We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Great Outdoors”
Review of Azucar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Azucar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 91 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2010

I stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of April with my boyfriend. two of our friends stayed in a different room. We arrived at night and could not see the hotel. We found 6 cockroaches in our room at different times - night and day. Our friends stayed in another room. They had problems with mosquitos. Salt water runs from the tap. The bed and linens were comfortable. The scenery is beautiful. The service was nice and helpful. The cockroaches were not cool, but our room was smack on the beach in a cabana - so what should we have expected? There is no reception area or restaurant attached to the hotel so you have to walk down to other hotels for a bite to eat. I couldn't wait to leave in the morning. Discretion is advised.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
Thank mcblaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2010

We just returned from 3 days at Azucar. Our room was exactly as pictured. It was a very good value, especially for high season. We had the Lunamielera Cabin. The room is quite romantic, good-sized with a queen, bamboo canopy bed. It has a refridgerator, 24-hour solar lights and overhead fan and a safe. The beach is beautiful and has nice padded beach loungers and umbrellas. The property is well maintained and the staff nice. There is no restaurant or hotel office/lobby, but it is walking distance on the beach to several restaurants and bars. Of course, with a car or taxi, you have all of the beach and Tulum town within reach. I would also recommend the Coral and Arricife rooms and the Family Cabana. They are all on the beachfront and beautiful. You cannot see the ocean at all from the Selvamar Cabin - it adjacent to the parking lot and the beach road and is surrounded by jungle. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pamiam53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We took a chance by going to the Azucar because we could not find one review in english on this place. So happy we choose the Azucar! My husband and I were there in Jan. for two nights and we stayed in the Luminere room. It was off to the side of their main building and reminded me of our own little tree hut, which made it very private and perfect for our honeymoon. The pictures are acurate and when you woke up all you could see was the sunrising over the ocean and hear the waves. ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL! If you book it right, try to go when its a full moon. Also a spectacular sight over the ocean. The room was very clean and we had a huge fridge. I was glad we had no restaurant in the place which made it very quiet and the walk on the beach to the nearby places was close and were very good to eat in. OM-had great pizza and Tita Tulum had excellent shrimp for reasonable rates. Although our room was a bit pricey (175US a night) after staying there I would definitely say its worth every penny and would go back in a heartbeat. The family running the place was extremely hospitable and we thank them for a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pdotnndd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Satyed at Azucar from Jan 27-30. We had the Aricefe room which is one of three units in one cabana. While not a completetly separate cabana it was good enough for two people especially for the price ($135/night). We had an unobstructed view and access to the Ocean and falling asleep and waking up to the waves was wonderful. There were a few pleasant surprises in that the beach was very well kept, the workers would clean it every morning, 24hr electricity, wireless internet and the rooms were clean. Hot water would last for about 5-10 min but was enough.

There are a few downsides, there is no front desk or any real help unless you spoke good spanish to talk to the workers, also there is no on site restaurant. They do have a refridgerator in the room so you can buy plenty of drinks in town and bring them back, thus saving money. AS for food we just walked a little and had no problems in finding restaurants within a few steps. I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
72
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Pau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#47 of 98 in Tulum
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playa Selva
Playa Selva
#7 of 134 in Tulum
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Chan Cabanita
La Chan Cabanita
#22 of 134 in Tulum
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa Xcanan Cabanas Tulum
0.0 mi away
Casa Ganesh Tulum
Casa Ganesh Tulum
#10 of 91 in Tulum
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amoreira
Hotel Amoreira
#14 of 134 in Tulum
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azucar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azucar Hotel

Address: Tulum Hotel Zone Km. 7.5, Carr. a Boca Paila, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £120 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Azucar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing