We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acuario Tulum Hotel
Ranked #93 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible experience!!!!”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

The lobby/restaurant smelled really bad! It was intolerable to breath! There was a lizzard in the room upstairs. Everything seemed to be falling apart. I wonder what would happen during an earthquake... No way we would stay there! When we asked for our money back the owner became very aggresive!!!!... We got scared and left... I can't believe this place is operating. Unfortunately, it doesn't show on the website how bad it is. I am wondering if the travel agents that book this hotel have ever been there......???

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — very dirty
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    2
    2
    3
    13
See reviews for
5
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

Acuario is right off the main road that goes from Cancun to tulum. Unfortunately, it is outside the city of Tulum, so cars will blast by at high speed all day and all night long. the noise is simply deafening. There is not a single room in the hotel where you can find a moment of respite. The hotel lobby is dirty and rundown. The room, however, is on the clean side, but with a very moldy smell. There are several other small hotels around Acuario, all suffer from the same noise issue I believe.

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — Noise from the road
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

dudley, westmidlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2006

ive just spent a week on what i can call a holiday from hell.

my partner and i payed £255 each for a all inclusive to acuario hotel, tenerife.

we did this from a teletext company called applo travel ltd. they told us that it was a lovely hotel. we were told that we had a tv, hairdryer and phone for reception to contact us if needed. this was also shown on the internet as well as lovely pictures of the hotel and rooms ect.

we were told that there was enterment every evening, 2 resteraunts, 2 bars, bar snacks in between our meals.

a 10 to 15 minuet walk to the town.

we arrived there at 4am and the reception was lovely. we were given our key and told our room was on the 6th floor but the lift was to the 5th floor so we have to carry our case's to the 6th floor. when getting to our room we were expecting a double bed only to find 4 single beds and ending up having to push 2 single beds together.

there was no tv, phone or hairdryer in the room.

next morning we went down for our breakfast to find the food was not advertising but we ate it as we were hungry.

when going back to our room we opened the curtains to find that the patio door had a crack in the glass from top to bottom. we told the staff and 3 days later they patched it up with parcel tape.

when wanting a shower we had to make sure we had it before 10 am and between 5 and 7 pm because between them times the water was cold. also in the bathroom the door was moldy the light looked like it was going to fall out of the ceiling and the tile was cracked. there was also a racial sign formally know as nazi sign at the top of that bathroom door.

we did walk to the town and it took us about 25 minuets so after that we got taxis back and forward to the town witched 3 euros.

there was 2 resteraunts but only 1 was ever open. there was a bar in the resteraunt were we ate. the other bar was on the 3rd floor and if you ever wanted a drink you had to go looking for the bar staff witch was off talking to the cleaners or other staff.

as we were not happy we wanted to talk to a rep for the hotel but the recpetion told us there was no rep for this hotel.

there was no bar snacks and the food just got worse and worse. my partner was sick after breakfast. we ended up having to eat out. my partner also spent 2 days having sickness and dyhoria.



the pool looked really big from the photos on the internet but it wasnt. for a day they but tape up to stop us using the pool.

there was no entertainment. we were told to go to bed at 11.45pm and they shout everything up for the night.

none of the staff understood english. and they were ignrent.

there was other people there from england that were having the same problems and unhappy.

im so glad i never took my 2 children with us as there was nothing for them to do. there was lizards and cockroaches crowing around the hotel.

2 days before we were going home i destded to pack my sute case.

on the day we were coming home we were due to be picked up from the hotel at 10.35pm from our transfer company. by 11pm they was no taxi. by this point we started panicing. my partner contacted applo to ask what was going on as our flight was at 1.35am and it was 1 hour an 15 mins to the airport.

phil from applo contacted us back at the hotel asking if we could pay for our own taxi but we were told that that would cost us 130.00 euros and we only had 50 euros.

we had to end up paying 32 euros to have our room another night and phil from applo said he would have us home the next day. we were suppose to be home monday 23rd oct 2006.

phil from applo contacted the hotel at 9 in the morning and told us we had the transfer company would pick us up at 4pm to take us to the airport and we were on a new flight at 8.30pm to Manchester. our origanal flight was to Birmingham.

i said to my partner "rich if the taxi is not hear by 5 past 4 the we have to ring applo back because we have no money to stop another night hear" 10 past 4 come and there was no taxi so back on the phone my partner went. phil said that the transfer company wanted money upfront for us to get to the airport so it wasn't coming, and he then said he will get back to us. our heart were in our mouths with only 15 euro and no way home.

phil then rang us back and told us that the transfer company said they had come for us the night before and got the recpetionist to ring our room and we didn't answer. (no phone in our room)

in the end phil got another company to pick us up and take us to the airport.

we arrived home at 4am and what a god sent it was to be home.

this was a holiday for me and my partner to enjoy a break together as it was our first time away together. im just happy that it didn't break us.

our all inclusive included the flight, transfers to and from the hotel, the hotel room and food.

hear is a contact number for you to contact if needed and a email address

borobelle@hotmail.com

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — dont go to acuario hotel. avord it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank emmaandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2005

we have been there for many nights, the hotel is not nice but the rooms are okay. Too much noise from the highway in the night and sometimes not hotwater.In Tulum area the closest hotel to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wolf1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 January 2005

My wife and I are travelers. It was a place to shower, sleep, rest, and eat. We usually check around 8:00 at night and leave about 7:00 AM. If I wanted a fancy place I would stay in the USA. The room was less than $40.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 April 2003

acuario is miserable, the staff was rude, the food overpriced, the exchange rate abominable, the list goes on. stay across the street at el crucero, great food and prices.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 August 2001

We arrive there and one hour later left the hotel. The swimmingpool is destroyed. It seems taken from a scary movie.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 95 in Tulum
482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#75 of 95 in Tulum
300 reviews
1.3 mi away
LiveTulum
LiveTulum
#37 of 95 in Tulum
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Punta Piedra Beach Posada
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Cabanas Zazil Kin Tulum
1.4 mi away
Caleta Tankah
Caleta Tankah
#71 of 95 in Tulum
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acuario Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acuario Tulum Hotel

Property: Acuario Tulum Hotel
Address: Crucero Zona Arqueologica km 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Acuario Tulum Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is a large and cozy, family-run place with en-suite rooms with private bathroom, air conditioning, pay tv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Acuario Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acuario Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing