We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect house, its staff and its location made...”

Review of Casa Buena Suerte

The pool as seen from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool as seen from the beach
Trip Advisor Top Vacation Rental Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The pool as seen from the beach
Trip Advisor Top Vacation Rental
Dining Room
Our Beach at CBS
Bedroom Suite
CBS Beachfront
Outdoor Living Room
Living Room with 2-story ceiling
Living Room From 2nd Floor
Bedroom Suite
Bedroom Suite
Bath Suite
Entry Facade
The Pool Looking out toward the Caribbean Sea
Poolside
Poolside
Nighttime from the beach
CBS facade out 002
CBS ocean views
The Palapa
Palapa al Fresco
Palapa Interior
Soaring Ceiling
Champagne Breakfast in the Palapa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Jean C
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect house, its staff and its location made for a perfect big family vacation.”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Everything about Casa Buena Suerta was wonderful and so well represented on the web site. The house was beautiful and comfortable and accommodated all 16 of my family easily. Everyone had the space they needed inside and out. So many private shady areas to sit and look at the stunning view. The staff was amazing and so helpful. 4 of our grandchildren are in a Spanish Immersion Program at their school and this was a wonderful way for them to practice their Spanish with such lovely, patient people. Hugo took a special interest in the children with a lovely sensitivity towards the baby. The Chefs, Jose and Rodolfo, were fantastic as was the food. Very adaptable with all of us coming in and out of their kitchen, often while they were preparing meals. On their day off we came down to find Sophia cooking eggs for us. Not necessary, but very nice. And I can't say enough about Cipriano and Aurelio. There was a bit of a seaweed problem while we were there and they worked tirelessly to keep the beach clean so we could swim. They were amazing and cheerful through the the day. And then there is Marc, the owner. He was incredibly helpful through the months of planning and answered every tiny question I asked. He set us up with our driver as we were not planning on renting a car/cars while we were there. David from Motmot was absolutely wonderful and lots of fun. All in all, it was perfect vacation and the weather was fantastic. Thanks you all, The Carter family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing ( maybe the seaweed but it really wasn't a problem. We actually had some fun with it)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review Jean. We strive to keep the house and the beach clean and fresh for our guests, especially when we have children visiting. When we do have some seaweed, we remove it immediately; thankfully the seaweed is gone now! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed the house, pool & beach and happy to hear that our staff was so attentive! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi1941
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best time together - ever”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thats what our six year old said every day-this is my best day ever! Eight adults and four children in a spacious house, incredible pool, great food, and a chance to be as active or as lazy as we felt. Sophia kept the houseclean and the beds made with cheerfulness and patience. Yes, there was seaweed but Aurelio and Cipriano traded it up every day so that the children could happily build castles and also kept the pool and grounds groomed and refreshed.
Jose and Rodolfo made us meals, something for everyone. We could choose the next day's menu each night and they often had suggestions. "Guys those sautéed shrimp in garlic were delicious" The whole family especially enjoyed the Coba Ruins. A great place for cycling and climbing.
A vacation rental is only as good as it's staff and this staff and especially Hugo are the best.
Although the weather did not cooperate Hugo arranged balloons, piñata, and accessories for a shared 9th and 80th birthday. Our three year old fell in love with him. We felt he went the extra mile for us. Mark, the owner was diligent and easy to work with and he made many arrangements for us. Thank you Mark and
Thank you Casa Buena Suerte for such a special time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff, the pool, the food,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at Casa Buena Suerte!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlauftrav...
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Thank you Marc Kenneth for a most extraordinary week-long experience at your beautiful (BEAUTIFUL!) villa! After doing exhaustive research on private villas all over the world, we opted for this lovely property for reasons outlined below:

1. Location -- the property sits on the beach of Solimon Bay, a quiet leeward body of water on the east coast of Mexico, 10 km north of Tulum with very little tourism but enough fine dining, water activities, golf and luxe to make it an ideal location for us.

2. The Villa -- since the owner is an interior designer, you can imagine that all the details in this casa are beautifully appointed; from the stonework, to the window blinds, and gorgeous domed brick interior ceilings with sky-lights, a gorgeous pool (the largest in Solimon Bay - including that at the Jashita Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel 1/2 mile down the beach), nothing could beat this place.

Although we married stateside the week before, we wanted a magical place to exchange our symbolic vows with close friends and family. All dreams were made real here. The villa will comfortably sleep 12, and I understand it can accommodate additional kids if necessary. Each bedroom has a private sumptuous bathroom, one with an open-air shower. Three have bidets. All have lovely modern fixtures. All rooms are air-conditioned, including the main part of the house with its bold cathedral ceilings. HDTV (although we never watched, but should there have been rainy days, there were DVD selections available) along with a comprehensive stocked library. The grounds are beautiful and the labor-intensive upkeep was evident. The property's outdoor workers were quiet and diligent in maintaining the neat and clean exteriors consisting of beautifully laid out plantings, trees and shaded areas for those less interested in direct sunbathing. Hammocks, lounge chairs, towels, kayaks, all available. Nothing to want for.

3. The Staff - We wanted to have a chef on the premises; little did I realize that we had the remarkable experience to dine (and overeat) on Jose and Adolpho's cuisine and to have them make anything we wanted. For no additional fee, they would run to Sam's Club and pick up groceries on a daily basis. We merely refunded them (in pesos) for each item. Each meal was a delicious treat. Not only did they cook for us, but clean-up was not on anyone's minds. Imagine staying at your own luxury home where your personal staff take care of every whim and wish. CBS offers all and more - in Paradise.

4. Hugo. There are too many adjectives to describe how wonderful our House Manager Hugo was. Professional, anticipatory, fun, playful, semi-fluent in English (although it helped that we had two Spanish speaking guests with us). Hugo is simply a delight of a man and made our stay most memorable. Sophia, our housekeeper was diligent and careful to maintain the 100% spotless state of the interior.

5. Having guests visit during the week - security was as expected with our house manager knowing the comings and goings, but our guests staying afield were welcomed to come by and have meals with us when the occasion arose. This was a significant matter for us, as we learned that another villa we were interested in would not permit folks to drop by!

6. Marc worked with our wedding planner to ensure that all details were ironed out before we arrived. Marc was helpful in ensuring that our expectations were met, right down to where we might like to dine or to take day trips.

In summary, getting married is a big deal, and of course any bride and groom wants to ensure that the experience goes off without a hitch. CBS made our dreams come true!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thank you Julie! We are thrilled that you selected Casa Buena Suerte from the many choices that are available. So many travelers make their selection based on price and exaggerated photos. When choosing a vacation villa you must know that the home is well maintained, towels and sheets are fresh, beds are premium quality, the pool is cleaned every day and the kitchen and bathrooms are well-appointed and spotless. As with a great hotel, it's important to know that the staff will welcome you graciously and be there to assist with all your needs. You need to discern that the photos are a true depiction of the property and the spaces inside and outside are not exaggerated. Our villa sits on a large property with lots of breathing room and plenty of outdoor space for entertaining and enjoying the pool & beach. When you have a large group as yours it's nice to know that there is ample room to sit together as a group and someplace to be separate as well.
When vacationing with 10-15 people you need to be sure that the living room can accommodate you and that you are not sandwiched up against a dining table or a wall as is the case with many vacation villas. We take great pride in our villa and we are happy to know that our guests enjoy the home as it was designed. We look forward to having you back at CBS soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise L
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
“A Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Casa Buena Suerte is a little bit of heaven. It is beautiful from every vantage point -- inside and out. From our room, number 2, we were able to sit on the balcony and see the night transform into day with a crescent moon, a star and a planet melting into a colorful sunrise over the azure sea. An outstanding feature is the magnificent cobalt blue-tiled pool, perfect for lap swimming. The gentle sea breeze greets you as soon as you enter the gate and wanders through the six bedroom house each with it's own full bath. Every room has a surprise to delight you. One room boasts an outdoor shower. The decor is exquisitely designed and there are multiple seating areas and configurations indoors and out. The staff is friendly and accommodating to our every need. It's perfect a group of 5 couples or an extended family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the beauty of the place, very relaxing.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best Family Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I took my family on vacation to escape the winter and we had a fantastic time at Casa Buena Suerte.

Our kids made sand castles on the beach every day while we chilled with a cocktail in the sun. Each day the staff raked and refreshed the sand and cleaned the pool before we even made it outside! We loved having our own kayaks; we even kayaked down to the cafe for ice cream in the afternoon.

I found the staff to be genuine and accommodating in every way. We took a day trip to Chichen Itza and the chef sent us off with some food for the ride and when we returned they had a delicious dinner waiting for us.

The house itself is elegant yet warm and inviting with lots of room inside and great space outside. The bedrooms are big and comfortable with King beds and crisp linens like a hotel would have. It's a big property with a huge pool and lots of places to relax. Great family vacation, but my wife and I will be back with our friends next time and leave the kids home!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Thanks Chris!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
American...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Family Get away”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here with our extended family, ranging from 2-72. Everyone had a lovely time. The house is beautiful and has lots of Mexican touches. We found the room layout to be great for an extended family... kids room close to the parents. Jose, the chef, makes some amazing Mexican food and Hugo, the house manager, is extremely friendly and helpful. And the entire villa is very family friendly... high chairs, beach toys, etc.

Soliman Bay has some of the best snorkeling I've ever done, just out in front of the house... sea turtles, rays, coral & more fish than you could possibly count. The biggest downside of our stay was the fact that there was a seaweed infestation while we were there (although they had guys raking it up every morning at 4am, they certainly made an effort). The seaweed made the beach far less attractive and usable.

The location is great. Very close to the Tulum ruins and the Xel' Ha water adventure park, which we all thought were great day/afternoon trips.

The Soliman Bay area seems very family friendly. I felt almost every villa was rented by families with kids. However, the B&B right next door apparently caters to nudists, who are out sunbathing just a few yards from you!

I would definitely get a rental car. The house manager was very helpful in arranging one to be delivered from Tulum, so it was super easy. I would also use the transfer company the owner recommends to get to the villa, as it isn't easy to find.

If any member of your party has diffiiculty with steps this might be OK. There is a first floor bedroom. As long as they can do about 3 steps they could get everywhere they'd want to be except the roof deck.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thanks for your review - We're so glad your family enjoyed our villa and so happy you enjoyed snorkeling on Soliman Bay. We have some of the most vivid sealife and we love to hear that our guests take advantage of that. Thankfully the seaweed invasion ended, our beach is beautiful once again and sealife is thriving! It's great that you were able to explore a bit, next time visit a cenote and see what it's like to swim in a undergound cave!
Soliman Bay is a family-friendly beach and although nude sunbathing is not allowed on any beaches in Mexico, some travelers like to go topless. We have addressed this with our neighbors and we appreciate your letting us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelly B
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
“We had a spectacular time!”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were lucky enough to sneak in a few days of vacation in January, meeting up with a group of friends and family at Casa Buena Suerte. We had a spectacular time!

The home was absolutely stunning. It was wonderfully laid out to suit our large group for meals and socializing — yet offered nice, quiet, serene spots to grab some alone time as well. The location on the bay is perfect —we were constantly surrounded by nature and beauty. We found time to sit and enjoy the beach (I was able to read an entire book — a huge accomplishment for a mother of young kids!). We also enjoyed swimming, kayaking and walks/runs on the beach too!

The staff, Hugo and Sophia, offered warmth and charm to the home. Hugo handled all of our arrangements with great professionalism and attention to detail. And, perhaps the most important note, every meal was outstanding — beginning and ending each day with great satisfaction.

We can’t wait to visit again!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2015
Thank you Shirley, We are thrilled to know that you and your family
enjoyed our villa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing