We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Itour Mexico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Itour Mexico
Ranked #7 of 104 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel, not expensive, cosy, service, italy, good italien breakfast, free bikes, good wifi and good rooms with wifi. Best Regards, Rob Huijbers and Nana Pouwels the Netherlands Naranja Mecanica

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Braboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I JUST left here (7-02-14) and everything the reviews report is true.
-super convenient (good location between two restaurants (tons more 2 blocks away), a local cheap supermarket (San Francisco Supermercado) on one corner and a 7-11 on the other, and is on the same road as several cenotes (a bit far to walk, though. Closest cenote is 2 -3 km away)
- excellent price for the quality & service
-friendly staff and guests
-on-site snack bar, ice machine, public sink and restrooms in the open-air "lobby" downstairs, money exchange window, free bike use (the best way to get around Tulum (2-5km), to get to the ruins (2km), to go to the beach (5km), and to prevent the accumulation of cab fares from eroding your spending budget - a one-way taxi to the beach is 70 pesos ($6. This fee is standard, non-neg)
- a ride down the street is 25-30 pesos, [this is the standard single-zone, short-drive rate in most of the Cancun area, although tourists "fresh off the bus" are charged 50 -80 pesos. Don't let that be you!]
- free continental breakfast for guests staying at itour (espresso, choc or cream-filled croissants, ham & cheese croissants)
-small shop with swim/snorkel stuff
-English speaking owners/managers
-upon arrival, I was greeted by name and given a map of Tulum and basic explanation of its layout
- programmable A/C
- excellent maid service
- decent water pressure
- small property with only 7 or 8 rooms total. It is not a loud party house. Adventurous travelers, aged 30ish and up, singles & friends, seem to be the most common customers.


Cons
- there was only one electrical outlet in the room
- no safe, but I had zero security issues
- no one seemed to be very knowledgeable about the cenotes or the best way to get to Coba before all the tourist groups. I suspect it's because they arrange tours for guests.
- this is not a beachfront property with many amenities. Instead, it is a clean, comfortable, and social option for the budget traveler/ adventurer.
-If you are searching for a silent atmosphere, itour is not for you. I heard zero sounds from the rooms, but there was always friendly conversation from the outdoor "lobby" ; in addition, several tours gather at Itour, so group conversation can be heard, which often begins around 7:15am...


++ I really liked it here and highly recommend staying in Tulum for 2-3 days to visit the sites yourself, rather than pay hundreds for a few group tours



*Tourist unsolicited advice*
Coba is about a 30 min drive away. It opens at 8:30, but the first bus out does not leave until 9am. Tour groups from Cancun and Playa begin arriving at 10am and will crowd the site. Paying $100 or more for an official tour is not worth it unless you are staying far away and prefer not to drive yourself, and even then, I overheard the guide tell the group that they only had 10 minutes at the pyramid before the group was to move on.

I went balls-out and hired a taxi for the day. It was a little pricey, but in my opinion, totally worth it. I arranged this in person with a taxi driver who was driving me back from the beach. If you do not know Spanish, this would probably not be an option to you. Any arrangement made by any hotel with a travel company or driver is always going to be more expensive than a deal you are able to arrange yourself. I was offered 4 hrs total to drive me to Coba, wait there 2 hours for me, then an additional hour to take me to two awesome cenotes near Coba, and then drive me back to itour. All for 600 pesos, or roughly $50. I jumped on that, and even extended it a few hours to include 2 more cenotes and a few more hours for about twice the cost.
As a result, I was the first person to climb the pyramid that day. I snapped my pix without others present. I visited 4 cenotes and my driver took pictures of me. Totally worth it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank Queen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I Spent three night here and it was really worth the money spent. Well kept clean room with interesting theme. In my case the theme was revolution. Nice pictures on the wall and interesting items in the shelves.. The most important thing are the staff of Itour in Tulum. Very service minded people trying their best to give you service and help you to have a nice holiday.Normally it need to happened something to see this importance. In my case it was a forgotten mono-pod which was promptly returned to me. This item could very easily disappeared for good but it did not it was returned to me.
Itour Tulum is on the main road into the city center. You will have three km to the nearest beach but you can free of charge rent a bike from Itour. This is very nice to have this bike since all the interesting things in Tulum are within three km distance.
It was a sleep able bed in the room, working AC, hot and cold water.
There are some noise coming in from the main street but this was not a problem since most of the night there very quite. The hotel serves a light breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan-OlofO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at iTour Mexico were the best part of our stay. They did their best to accommodate our needs and make our stay pleasant. The hotel is small, cozy and the room themes are cute. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The hotel is located at the intersection of the "three Tulums" (city, beach and ruins), and you can easily bike your way to either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohamed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lovely little hotel. Host extremely friendly and helpful. The free bike is a huge plus. We love the easy ride to Tulum archaeological site. The Gran Cenote is a little bit far but still easily accessible by bike. We regretted very much for not staying longer as there are so many places to explore around. Supermarket directly opposite, and we had the best Mexico food in the restaurant right next door!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

It is a great value hostel, clean, with nice staff and has a great location for trips. We went to Chichen Itza, Coba, Tulum ruins, a few cenotes and at the beach. We had easy access to restaurants in Tulum, bank, and supermarket.
However, if you plan to stay at the beach all day long, it might be a bit inconvenient as it is a bit far from the beach. We had free bikes and it takes 15-20 minutes to get to Paraiso beach (public beach) by bike.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra_432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I was in Tulum for a long escape from the cold weather in Canada and had breakfast here most, if not every day. This is a great meeting spot in the morning and the service can't be beat. The staff are excellent and the coffee and pastries are awesome - all at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.7 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
Hotel Posada 06 Tulum
#44 of 100 in Tulum
379 reviews
1 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 100 in Tulum
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mango Tulum Hotel
Mango Tulum Hotel
#3 of 104 in Tulum
277 reviews
1.1 mi away
Howlita Hotel Tulum
Howlita Hotel Tulum
#5 of 104 in Tulum
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maison Tulum
Maison Tulum
#10 of 104 in Tulum
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itour Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itour Mexico

Address: Av. Tulum crucero Av. Coba | en frente al Super San Francisco de Asis, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range: £25 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Itour Mexico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iTour Mexico is located at Tulum, Quintana Roo, Mexico. It offers 6 air-conditioned rooms, all of which have a cable television, an Internet connection, and shower with bathtub. Some of its amenities include kiteboarding school and rental, car and bike rental, and massage service. While staying here, you can visit some interesting places like Tulum ruins, Tulum beach, and Coba ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Itour Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing