We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a spot on earth”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
ed_gardo7...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a spot on earth”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa del perro feliz this January (me, my wife and parents in love) after spending 4 days in an all inclusive giant hotel, and it the house experience was a lot better, everything was awesome, the house is really beautiful and comfortable, with and excelent design to take advantage of the sea breeze, at least in January we didn't need air conditioner. The location is spectacular, the bay in which is located it's a giant swimming pool, perfect to do snorkeling for hours, the terrace at the rooftop allows to take a sunbathe during day or spend some hours staring at the sky, counting constellations at night. Ruben and Lourdes (the beautiful couple taking care of the house) are such a good persons, they welcomed us late the night of arrival and were so kind during all the stay, they are such wonderful chefs, they prepared for us 3 incredible real Mexican dinners with the real flavor of the original Mexican couisine. There is an incredible "cenote" 500 meters away in which I could arranged a diving one hour session, including an underwater pass (cave) which communicates both sides of the cenote, I didn't have the time and preparation needed to do the 20 minutes underwater pass that communicates with the sea and has and outlet 15 meters from the seashore, (I'm planning to come back), it was my first time diving in one of this cenotes and it was very different experience and pb more exciting than when I've done it on the sea. The Riviera Maya has too much to see and to do that 1week is not enough. Ann the owner was really kind and really helpful in all the aspects of the travel, she shares a lot of information about everything (car rentals, driving around the area, places to see, places where to eat, etc), it was my first time renting a house and Ann maked a great experience, definitely we'll try to come back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2018
Muchas Gracias Edgardo, I am so glad that you had a wonderful time at the house and got to experience so many of the things that make it so special. We look forward to having you and your family as guests again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guide7302...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely THE best place we have stayed in Mexico !!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in the big places in Mexico (Cancun & Cozumel).
This place (Casa del Perro Felix) blew us away.
The positives on this fantastic place are astronomically impossible to calculate.
We enjoyed the peaceful beach and neighborhood.
You will not have a better bay view in such a high end house at this price.
Beds are very comfortable, kitchen is well laid out and stocked with equipment.
You have EVERYTHING you need for a dream vacation.
The caretakers (Lourdes & Ruben) are unobtrusive and absolute gems.
We elected to have them cook our meals for us.
I cannot say enough good things about all of their meal preparations.
My wife is a strict vegetarian who is also very picky about the products used in the kitchen.
Lourdes and Ruben understood and provided us with a stellar culinary week.
You cannot go wrong employing them to be your kitchen magicians!
The area that the house sits in is a perfect place to stage your activities.
Whether it's exploring the ruins of Tulum, swimming in a cenote, or just enjoying the peace and quiet of Tankah Bay, this house rocks.
It's hard to beat walking out the door the first thing in the morning with a cup of coffee in hand and seeing the beautiful blue waters of the bay right in front of you.
Ann (owner) was so helpful in everything associated with her property.
She provided us with information about the area and what to expect.
With Ann, all of our travel plans went as we had expected.
We found her helpful and informative - she has been coming down to this area for 30+ years - Ask her, she will know.
We will come back again and again - this place is what a Mexican vacation is all about.
Thanks Ruben and Lourdes, your food and hospitality is the best in your country.
We LOVE this place !
Dave & Cheri - Fraser Colorado

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandomom
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
“Our stay at Casa del Perro Feliz was muy tranquilo!”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We loved Casa del Perro Feliz!! We arrived late at night due to a delay in flight. Ruben, the onsite property manager greeted us and showed us the Casa which is quite lovely! We were also greeted by Fancy and Maggie the two "happy dogs" who live on site as well. Ruben's wife Lordes had made us a lovely dinner which we enjoyed even at 1:00am! It was a delight to wake to the tropical birds, ocean breeze and the sound of the waves. From the back doorway, it's 35 paces to the waters edge! The Casa is a dream realized with personal touches, nice sitting and dining areas, has comfortable beds, nice sheets and towels and is kept immaculate by Ruben and Lordes. We also loved the grounds and outdoor areas to hang out - nice oceanside recliners, hammocks and an outdoor eating area where we had breakfast cooked by Lordes and Ruben each morning. We took advantage of the cooking service offered by Ruben and Lordes and had them prepare every breakfast and four dinners. The food was absolutely amazing and lots of it! Fresh squeezed juice each morning and platters of fresh fruit. Lordes spoiled us with her cooking talents! Each night at the Casa, Ruben served us delicious and strong margaritas oceanside along with Lordes' guacamole and salsa! After a day of site seeing, we sure looked forward to this daily treat! We loved the location of the property in that it is away from the hotel zone and in a guard gated community that is low key and tranquil. One of the best Cenotes for diving and snorkeling is walking distance as well as a fun restaurant/bar called Casa Cenote. We enjoyed the kayaks and mountain bikes that were provided and even hired the massage therapist who came recommended, oceanside! We had two teenage boys and they loved Casa del Perro Feliz and were able to take off on the bikes and explore. The property is in a location that was easy to get to the ruins and sites in and around Tulum. As I write this I'm thinking, "Oh my goodness! I need to go back!!" And we will!!

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry M
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House of Dogs Delite”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

“Private Paradise”

5 of 5 stars

My Irish grandmother used to sing to me about her homeland, "A little bit of heaven fell from the sky one day and settled in the ocean...." Well I have not made it to Ireland yet but did find another piece of heaven called "Casa del Perro Feliz." To gringos that is the Happy Dog House. There is two dogs, Maggie and Fancy, who are from Mayan descent and that guards the grounds at night and love you to death in the day. The ground man can pen them if you wish. The house itself is lovely. 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, full kitchen, dining room, living room and rooftop lounging that should not be missed at sunset. If you are lucky you will see the Southern Cross at dark, not seen here in the USA. I was there off season but was comfortable. Ceiling fans and portable fans in each room. No A/C but this owner has designed the house with air flow in each room. Nice footprint on the earth. The house is located between Playa del Carmen and historic city of Tulum. About 1 hour south of Cancun. You can arrive by car rental, taxi, or shuttle. The owner can have help you with this. The house is located right on the Tankah Bay. You walk out the patio door and 25' and you are in the ocean. The bay itself is calm because of a coral reef that breaks the waves and all large fish. The bay is clear and warm and natural life is abundant. Fish, pelicans, coral, and sting rays were seen. You can swim, snorkel, scuba dive, and kayok right there. Casa provides the towesl the rest you can rent at the Scuba Store at the Ceynote (sinkhole) within walking distance. If you just want to sunbathe or sit in the shade of coconut tree. ..that can be done. You can see the ruins of Tulum (not to be missed) right from your lounge chair.
Ruben and Lourdes are English speaking caretakers who live in front in the "Casanita." A smaller house once occupied by the owners.
Rueben takes care of the grounds and Lourdes the housekeeping. For add'l fee they will do more for you. Shopping and/or cooking of all your meals. If you want to shop for food the town of Tulum is about 20 mins away and has several grocery stores. If you want to eat out there is about 5 resturaunts that you can walk to. If you have transportation...Tulum is great. Go to Old Tulum Road for eateries with oceans view and music. Maybe Ruben will make you a drink called the Coco-Loco? Have Ruben arrange a couple's massage right on the beach. I did. Wow the sound of music is way better then new age music you hear in USA at a palor. Don't worry about the water, safe water is provided in bubblers and in pitchers in the bathrooms for use by Lourdes.

I just can't tell you how much this was a great place to visit Mexico. For a couple, a family with children, or a group of friends. Happy Dogs House will make you happy.

https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g150813-r417538785-Tulum_Yucatan_Peninsula.html#

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to beach
Liked least: Nothing everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmajane7
Charlottesville, VA
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were three couples travelling together; each couple had our own very comfortable bedroom and bath. The common areas, indoor and out were so nicely designed, and the kitchen had everything we could want for cooking. Ruben and Lourdes are so gracious, and are amazing cooks--clearly the best food we've had in Mexico. The two restaurants up the street were also quite tasty, and great margaritas, but Ruben and Lourdes outshone them. Tankah is a perfect location--close enough to Tulum and other sights, but so much more peaceful than staying in Tulum proper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: we had to leave at the end.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missmudd7...
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Amazing”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful week in Mexico and loved this house. It was absolutely luxurious for 3 adults and two young teens. The house itself it very nice -- extremely well maintained with beautiful wood and tile throughout. It was so nice to stay in a house where we did not need air conditioning, because the house is perfectly positioned on the property to allow cooling, relaxing ocean breezes to blow through day and night. With lounging, kayaking, and snorkeling right outside our door, we spent more time at the house than we did exploring the area (which is also lovely!). The caretakers who live on-site are warm, friendly people who made us feel very welcome (and cooked us some amazing meals). The house is close to cenotes, shopping, yoga studios, Mayan ruins, restaurants, and all manner of fun adventures -- yet private and away from it all! Ann is great to work with, and provided us with lots of information that made our vacation perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rooftop area for stargazing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
“Casa del Perro Feliz - Perfectly Relaxing”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at Casa del Perro Feliz! The house is spacious but still comfortable with a "home-like" feeling. Their location on Tankah Bay is so beautiful and peaceful... you are protected from the stronger winds which makes it even more relaxing. I love the palapa with the 3 hammocks which offers a shady retreat for napping or reading. You can also arrange for a massage in the palapa! There are 2 great restaurants on the bay within walking distance (Blue Sky and Casa Cenote). The kitchen also has everything you need if you want to prepare your own meals.
Tulum is just a 5 minute drive away when you want to enjoy great restaurants and shopping.
The owner is very helpful in providing information and answering questions so you can feel confident, even if it is your first trip to Mexico!
We highly recommend!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing