We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it!”
Review of L'Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Hotelito
Ranked #62 of 91 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Yes, it's run by Italians, who have an espresso maker and good taste in bedspreads. Yes, it has big rooms and a lovely courtyard. Alas, all of this is outweighed by unreliable wifi and hot water, and by the location of an all-night Mexican nightclub next door. Literally, all night - from 11PM til dawn, our room was practically vibrating with bachata and disco siren noises. Avoid, if you like sleep, hot showers, or email.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

Very nice hotel, with big, clean rooms, comfortable beds, a nice little garden with hammocks and an Italian restaurant. Very kind hosts who made our stay pleasant and offered advice about the village and the trips to the ruins and to the beach.
The booking was easy and smooth and once we got there we could even choose our rooms.

It may get a big too noisy at night, especially on Friday, but the hosts provide ear plugs and it's bearable after all. Not such a huge problem for a young group of travellers who just needed a hot shower and a comfortable bed and who finally got a lot more nice things!!

I think I'd give it 4.5 stars (which translates in 5 into the backpackers' language :) ).

We would definitely choose L'Hotelito for our future stay in Tulum!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripspotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We stayed for two nights but of the four places we stayed in Tulum, this was the least friendly and we were happy to leave.

On the plus side: it's a great location if you want to be in the middle of town, and the rooms are very large and clean, plus breakfast is included.

On the negative side: despite speaking my best spanish & always giving the hosts a smile, I didn't feel very welcome, and it wasn't somewhere we wanted to hang around. We even had breakfast somewhere else on our second day, rather than eat there.
The room was a bit gloomy due to the lack of natural light, and overall there wasn't a particularly nice atmosphere.
There are some VERY noisy bars just there...didn't bother us as we went out to a party at the beach but probably not a great location if you don't want a late night at the weekend. Some go till 4am.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are more 'rustic' with thatch roof / mossie nets etc whereas the one we staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I stayed two nights at L'Hotelito. On the positive side, its location is very central and my (small) breakfast was good. Our room faced a private garden.

On the down side: being this central means bar noise until 2:00 am and street noise starting at 7:00 am. I did not sleep very well for that reason. Internet was also incredibly slow.

Room Tip: You should try to get a room in the back of the hotel, as far as possible from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I really liked this place and the feel of it. Rooms have a look of a cabin, a lot of dark wood all around. Beds were protected by mosquito nets, the toilet was very nice, there was also a tv to waste some time. Outside, you can relax on one of the hammocks. There are a lot of places to eat just steps away, but you can also eat at the hotel, as they offer menu.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrT1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

On the plus side, L'Hotelito is in a good location (near the bus station, taxi rank and restaurants in Tulum town), and it was cheap and clean. On the down side, the room was a bit dingy and the shower was little more than a trickle of cool water. Plus the owner seemed indifferent to her guests - she rarely spoke to us, even if we went up to ask something.

The main problem though was the noise. It was a Saturday night and we were in a room at the front, with a palapa roof that didn't provide any insulation from the noise of the nightclub up the street, which carried on till morning. The hotel provided earplugs, so they're obviously aware of the problem, but unfortunately they didn't block out the noise of the music. Maybe the rooms at the back might have been better.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carola_Marron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhotelito, Gerente at L'Hotelito, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

l.Hotelito is located in the center of Tulum, is cast with material from the region, so one room has the problem of noise. (one day you'll be back I'll show all the claims by the municipality) there room completely in concrete and no noise, of course, cost of 5-8 dollars more. I stand really very difficult to believe that the room was dirty (I personally I control the fourth day). The noise is individual, each person reacts differently, so we decided to put the plugs in the room, they put the customer chooses or not. And if ne very sorry to know that there were no comfortable with us (this is also individual). You are Lord of TripAdvisor partner, I can not believe that before coming to us not informed where he came.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This little and romantic place is on the main street of Tulum. We chose l'Hotelito among the others because it had a good review of the Rough Guide of Cancun and the Yucatan. We didn't regret it at all.
When we arrived without any reservation, Paolo (the Italian owner) showed us a couple of rooms with A/C or with just a fan. We decided to go for the room with the fan because being on the second floor, it was more romantic and also cheaper.
The room came with a nice mosquito net around the bed that it was very convenient considering the amount of mosquitoes in that area of Mexico.
The morning after we enjoyed an awesome breakfast that it was not included in the price of the room but it was still at a very honest price. And it was delicious.
We were so happy with l'Hotelito that we decided to stay for a second night instead of moving to our next destination. Paolo told us that on Saturdays the bar nearby would have been very noisy. So he suggested us to move to a room on first floor to avoid us not sleeping at night. The room had A/C, but he would have not charged us the extra cost. We decided to stay in the room of the night before.
The bar was not so noisy in the end. We could easily sleep.
Important to notice though that we went in June, low season for that area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jahda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#81 of 98 in Tulum
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ginger Hotel
Ginger Hotel
#42 of 98 in Tulum
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#17 of 98 in Tulum
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Gaia Tulum
Gaia Tulum
#75 of 98 in Tulum
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Latino
Hotel Latino
#59 of 98 in Tulum
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
XscapeTulum
XscapeTulum
#54 of 98 in Tulum
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hotelito

Address: Av. Tulum Entre Beta y Orion Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £33 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hotelito 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Italian restaurant, free Wi-Fi and tropical gardens with hammocks are offered at this small hotel. Situated in central Tulum, it is just 3.5 km from the Mayan Ruins and beaches. L'Hotelito Tulum offers traditional thatched rooms with a fan and balcony, and classic-style rooms with air conditioning and garden views. All rooms have cable TV, mosquito nets and a private bathroom. The hotel’s restaurant specializes in homemade pasta. Dishes are prepared with fresh local ingredients, many of them organic. Tulum’s Mayan Culture Museum-Park is just 200 m from L'Hotelito. The tropical forest of Tulum National Park is a 10-minute walk away. Free parking can be found nearby. Staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to arrange local activities, including snorkelling, diving or visits to the Sian Ka’an UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your L'Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing