Ka'an Bioreserve which is only about 3 KM from Playa Selva. This is a can't miss and an extreme value even in the high season.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell_glaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My boyfriend and I rented a room in a downstairs bungalow for three nights to enjoy a beautiful, relaxing environment near the beach. Where some of this came true, I personally did not find it relaxing at night when I wanted to sleep. Upon arrival we were greeted by Joanne (who was lovely). The staff was also extremely friendly - absolutely no complaints there. The room was beautifully designed and very functional. There were bikes, kayaks and a kitchen, etc. Everything about the property itself is great. Only problem is the noise at night, even if it isn't Playa Selva's fault.

If you aren't sensitive at all to noise at night, this detail may not bother you, but it certainly bothered me. All three nights we booked here I was kept up until late in the night by people at the next door camping facility - playing music on instruments, yelling, laughing, etc. when what I was looking for was a quiet and relaxing stay near the beach. It felt like a late-night restaurant/party was running next door until about 2 or 3 in the morning every night. Because my boyfriend and I decided to spend extra on staying in a lovely place near the beach, it was a lot more disappointing to me personally. Ear plugs were a must and even then it was frustrating at times.

It's also possible that the other bungalows don't pick up this kind of noise (I saw some closer to the beach, where it is not as close to the fence adjacent to the campground (as ours was - we were in the bungalow immediately next to the campgrounds). I hate to complain because the staff was so great (and the property), but it ruined evenings for me and made the end of our vacation a bit of a bummer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KatyGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 101 in Tulum
924 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
4.9 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#24 of 101 in Tulum
624 reviews
2.5 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#41 of 101 in Tulum
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Selva

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8.4 | Apartado Postal 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 146 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £84 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Selva is one of the most beautiful beaches in Tulum with agarden composed of large trees, surrounded by practically virgin nature.This place has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.A place to relax, away from the rush and the noise.A place to recharge your energy; alone, with your partner, with friends or with the entire family.A place to practice different sports and leisure activities.A place to let your soul fly free.Playa Selva is located on the Tulum beach; 8 km from the town, 8 km from the Tulum Mayan ruins and 3 km from the extraordinary Sian Ka'an Biosphere Natural Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Selva Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing