We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beachside Oasis that's all about the details. Perfect!”
Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coco Tulum
Ranked #6 of 84 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beachside Oasis that's all about the details. Perfect!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Just coming back from a great stay at Coco Tulum. I had been googling pictures of the place for weeks but nothing could prepare me for the beautiful white beaches and clear blue ocean. The best part was it was only yards away from our cabin. Although our cabana wasn't considered "beachfront," the trees were so artfully landscaped that we woke up every morning to the sight of the ocean. The trees also shaded our windows to keep the cabanas private--a real feat since they're so close to each other. Although we had big plans to see lots of sights, we enjoyed the beachside hammocks so much that we spent most of our time hanging at the resort with our friends. Whenever it got too hot we posted up at the restaurant where we sipped on some straight delicious cocktails. Seriously, the fresh kiwi daquiri was amazing--like a green juice with rum. Benji the restaurant manager hooked us up and told us about all the best spots in town. It's definitely a trip for beach bums--the showers are saltwater, there's no shampoo, and using the bug net is a good idea. But I prefer a sky full or stars to TV any day. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Don't stress if you don't get a beach front property, they're all nice and the ocean is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Hi Laura,

Thanks for the great review :)
We're very happy to hear you had such a good time with us at Coco Tulum during your 4-night stay.
I'm glad Benji helped improve your sightseeing around Tulum.
Hope to see you back with us once again soon!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    187
    53
    24
    9
See reviews for
49
445
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, well managed hotel. The service is great, and the restaurant is very good with a very professional chef from Monterrey. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can tell they want you to have a great time here.
The beach is one of the best as it is wide and well kept, different from other hotels nearby, there is none of the red seagrass that invades Tulum's beaches during different seasons.
The downside: the shared bathroom, but I think is something you can live with when paying less than $100 for a front beach cabin. The open roof shower is beautiful and well designed as all of the cabins, which are kept impeccably.
If you feel you are ok with the shared bathrooms, this is the best place to stay in Tulum.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback around your Coco Tulum experience.
We are glad to know you had such a great time and felt the constant care of each of our staff members.
We would be more than happy to receive you once again in a future visit.

Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed in cabana 14 (garden) but had a beautiful view to the ocean from my porch and room. The staff were amazing, friendly (always had a smile and offerings of a good day) and helpful. They did a great job of keeping everything clean - room and shared bathrooms - saying a lot when are at the beach and bringing sand wherever you go. A good deal and not too big so that you get a sense of who your neighbors are. Located on a perfect stretch of beach amid the turtle laying and return to sea. The restaurant had delicious pizza (loved the Juanita diavolo as well as the marguerita), smoothies/ juices, as well as great service if wanted the food in your room or by the beach. Cannot say enough good and will be back.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RezCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello there,

Juanita Diavola is my favorite pizza too! :)
I'm very glad to read our guests notice the daily efforts of our maintainance and cleaning staff, to make Coco Tulum picture perfect.
I will surely pass on your comments to them.
Thank you for contributing with your review.

Our very best always,
Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This is my first ever TripAdvisor review. Our stay at Coco Tulum was so lovely I feel compelled to give them the credit they deserve. Also, we read many, many reviews as we planned our trip and I found those reviews to be helpful in so many ways, so this seems like a nice way to give back to the community.

Room - We stayed in Tower #2. This is one of the rooms with a private bathroom, but what I especially loved about the room was that it is perched up above the beach. 3 out of 4 nights we were there the winds were steady so we could open up the doors and let the breeze in to cool us. Didn't even need to use the mosquito net around the bed or for that matter the screen doors either. No bug bites overnight, amazing! The other plus about this room is that is has a large terrace that is covered by the balcony above of Tower #3. This afforded some much appreciated shade in the afternoon. Our view out to the sea might not be the same as in Tower $3, but I really liked that our view was framed by the nearby tree canopy. Perfect in my opinion!

Property/staff - They take excellent care of this property, the plants are well cared for, sand is the most perfect soft white powder...feels amazing under your feet. Another nice touch is the bowls of water they leave by the entrance of your room in order to wash that lovely sand off your feet:) Fresh drinking water at reception so you can refill your bottles again and again. Wonderfully friendly staff, both at the reception area as well as in the restaurant.

Restaurant - We thought the breakfast was okay, but had a pizza on our last night which was fantastic! We had the Hawaiian and asked them to add jalapenos which gave it the perfect kick. They also have a wide variety of tequilas and mezcal which we really enjoyed tasting our way through, haha.

Other stuff that we enjoyed while in Tulum - rented bikes from Coco Tulum so we could ride to town and also to the ruins. There's a public beach near the ruins that has sand packed hard enough that you can ride the beach cruisers on it towards the ruins, you can even get a glimpse of them from this direction. So much fun!! In town, had fantastic dinners at La Gloria de Don Pepe and also the arrachera at El Asadero is the best I've ever tasted & I've barbequed with lots of Mexican friends over the years. Pollo Bronco in town is fun for takeout...bring back & have lunch on the beach or outside your cabana. Playa Azul also had good food for reasonable prices given they're right on the beach and they even had live music the night we were there. Swam at Dos Ojos cenotes (amazingly blue water!) as well as at Casa Cenote, which is essentially like swimming through mangroves...first time experience that was very cool. We also did a whale shark tour w/Eco Colors (they're out of Cancun but can do transfers from Tulum/PDC) and that was definitely a highlight of our trip!

Other tips - if you're coming from Cancun, ADO is a great option. Very inexpensive fare in a comfortable bus. They go both from Cancun airport as well as Cancun downtown.

Thanks for an amazing stay Coco Tulum!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Sydney,

Why thank you for giving us the honor of your first tripadvisor review ever! :)
Coco Tulum is all about that, making of tiny details a hip and warm experience.
The bowls to cleanse off sand, mosquito nets, big terrace etc. were all put together after reading our guest's feedback the past year, actually.
So thank you for letting us know what we are doing right so we can keep up with it.
Hope to have you again with us soon.

Best Regards
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed there for 4 nights. We had a blast at this place!!! It was one of the best experiences of my life. Everyone working at the hotel was so nice and caring, it's a really friendly environment.The shared bathroom is charming and was clean everytime I used it.I wouldn't stay anywhere else for the price. It is really a good deal.
Our cabana was #10, not the ones on the first row, but still at the beach and with a varanda to view the see. Amazing. That's how we used to spend our afternoons, drinking beer and looking to the ocean.
At night we would walk around at the beach - a few steps - on bare foot and stargazing. It was priceless...
The breakfast at the hotel's restaurant was really good. We have tried other places, but prefered Juanita Diavola in the end.
As for the sleeping quality, it wasn't the best, as we felt too hot to sleep with door closed and with the mosquito net. So we ended up not using the net and we got many many mosquito bites. That was kinda annoying though. We let the breeze in and that's how we managed to sleep. But we felt safe at all times. I would go to the bathroom a zillion times at night because I drank a lot of water...
Apparently, you cannot use hair dryer. So useless to bring.
I find almost all the cabanas very very nice.
I think I wouldn't stay at the ones right at the reception and restaurant. There are a lot of movement of people circulating and I like privacy most of all.
I highly recommend this place if you are looking for value for the Money and don't like frills and is a laid back traveler.

Room Tip: Our cabana was #10, not the ones on the first row, but still at the beach and with a varanda to view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achados D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Reading "It was one of the best experiences of my life." surely makes the best compliment ever!
Thank you very much for the kind words in this review.
Hope you see you back soon :)

Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islamorada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stayed in Coco Tulum for 3 nights and 3 days. It was as perfect as it can get. Excellent service, great design and quality. No people interaction. Hotel have everything you need. Perfect for romantic or alone trip to leave the city and enjoy tranquility. Will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yanabannikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your stay with us at Coco Tulum.
We're glad you felt in an intimate and calm ambiance with a special desing touch to round it.

Best Regards,
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed one week in May at Coco and had such a relaxing time. At the time of booking all the beach cabanas were reserved so we stayed in cabana 19 for the first 3 nights which is on the ground and set back from the beach about 75 yards. Then we switched to cabana 20, upstairs which had a view of the Caribbean Sea. Either room is enjoyable! The property is very clean. The shared bathrooms were always tended to. The raked the sand each morning and there were little clay bowels by each cabana to dip your feet and rinse off the sand. Simple attention to detail is what was so comforting about Coco. We loved lounging on the beach on their chaise lounge chairs or in a hammock. There is service from the Italian restaurant in at the front of the hotel that will bring you drinks. The only problem that frustrated us was the slow service from some of the waiters, but then again it's Mexico.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabana 19 for the first 3 nights which is on the ground and set back from the beach abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alejcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hi Ale,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your Coco Tulum experience.
We appreciate your nice comments about the little details that make Coco Tulum so special.
I have taken note though, around the wait service on the beach and passed on your feedback to the restaurant.
Hope you're back again soon for a second visit ;)

Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
1.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#43 of 96 in Tulum
315 reviews
1.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 96 in Tulum
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Property: Coco Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coco Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum Hotel is a boutique hotel at Tulum beach where you will find comfortable and stylish cabañas located a few steps from the ocean. Coco's restaurant, Juanita Diavola, churns out fresh pizzas from our brick oven and smoothies of fresh juices. The pasta is handmade in our kitchen, and the chef serves specialties like tuna and beef carpaccio. The relaxed ambience is perfect to sit with a glass of wine or meet some fellow travelers at the bar. Designed as an eco-village Hotel, we generate enough electricity to power all fans and low-wattage lights of the Hotel - much more would only contribute to the end of the world. Our two wind turbines and 24 solar panels generate more than 14,000 watts x day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing