We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Time”
Review of Extreme Control

Extreme Control
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Kiteboarding Class in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Extreme Control Adventure Kitesurfing, Kiteboarding, Paddleboarding and Scuba Diving School located in Tulum has been the first Professional Kiteboard School in the Riviera Maya and Yucatan operating since 2004 and offering top quality service to students from all over the globe about kiteboarding, paddleboarding and scuba diving. The worm winds and warm Caribbean water create an ideal environment to learn or improve your kitesurfing, diving or paddleboarding skills. Their team of instructors are expert kiteboarders, IKO Certified and multilingual with over 5/10 years experience teaching and riding. Extreme Control is the first school in Tulum teaching kiteboarding with the Short Line Method and Radio Helmet, where the use of 7/10 meter lines helps students learn how to pilot the kite without full power and the Radio Helmets helps the student to receive a feedback real time from the instructor all the time, making the learning process safer, faster and more fun! With this method, the majority of the students are able to independently fly the kite in 6 hours! The goal is to create responsible and independent kiters so everyone can continue to enjoy this sport throughout the world. Summer and Fall are great months to go Stand Up Paddleboarding in Tulum where you can enjoy an amazing snorkeling cenotes tour.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great school and instructors. Highly recommended for anyone seeking to get into kiteboarding in a great setting with good pleasant instruction.

Thank you Marco, Fulvio, Sebastian, Manolo, and Leo

Miss you

Thank Gustavo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc0, Owner at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Hi Thanks a lot to share your experience with other people, we are happy to know you enjoyed this adventure with us.

Hope see u soon back here .....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was organizing a retreat in Tulum and wanted to include Paddle Board Yoga as one of the activities, and someone recommended Extreme Control to me. They were very easy to deal with and answered email very quickly and in great detail. In Tulum we were treated professionally. I dealt with Brendon and Heather.

None of the participants had tried paddle board yoga before, but teacher Richelle made sure everyone was comfortable and enjoyed the experience. We were divided into two groups of 5 in each and had one class following the other. If we would have wanted more than 5 boards it would have become more expensive as that was the number of boards they had at the cenote location we were. (We were recommended the calm cenote as the sea was too rough).

I really enjoyed trying this activity. It was a great challenge compared to normal yoga as the balancing was more challenging. I would really like to try it again, would recommend others to do it and can definitely recommend using Extreme Control.

A few details to think about: You can not use sunblock or mosquito repellent as the cenotes fresh water is a source of drinking water. Therefor it might be good to plan to go a cloudy day or where clothes that shield from the sun. Also better to avoid sunset or sunrise time as there are more bugs out then.

Count on the experience taking a bit over an hour where about 45 minutes is used for yoga.

Thank lotzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc0, Manager at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you so much for posting your comments. We are happy that you and your group enjoyed the new experience of Paddleboarding Yoga. Challenging but fun! Hope we can see you again and maybe next time the conditions will be suitable to try it in the sea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I went on a SUP and snorkeling tour of the Casa Cenote in Tulum via Extreme Control. This was a great way to explore the Cenotes of Tulum both above and below the surface. Our guide, Brendon, was very friendly, laidback, knowledgeable, and fun. It was a small group...only two couples and very reasonably priced so we thoroughly enjoyed the 3 hours. Brendon even offered to take pictures of the group and send them to us because we failed to have a waterproof camera. Experiencing the cenotes this way was beautiful and remarkable. I would highly recommend this tour!

Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc0, Manager at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hi Amanda, Thanks for the comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Paddleboarding tour of the cenote. We also love doing this tour! Hope to see you back in Tulum paradise soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I really did our research before we flew down to Tulum, Mexio to attend Extreme Control Kiteboarding School. And we are glad we did! Marco and his staff are awesome! Patient, multi-lingual, and talented. After six hours I was independently riding. As Marco says, "Up! Up! Up the Kite!"

1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc0, Manager at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hey, thanks for the comments. We are stoked that you had such a successful time learning the amazing sport of kiteboarding! Hope that you can come back and see us again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Thank you Marco and your friendly crew,
We really enjoyed our helpful kitesurfing lessons in Tulum.
We are looking forward for some more fun and learning with you guys.
Keep on the good work and the nice vibe.
Georges and Isabelle

Thank Georges O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marc0, Manager at Extreme Control, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hi, thanks so much for posting your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us and good luck with your continued kiteboarding. We would love to see you back here and look forward to helping you progress with the sport that we love so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Extreme Control also viewed

 

Been to Extreme Control? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing