We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Small Hotel in Tulum”
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #36 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic Small Hotel in Tulum”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Hip Hotel Tulum is actually built not "next to beach" it is "on the beach". You may as well put your shoes away while you're there as you are "on" the beach as soon as you leave your room. Not only is the hotel small but it has a very cozy feeling. Beach is beyond words, simply fantastic. Great restaurants in the neighborhood. Rooms are basic but have everything you would need to relax. Internet is available, speed depends on weather conditions (seems it is slower during a rain shower) and rooms have no TV (how great is that!). Staff is incredible helpful. Nice restaurant with view over the beach. The ideal place to relax and get away from business and stress.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjopjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your time in review your stay, we look forward to welcome you again.
Regards

HIP HOTEL TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    147
    37
    17
    26
See reviews for
73
254
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed for 4 day the past week. The hotel seems very charming, but it has a lot of issues to solve. First of all I want to clarify that the people working there are excellent. They always tried to help us. We booked a room by the sea. The room didn't have windows, so it was extremely windy and freezing during the night. By the 2nd night we were all sick. On another note, we never had hot water to shower. I have a 4 month baby that I had to ask If I could use another room every night to bath him. At this point we had to request a room change to one facing the road, which was quite noisy. The rate on that room was cheaper but they wouldn't give us our many back. Finally, they say they would provide a crib, so I didn't take mine. When we got there, the crib was very vey old and not really safe for my baby to sleep. It had wire floor and a extremely soft mattress. Any kid could suffocate in there.
So, in conclusion, the location of the hotel is perfect, the equipment by the beach as well, the hotel a complete disaster.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for review your stay, we find very help full any type of comments the follow up on your comments is our priority.

Hip Hotel Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrbotten
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here for some days in March 2012. The service was good and everyone was very helpful and nice. Our room has a lovely view over the ocean. There was a hammock at the balcony, that was lovely to sit and relax in. The rooms was quite small and simple, but it was very clean and the room itself was very cosy. It was very quiet in the night, you could only here the wind and the waves in the night. The hotels restaurant served ok tasty food. There was a few minutes walk if you would like eating somewhere else. The beach outside the room was outstanding. I would like to come back to this hotel, but as you can read in other rewievs there´s not soo much to do here, if you don´t like sun and bath and other water sports. Excellent honeymoon place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pluttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank your for your time in review your stay, we focus in offer all of you a nice quiet ecological stay in Tulum...


HIP HOTEL TULUM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

While we did not stay over night at this very cool looking hotel, we spent the day at its idyllic looking beach under the cooling shade of their palapas. The courteous staff served us frosty beverages and a delicious lunch (chicken sandwiches and a platter of unreal nachos). We soon found ourselves wishing we had booked our stay here instead of the resort we were staying at in Playa del Carmen! Oh well, there's always next time I suppose. Thank you for the great afternoon, Hip Hotel!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After spending our first night at a nearby resort and not getting a wink of sleep from a incessant & loud generator, we found Hip Hotel... our glimmering oasis! Since we were looking for 9 nights on such short notice we had to move around every couple of days to the next available space, but that meant we got to experience a lot of the different rooms. We know this place inside & out!

The first night was in an ocean-view room, which made us feel like celebrities and completely made up for the first crap night at the other hotel. We woke up and went for a long beach walk while the sun came up and reveled in the beauty of the surrounds. The grounds of the hotel are very well maintained, they even rake up all of the seaweed every morning so that the beach is as pristine as possible. All of the subsequent nights were in various other rooms that ranged from stellar to great.

The staff are all super helpful and friendly too. Everything is really clean, they can bring you bikes to rent for the day, they helped us book a snorkeling trip with Mexi Divers, the included breakfast is more than just continental junk, they have great wifi in most of the rooms and even went off in search of coconuts when I asked & they didn't have them on the menu.

Thanks for the great hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kooop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Short and sweet:

Pros:
Simple, no frills
Eco friendly
Right on the beach
Decent restaurant on site
Friendly staff
Breakfast included (Coffee, OJ, Fruit, Bread, 2 eggs (or pancakes) and chips)
Beach towels included
Excellent housekeeping staff

Cons:
Only 1 bottled water for 2 people per day
Room 20 is near road - lots of road noise, barking dogs, people coming and going (note: not any worse than living in NYC)
Rooms are not critter proof
Breakfast doesn't start until 7AM
$50 USD charge if you lose your beach towel or towel card
Hard water in shower

Details:
We just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We took a 15-20 minute taxi ride in from the bus station in the peublo ($100 pesos + tip). Reception was welcoming and gave us our key. We booked a garden view, and that's what we got -- the room right by the road on the top floor, but we could still see a little bit of the beach from the balcony. The room was big with screen windows that have wooden flip-down panels to let air in. There was still a nice subtle breeze coming in from the sea. There was no mosquito net above our bed and no hammock, but neither were necessary. The toilet was in a separate room than the sink/shower, which was slightly inconvenient. The shower itself was nice, but the water pressure was week and I'm not sure if it was the water or what, but I never felt clean after showering. My skin still felt sticky and my hair dried into unmanageable fluff. The safe was big enough to fit all of our valuables and was securely bolted to the wall.

Housekeeping service was great. Usually we prefer not to use it, but the hotel doesn't supply "do not disturb/ no moleste" signs for the door, so we didn't really have a choice. They organized our messy room and put everything in it's place. We even got a new lamp without asking for one.

Despite the outside noise, we slept well. However, the first night we arrived, someone came by and knocked on the door at 7 while we were taking a nap and sounded as though they were about to enter our room when we didn't immediately answer. I had to race to the door as neither of us were presentable and held it closed. The next day someone came by at the same time trying to sell candles?? I'm still confused as to why this happened. The last night we were greeted by a large orange spider in our bathroom. We let him stay as he didn't seem to be bothering us. The huge roach hanging out in the shower, however, was not welcome and he was asked to leave. Later in the evening, we found a gecko had replaced the spider, so I'm guessing he enjoyed a nice meal.

Overall, this was a great place to stay. The staff was accommodating. Included breakfast on the beach was amazing. The beach was wonderful, as were the chairs supplied by the hotel. We didn't have people constantly bothering us. If i were to stay again, I think I would opt for a beach front room. I definitely enjoyed my stay here at the Hip Hotel.

Room Tip: Opt for a beach view for less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for share your nice experience with us....we hope to welcome you again

manager
Hip Hotel Tulum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

If our taxi had gone in the right entrance, this would have been better, but we arrived at the restaurant, a short but very sandy walk from reception. A younbg man appeared to help as our cases cwere not designed to wheel through sand.

After that, it was off with the shoes for three days hassle free relaxation. The room was dieectly onto the sandy beach. It was simple, with a bed at one side of which was a toilet and at the far side, the sink. This mean using the loo at one side and walking all around the bed to wash afterwards. There was a attractive looking double shower but in practice there was conlty enough water pressure for one to work at any time. The water is also hard there, and getting a lather with the chocolate shampoo was a challenge...

There is a hammock and two chairs & table on the veranda but we tended to sit on the beach. There was always plenty of umbrella ( thatched) and beach beds so it was a mystery why some guests felt the need to put their towels out.

The included breakfast wasn't the best we had in two weeks in Mexico, but the setting was to die for-just on the beach watching the waves. During the day you can order food and drinks in the restaurant or at your table on the beach. Cocktails were lovely.

We ate at the OM3 restaurant next door. As the noise from there carried it was a case of " if you can't beat them join them". It stoipped about 10.00 so no problem sleeping.

This hotel is located about 20 minutes taxi from the ruins at Tulum, and we didn't bother. Its at the hippy end of the very long beach-you can walk miles along the sand. Swimming seemd safe, except for the odd rough day when the waves are a bit more exciting. The hotel has no pool, but it isn't really necessary.

Staff were helpful and responded very promptly to the one small problem we had. There was, mysteriously for a simple hotel, a turn down service, when an oil burner was lit and sheets turned back on tghe bed. Highly recommended if you don't need golf, TV etc. Sleep to the sound of waves

Room Tip: Go to the front, with an "ocean view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you so much to review our Hip Hotel and share with all of us your experience...look forward to welcome you again

Regards
Manager
Ana y Jose
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#25 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Property: Hip Hotel Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing