We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy place - stay away”
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #35 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Halmstad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Noisy place – stay away”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

First the good stuff: yes, there is a perfect beach just outside your bungalow, with clear ocean and white sand. But this is not the only place around Tulum, and you will find myriads of other establishments with the same perfect beach and sea.

Now, the rest.

Be aware that some booking agencies specify that this hotel is within the Tulum National Park, and that ruins are just a short walk away. That is wrong: the place is really far away and the only option to get to the ruins is taxi. We were surprised when the taxi dropped us off 10 km south of the ruins, but the hotel personnel who checked us in wasn't: she said that many agencies wrongly show their location. She added that they've "been trying to change that but somehow the location stays the same"...

Still, if long distance to the ruins isn't a problem for you, you should still be aware of the following:

This is a noisy place! We changed cabanas twice and still didn't get a good night's sleep during 3 nights because of:
- cars and dogs running and barking on the street all night. I imagine that the ocean view cabanas are better regarding to this, but ours was supposed to be "garden view", but actually turned out to be some kind of "street view" cabana, with all the noise that comes from having the only coastal road running from Tulum to Boca Pala outside your cabana with paper-thin walls.
- room no. 9 is just outside the parking lot and close to the reception, so in addition to the "street view"-syndrome described above, you get cars coming and leaving at various hours during the night, as well as all the calls and talk that takes room in the reception.
- rooms located in the opposite edge of the hotel area have (or, at least had, during our stay) a diesel power generator running 24/7 just outside. Basically, this is like trying to sleep on a truck stop with an engine running next to your ear.
- lying staff. After the second night next to the "truck stop", we pointed out to hotel personnel that the power generator is an unthinkable utility outside one's bungalow. We were told that "this is in place just today, as the real generator which is more quite broke down last night". Well... no, because we were there the night before too, and the generator was already up and running. When we confronted the staff about this, they started to talk something about language misunderstanding.

To sum up: if you enjoy noise during your sleep, this is perfect place as you will encounter a wide variation of noise ranging from animalistic (e.g. barking dogs) to mechanical (e.g. power generators).

Else, stay away! There are so many nice hotels around Tulum, with the same perfect beach, that coming here is a waste of time.

Room Tip: Garden view cabanas (a.k.a "street view") are terribly noisy - just stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank KubaWodzynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your time in review Hip Hotel Tulum your comments are very helpful, look forward to see you in your next time in Tulum, please consider to book a room with ocean view, yes is a little extra and value for your money.

Management
Hip Hotel Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    149
    39
    17
    28
See reviews for
78
260
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We arrived late and quickly realised that the room was not as we had expected through our booking website and was lacking a third bed. Two of us shared a king on the first night and a third bed was supplied promptly in the morning. The excellent service to fix this issue was indicative of the service we received our whole stay and we cannot fault the friendliness of any of the staff, including those at the restaurant.

The rooms were spacious and basic and pretty in a rustic way. The shower decor was unique to say the least, although the shower head left a lot to be desired. We loved the towel animals that appeared on our bed each day and the hammock on the porch. As it was windy during our stay, were happy to have a garden view, rather than ocean view, room.

Construction behind our room started close to dawn and didn't allow us to sleep in, and the smell of sewerage was very strong at certain points during our stay. However, the workmen were very cheery and whistled as they worked, and we returned one night to find a fragrant oil burner in our room - this was unrequested and we hadn't even mentioned the smell to the staff.

The beachfront location was a slice of paradise, with white sands and only twenty or so paces from our room. The beach was wider and quieters here than in other places along the Zona Hotelera, and is mostly clean from trash. Lounge chairs and permanent thatch beach umbrellas complemented the setting nicely.

The restaurant views were unparalleled, and the inclusive breakfast was really fantastic. In general, the a la carte menu was overpriced, but the margheritas made up for it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms could be unpleasant if it's windy but are right on the beach. Garden view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocknrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I loved this hotel! The cabanas were spacious and clean and they had a crib waiting for our little girl when we got there. There is no air conditioning which was not a big deal in December. The staff was always very helpful and kind. The restaurant was good. They have a complimentary breakfast menu that consists of eggs (made your way) and hot cakes and you also get a fruit plate, oj and coffee. The beach was awesome and very relaxing too. That entire strip of Tulum was unbelievable, such amazing energy! We will definitely be back and I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first cabana right when you turn into the parking lot and it was a little noisy sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pammysue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Perfect hotel in Tulum. Nice staff and wonderful, spacious rooms. Restaurant not the best in the area, but the views are perfect. Choose an ocean view rooms for the best experience. Beach is beautiful and dont miss the sunrise.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was a great little place on the south side of Tulum. We encourage you rent bikes ( just up the street at theYoga place)

Tulum is quiet and quaint, and has great energy. The beaches are sublime, and this place overlooks a great spot. Every meal we had at the Restaurant was fantastic and everyone on staff was VERY helpful and sweet.

Rooms were very clean, and beds were VERY comfortable. It can be a little noisy, from road, but that's true anywhere on the way.

We ate at Pura Corazon too and it was absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: Free Wireless is generated form restaurant,so for best access get close :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a very big room, with a queen, a single bed and a huge sofa. The rooms vary in size, but all have balconies. Very clean and comfortable with a good shower !
No airco and on warm days the fan and seabreezeyou catch in the room are notenough so prepare for some warm nights!
Location on the beach is great, with free beds.
Nice staff,prices are reasonable and come down when thera are not to many tourists!

Room Tip: We had the room near the parking lot, which is a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floorenniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We arrived by chance at this wonderful place! The staff helping us fixing the room was really helpful and vero vero kind. The room was clean with good storage and the terrace in front of the ocean simply perfect with furniture and a hammock! Perfect to enjoy the warmest hour reading a book in the shadow. The restaurant was very good with a perfect service and fresh food. They even do a perfect espresso!!

Room Tip: Room 23 and 24 :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 96 in Tulum
850 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#42 of 96 in Tulum
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
501 reviews
2.5 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#15 of 96 in Tulum
583 reviews
9.1 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Property: Hip Hotel Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing