We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good for any age and for larger groups”

Review of Casa Buena Suerte

The pool as seen from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool as seen from the beach
Trip Advisor Top Vacation Rental Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The pool as seen from the beach
Trip Advisor Top Vacation Rental
Dining Room
Our Beach at CBS
Bedroom Suite
CBS Beachfront
Outdoor Living Room
Living Room with 2-story ceiling
Living Room From 2nd Floor
Bedroom Suite
Bedroom Suite
Bath Suite
Entry Facade
The Pool Looking out toward the Caribbean Sea
Poolside
Poolside
Nighttime from the beach
CBS facade out 002
CBS ocean views
The Palapa
Palapa al Fresco
Palapa Interior
Soaring Ceiling
Champagne Breakfast in the Palapa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Carolyn B
Bloomingdale, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good for any age and for larger groups”
Reviewed 20 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend found this glorious home to rent. There's a reason Casa Buena Suerte is so highly rated--it is a dream vacation. I've written many reviews, but this one will get my highest rating. We were 5 couples and spent a glorious week there. I highly recommend it. If there were ten stars I would award them. Even though we were ten people, the layout of the home allowed us to be either together or private any time we wanted.

THE HOUSE is just perfect and decorated with wonderful art works. Once inside the gate you’re in a secluded enclave with its own section of beach. The rooms and beds are comfortable, with all but one with a view of the sea. Two bedrooms are accessible. We ate all of our meals outdoors on a shaded patio. Another patio is directly on the beach. There is a huge pool and many different areas to relax, including a wonderful rooftop for viewing the sunsets and shaded hammocks.. We had every service here that we could imagine. There is a big screen TV (which we never watched) and a bunch of games for that potential rainy day. There are 3 kayaks on the beach, hammocks and paddles. You get the picture! Everything you need! (p.s. There were no mosquitos).

THE FOOD is delicious. Two chefs—Jose and Rodolfo, were always in the kitchen tending to our every need. When we arrived they met us with margaritas, amazing ceviche and guacamole, which we continued to eat twice a day! They seemed willing to make anything, but we encouraged them to make the decisions. Their style of Mexican cooking was not spicy and suited us perfectly. Their breakfasts were absolutely sumptuous. We requested lighter lunches and they accommodated us. In the evening we chose to have drinks on the roof top and our chefs served us an array of appetizers—bringing them up to the roof for us. We had a birthday party one night and the staff strung balloons all around!

THE STAFF couldn’t be nicer. When we arrived, Hugo bounded out to meet us and it felt like we were reuniting with an old friend! He functions as a hotel manager, property caretaker, concierge and friend. It would not be an exaggeration to say that I miss him! We even had an emergency one day while out and about and when we arrived at the 24 hour care location he was there too! His ear is always to the ground and he checked up on us at various times throughout the day yet was never obtrusive. He is a treasure beyond belief and the owner of Casa Buena Suerte really had Buena Suerte the day they hired him. The staff he has assembled and even the driver he employed (Israel) was wonderful. One day we requested a taxi and he supplied us with Juan—probably the nicest taxi driver we have ever met. Hugo made our vacation! We were all in agreement on that.

SERVICES I was shocked that Sophia even did our laundry!! Above and beyond the call of duty! The rooms were cleaned each day. The owner is very involved and even called us after a slight emergency to make sure we were all ok.

RESTAURANTS are close and even though we hated to give up one of Jose’s meals, he did have to have one day off. We followed Hugo’s recommendation to eat at Sahara Café and it was magical. Better yet, we were able to walk to it.

SWIMMING is ok, but represents a bit of a challenge. There is a HUGE, stunning pool, but some of us found it to be shady and cold (in November). The bay water is warm, but there are a lot of rocks and seaweed. I have a few tips for you on this. One is to use the water shoes which the owners of the house have thoughtfully provided. The other is to walk down the road exactly 6 minutes (or along the beach) to a public beach that is still rather private and where the water is very clear. All in all, it’s not a big deal and well worth it.

SIGHTS Tulum ruins are only 15 minutes away. You can tour the site in about 2 hours and there are some ice cream shops and Starbucks there. I was thrilled with this site and very glad I didn’t miss it! Further away is Coba, which is also interesting, but takes about 45 minutes to get to. If you go to Tulum you can take a tram for about $2. to the entrance of the ruins. Don’t miss it! Ruins on the beach!
In short, everything has been thought of beforehand to make sure that you have a glorious stay at Casa Buena Suerte. This stems from the owner, Marc, who is very involved in seeing to his guests' needs. I hope I get to return some day.

TIP: Stop at Sam’s club on the way in to pick up anything special like wine or things your kids might want.
TIP: Bring your pesos with you. Get them at the airport because so many ATM machines do not work or don't have money in them.
TIP: FYI- Internet is spotty in Tulum. It won't matter that much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Glad you and your friends enjoyed Casa Buena Suerte.
We hope to see you back at CBS soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeckyPG
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Photos on their website don't do this villa justice! Stunning!”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I took our three children, their spouses and children to the Yucatan to spend a glorious week at Casa Buena Suerte on Soliman Bay! Five of our grandchildren are 15-21 and we have a new granddaughter who is almost 9 months old and all had an incredible time! Our granddaughter Gracy loved the pool, the highchair where she had her first experience feeding herself fresh mangos, canteloupe and watermelon each morning and delicious fresh fish for dinner! We hired the chef for the week and ate like royalty every day! Would highly recommend using their chef because you don't have to worry about a thing. Your breakfast is ready whenever you ask for it, and for lunch we had fresh ceviche everyday! Dinners were superb including grilled steak and lobster our last night! The house manager, Hugo, was caring and attentive to all of our needs including stopping at the store in Tulum to get Gracy a float for the swimming pool since we forgot ours! The housekeeper Sophia is there each morning to make sure you have fresh towels and a clean room every day and the groundskeepers have the decks swept, pool cleaned and beach raked each morning before you get up. The pool is fantastic and we spent lots of hours in it. Such an incredible week with lots of relaxation in addition to a few outings including scuba diving, snorkeling the Sac Atun cenote, zip lining and a sunset sail one evening. Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: We had Hurricane Earl pass just south of us during our stay so that was a little crazy - but not CSB's fault!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
So glad you took advantage of the great activities our area has to offer.. The scuba diving great and the cenotes are a "must-do."
Thanks for the terrific review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron R
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We booked this beautiful spacious house after exhaustive research for 6 couples all in our mid 30's and it exceeded all expectations.

This house, its staff and amenities are exactly as stated and shown. If anything the house, staff and amenities are better than what the pictures and descriptions show. We had more than enough room to hang out around the pool and beach each day and all the rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and have great AC.

The pool, beach area and outdoor living is what sets this house apart from many private homes I have rented in the past. The pool is huge and the beach area is kept clean and provides a great entrance to the beautiful waters of Soliman Bay.

The staff was top notch as we chose to have nearly every meal prepared by the chef and it was 5 star dining at each meal! Hugo the house manager takes care of everything and adds a personal touch here and there.

I would highly recommend this house to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, outdoor living, staff, food
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Thanks Aaron. We are so happy that you enjoyed our home and beautiful Soliman Bay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwdonalds...
Hadley, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for ages 7 to 70”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

About a 75 minute drive from the Cancun airport, the home and grounds are at least as nice as advertised. The house, beach and grounds were kept in top condition by the staff each day of our stay. The view was actually quite spectacular.

Wonderful group spaces for eating, games and relaxation, both inside and out. Kayaks were used by young and old for exercise and for snorkeling around the reef. Hammocks on the beach proved particularly popular for both naps and games.

The staff is competent and friendly, attentive but never in the way. Lots of activities nearby include Mayan ruins, swimming with the dolphins, snorkeling in cenotes, kite boarding and (body) surfing, and more. The meals prepared for us were so good, nobody wanted to go out for meals; consequently we cannot comment on local restaurants. A fabulous stop for lunch on the way back to the airport was recommended by Marc: Al Cielo on the Mayan Riviera. Worth the wait for lunch while the grandkids all went for a last swim.

Finally, I would be remiss not to mention that Marc went out of his way to resolve the many concerns and questions from a few members of our group as the date neared. From the Zika virus scare to sleeping arrangements for 14 to transportation to/from the airport, he never failed to respond with choices and recommendations quickly and cheerfully, long after I would have run out of patience. Additionally, his selection of Hugo as house manager made a huge difference. Hugo was patient, understanding, helpful and unfailingly friendly to each and every member of our party.

All in all: a great experience. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home, grounds and setting along with staff interaction with our group
Liked least: Essentially nobody takes credit cards; set up your ATM card for cash withdrawals!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Henry & Margit - It was our pleasure to have you at our villa. So glad you enjoyed our home and our wonderful staff.
The Tulum area just keeps getting better and we are always happy to share our experiences with our guests. We are also happy to report that Tulum and the Riviera Maya are Zika Free. Visitors can enjoy our beaches with no worries. Glad you took our suggestions!
Please visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean C
Concord, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect house, its staff and its location made for a perfect big family vacation.”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Everything about Casa Buena Suerta was wonderful and so well represented on the web site. The house was beautiful and comfortable and accommodated all 16 of my family easily. Everyone had the space they needed inside and out. So many private shady areas to sit and look at the stunning view. The staff was amazing and so helpful. 4 of our grandchildren are in a Spanish Immersion Program at their school and this was a wonderful way for them to practice their Spanish with such lovely, patient people. Hugo took a special interest in the children with a lovely sensitivity towards the baby. The Chefs, Jose and Rodolfo, were fantastic as was the food. Very adaptable with all of us coming in and out of their kitchen, often while they were preparing meals. On their day off we came down to find Sophia cooking eggs for us. Not necessary, but very nice. And I can't say enough about Cipriano and Aurelio. There was a bit of a seaweed problem while we were there and they worked tirelessly to keep the beach clean so we could swim. They were amazing and cheerful through the the day. And then there is Marc, the owner. He was incredibly helpful through the months of planning and answered every tiny question I asked. He set us up with our driver as we were not planning on renting a car/cars while we were there. David from Motmot was absolutely wonderful and lots of fun. All in all, it was perfect vacation and the weather was fantastic. Thanks you all, The Carter family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing ( maybe the seaweed but it really wasn't a problem. We actually had some fun with it)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2016
Thank you for your review Jean. We strive to keep the house and the beach clean and fresh for our guests, especially when we have children visiting. When we do have some seaweed, we remove it immediately; thankfully the seaweed is gone now! We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed the house, pool & beach and happy to hear that our staff was so attentive! We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi1941
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our best time together - ever”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thats what our six year old said every day-this is my best day ever! Eight adults and four children in a spacious house, incredible pool, great food, and a chance to be as active or as lazy as we felt. Sophia kept the houseclean and the beds made with cheerfulness and patience. Yes, there was seaweed but Aurelio and Cipriano traded it up every day so that the children could happily build castles and also kept the pool and grounds groomed and refreshed.
Jose and Rodolfo made us meals, something for everyone. We could choose the next day's menu each night and they often had suggestions. "Guys those sautéed shrimp in garlic were delicious" The whole family especially enjoyed the Coba Ruins. A great place for cycling and climbing.
A vacation rental is only as good as it's staff and this staff and especially Hugo are the best.
Although the weather did not cooperate Hugo arranged balloons, piñata, and accessories for a shared 9th and 80th birthday. Our three year old fell in love with him. We felt he went the extra mile for us. Mark, the owner was diligent and easy to work with and he made many arrangements for us. Thank you Mark and
Thank you Casa Buena Suerte for such a special time.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff, the pool, the food,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2015
Thank you for your review. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at Casa Buena Suerte!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlauftrav...
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bliss!”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Thank you Marc Kenneth for a most extraordinary week-long experience at your beautiful (BEAUTIFUL!) villa! After doing exhaustive research on private villas all over the world, we opted for this lovely property for reasons outlined below:

1. Location -- the property sits on the beach of Solimon Bay, a quiet leeward body of water on the east coast of Mexico, 10 km north of Tulum with very little tourism but enough fine dining, water activities, golf and luxe to make it an ideal location for us.

2. The Villa -- since the owner is an interior designer, you can imagine that all the details in this casa are beautifully appointed; from the stonework, to the window blinds, and gorgeous domed brick interior ceilings with sky-lights, a gorgeous pool (the largest in Solimon Bay - including that at the Jashita Hotel, a luxury boutique hotel 1/2 mile down the beach), nothing could beat this place.

Although we married stateside the week before, we wanted a magical place to exchange our symbolic vows with close friends and family. All dreams were made real here. The villa will comfortably sleep 12, and I understand it can accommodate additional kids if necessary. Each bedroom has a private sumptuous bathroom, one with an open-air shower. Three have bidets. All have lovely modern fixtures. All rooms are air-conditioned, including the main part of the house with its bold cathedral ceilings. HDTV (although we never watched, but should there have been rainy days, there were DVD selections available) along with a comprehensive stocked library. The grounds are beautiful and the labor-intensive upkeep was evident. The property's outdoor workers were quiet and diligent in maintaining the neat and clean exteriors consisting of beautifully laid out plantings, trees and shaded areas for those less interested in direct sunbathing. Hammocks, lounge chairs, towels, kayaks, all available. Nothing to want for.

3. The Staff - We wanted to have a chef on the premises; little did I realize that we had the remarkable experience to dine (and overeat) on Jose and Adolpho's cuisine and to have them make anything we wanted. For no additional fee, they would run to Sam's Club and pick up groceries on a daily basis. We merely refunded them (in pesos) for each item. Each meal was a delicious treat. Not only did they cook for us, but clean-up was not on anyone's minds. Imagine staying at your own luxury home where your personal staff take care of every whim and wish. CBS offers all and more - in Paradise.

4. Hugo. There are too many adjectives to describe how wonderful our House Manager Hugo was. Professional, anticipatory, fun, playful, semi-fluent in English (although it helped that we had two Spanish speaking guests with us). Hugo is simply a delight of a man and made our stay most memorable. Sophia, our housekeeper was diligent and careful to maintain the 100% spotless state of the interior.

5. Having guests visit during the week - security was as expected with our house manager knowing the comings and goings, but our guests staying afield were welcomed to come by and have meals with us when the occasion arose. This was a significant matter for us, as we learned that another villa we were interested in would not permit folks to drop by!

6. Marc worked with our wedding planner to ensure that all details were ironed out before we arrived. Marc was helpful in ensuring that our expectations were met, right down to where we might like to dine or to take day trips.

In summary, getting married is a big deal, and of course any bride and groom wants to ensure that the experience goes off without a hitch. CBS made our dreams come true!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thank you Julie! We are thrilled that you selected Casa Buena Suerte from the many choices that are available. So many travelers make their selection based on price and exaggerated photos. When choosing a vacation villa you must know that the home is well maintained, towels and sheets are fresh, beds are premium quality, the pool is cleaned every day and the kitchen and bathrooms are well-appointed and spotless. As with a great hotel, it's important to know that the staff will welcome you graciously and be there to assist with all your needs. You need to discern that the photos are a true depiction of the property and the spaces inside and outside are not exaggerated. Our villa sits on a large property with lots of breathing room and plenty of outdoor space for entertaining and enjoying the pool & beach. When you have a large group as yours it's nice to know that there is ample room to sit together as a group and someplace to be separate as well.
When vacationing with 10-15 people you need to be sure that the living room can accommodate you and that you are not sandwiched up against a dining table or a wall as is the case with many vacation villas. We take great pride in our villa and we are happy to know that our guests enjoy the home as it was designed. We look forward to having you back at CBS soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing