We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 92 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We really enjoyed the athmosphere in this place, birds singing, beautiful garden, and really nicely decorated big room. Really worth the money! Just saturday night there were a bit noisy at the street but all the other night were silent :) Maybe the best stay at mexico. The staff is really friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned every day. Free water and snacks were great too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katti_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

The staff here, Maura and Cory, were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and had AC, a fan, and an iPod docking station as well as private bathroom. The other guests were very quiet and kept to themselves, but there was a cute garden patio where you could hang out and chill. The hotel is a few blocks off the main drag of Tulum Pueblo where you can find plenty of places to eat and shop for souvenirs. In the morning there was a basket of snacks and bananas for guests to choose from as well as a water cooler to fill up before heading out. I wish we had had more time to just hang out here....The only cons I can think of were, a lack of mosquito netting (and there were plenty of them flying around our room) and somewhere, someone (not the hotel, in the neighborhood) was having a party and playing loud music. I always pack earplugs though, so I still got a great night's rest :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charli l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at the secret garden hotel when in Mexico for some much needed RnR last year. The rooms were nicely furnished but basic (all you need) and very clean.

The cabana style rooms were all connected by a lovely central garden which had chairs sofas and hammocks and were a lovely way to relax after a hard day at the beach!

Josh the owner was incredibly helpful and knowledgable about everything I was looking to do with lots of off the beaten track tips. I can't recommend this hotel enough based on him!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Little hotel with nice rooms and bungalows. The garden is beautiful, There are some nice couches in the garden where you can relax after all day on the beach. Tea, coffee, water, fruits and snacks are for free. Our bungalow had a fridge and kitchenette. It's close to the main street and motorbike rental. It was so nice in here we didn't want to leave. And Cory..thank You for the great trip to Coba :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarolinaRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Perfect little hotel set back from the main st (one block) made up of 8 bungalow rooms in a little garden oasis. Room was perfectly clean, little kitchenette was useful for keeping drinks cold and heating food. Tea coffee and drinking water are provided free of charge as well as snacks. Staff were excellent, helpful and friendly and the wifi connection (free) was the fastest and most constant we found in a month in Mexico. Hot water was constant and the bathroom spotless with the nice addition of mini toiletries which is a nice touch. If you like small, friendly, personal hotels without compromising on cleanliness, convenience and value for money this is the one for you! Thanks secret garden, delighted we found you :)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuevosDivorciados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Secret garden was just a wonderful hotel. Colorful clean rooms, beautiful garden and incredibly friendly and helpful staff. It was such a pleasure to spend the morning in the garden, listening to the birds with morning coffee. A real gem. Can"t wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tttmartin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Thank you very much for your comment and I know that you had a nice stay with us. We hope you to see very soon.
Best regards.
Joshua & Secret Garden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Secret Garden is just one of the best places to stay in Tulum! The staff are super-cool and helpful. The room is so cozy and cute. I was so surprised that they provided us with nice shampoos and soaps (it’s like spa!)! The location is good, which is a little off the main street. The setting is so beautiful and peaceful. You would like to stay in the courtyard all night if there were no mosquitos! ;)

Early February 2013, we tried to make a reservation in last minute, and we didn’t know that this place is so popular. They have a room available only for one night during our stay in Tulum.

The staff, especially Maura, were just super-cool! Maura helped us with our reservation so quickly and smoothly. I was so impressed and can’t be more thankful to her. She gave us information around the area and suggestions where to visit. Everybody working there has such a positive energy and is so hospitable.

The room we stayed has a fridge and a small stove. We did not cook there, but we were glad that we could enjoy cold beers straight out from the fridge. The room itself is just gorgeous as well as charming! I liked the spacious bungalow with a loft.

They also have bananas, tea, and coffee.

One thing, though, which bothered us was the music from some bar. We stayed there on Thursday night. It is very common that they have loud music all over the town almost every night. However, it was a little too loud for us and it lasted pretty long.
Except that music, our stay was just perfect.

It’s too bad that we were able to stay there only one night. Secret Garden is no doubt one of the best reasonable and coolest places in Tulum!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge_G_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Hello, I am pleased to know that your unique night with us has been pleasant, and for taking the time to write and share the experience. We hope to see you soon again and to be your hosts for more days. thank you for your beautiful words. :)
Best regards

Joshua & Secret Garden Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 99 in Tulum
615 reviews
2.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 99 in Tulum
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
416 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 92 in Tulum
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing