We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Authentic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secret Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 92 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Secret Garden for one week - it was amazing. Everything from the friendly staff (thanks Alex, Maura & Josh!) to the peace and tranquility of the beautiful garden simply made our week. Location is perfect, close to ADO, markets and delicious restaurants. There is purified water available 24 hrs which is very convenient. Perfect choice if you are looking for the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: We had "room 2", nicely located and plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisylovelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

My friend and I spent two nights at Secret Garden in April 2014. The location was perfect… close to town --- two blocks from the main road, 3-4 blocks from the ADO bus station, a few blocks from delicious food - especially the seafood restaurant to the east. I liked the fact that it is in town and not on the beach… allows one to explore a different part of Tulum since we were going to the beach everyday and the food is better in town. The hotel was cozy and has a wonderful courtyard with many comfy chairs. The staff were amazing - super friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. BUT it was noisy. Every morning, i was woken up at 6AM by the birds. And while the hotel is small (only 12 cabins or so), if your neighbors suck and come back at 2AM in the morning and decide to chat out in the courtyard, there is no one (except you) to tell them to respect the other guests -- i hushed them twice to no avail. NOT A QUIET PLACE TO STAY.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chophelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Secret Garden is a fantastic place to stay if you are a down to earth person who likes to hang with the locals. What may at first seem like a plain-ish place opens up to be a little gem. We stayed in one of the bungalows. The owner has made every effort to make the rooms like little homes. We had a mini fridge, a sink in the kitchen area, plates, paper towels, dish soap and utensils. The bathroom had a small basket with shampoo, soap and ear buds. There were two fans downstairs and one upstairs, and a small bedside table lamp. The woman who comes to clean up the room left crisp, clean towels in the shapes of swans, flowers and little dolls. The hot water works and the windows look out into the courtyard that is filled with flowers and trees with leaves the size of your whole torso. The birds chirp every morning like they found some long lost family members and have some crazy catching up to do. There is coffee, tea and some breakfast things available 24/7. There are also a few hammocks and lounge type sofas that you can use any time you'd like. The walls are thick so you can't hear your neighbors. Joshua, Maura and Oscar are happy to answer any questions you may have and explain where things are and how to get where you are going with pleasure. The only thing I would say is that it was really hard for our taxi driver to find, even though it is right off the main drag. If you are going down the main street with all the shops and restaurants, turn right on Acuario Sur. There is a scooter and bicycle rental place on that corner and a restaurant on the other corner. Then turn left TWO streets down on Sagitario and you will see the sign for the SG. It is not complicated, but does not show up on Google Maps. I would gladly stay here again, in fact, I wish I were there right now. This is in no way like a hotel in the Zona Hotelera, it is a small family style spot for people who have their feet on the ground and like nature. It is about 4 miles from the beach, so we rented a scooter. I think it's worth it because you can stay in the town and mix with the people who live there, whereas the Zona Hotelera is designed strictly for tourism. Thank you Joshua, Maura, Oscar (and Milka). Please let me know if you want to buy the building across the street from you to open a SG2. I'll invest!!!

Room Tip: The bungalows are bigger, they rooms have plug in AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rayovallecana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I didn't spend much time here as we got in late and departed early.

The hotel is located two blocks off the main road, close enough to have easy access to shops and food but far enough back so as to be very quiet except for the birds in the morning.

The room was clean and cozy but small, and the bed uncomfortable. The only parking was on the side of the road.

That being said, the garden part was very nice, and Joshua was extremely helpful in explaining the surrounding area and recommending a top notch dinner spot.

For the price, we weren't disappointed, and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 24kjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed our stay in the Secret garden hotel, located in the town of Tulum. Our bungalow was clean and quiet with excellent wifi. You might want to know that there is only a curtain between the bathroom and the bedroom. No AC but fans. There is a nice communal lounge area in the garden and the hosts were very friendly and helpful with recommending tours to the nature reserve etc. Coffee/tea, bisquits and fruit was complimentary and there are plenty of restaurants on the main street, about two blocks away. The beach is a ten-fifteen minute drive away (like it is from every hotel in Tulum town). Parking was easy, free and felt safe on the street outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_and_H_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Secret Garden Hotel and really enjoyed our stay.

Our room was fantastic, exactly as advertised. The bed was soft - great for a good nights sleep - and the room was very clean.

The service was excellent, one of the staff members stayed back until after 10pm the night we arrived to allow us entry after our bus was delayed. Despite the late time he was more than happy to spend time with us and recommend a place for dinner.

All of the staff spoke perfect english and were very knowledgable of the area.

The garden itself is very serene and keeps the area cool during the day. The bird life all through the garden was very enjoyable, as were the hammocks.

We would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend to anyone staying in Tulum.

Room Tip: Check their website to see photos of the individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo_and_Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a lovely little place that feels safe, has screens on the windows and is adorable. Tulum is a magical place. I've been going for 20 years and new places are opening all over town and the beach. For the price, you can't do better for a pretty and comfortable small hotel in the town.
Secret Garden is not a Holiday Inn. It is also in Mexico and in Tulum which is known for eco-friendly and simple lodgings. Mexico has its quirks once you leave Cancun and these things must be expected while traveling. If you want everything to be like home, best to just stay home, right? If you expect a resort, you will be disappointed. If you expect a clean and lovely little room with a comfortable bed and management that will bend over backwards for you, you will be happy and content. For $50 per night, I have seen rooms in Mexico that were more like cells. Secret Garden is a true gem, when you arrive through the gate into the wonderful little garden, you know that you have arrived someplace special.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have A/C so if this is required, choose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingstupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.6 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 99 in Tulum
614 reviews
2.8 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 99 in Tulum
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#36 of 99 in Tulum
415 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 92 in Tulum
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Calle Sagitario Poniente # 54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £48 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing