We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #33 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Sitting in your room watching the ocean from only 100 feet away - amazing. The staff were lovely, kind and helpful. The restaurant staff are the same. After a very bad experience at a hotel down the road I was very upset and unsure about tulum altogether.... But, you can't let one awful experience ruin what could be amazing. The restaurant is fine (maybe don't order continental food) and you are a stones throw from dozens of other eateries anyway.. The rooms are huge, free wifi that works, double basin, double shower heads, separate toilet and amazing balcony with the best views. There is no ac but at this time year the breeze and a ceiling fan is more than adequate. A great location and a great hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Thank you for your time in review our stay, we are very happy to hear that you had a great experience with us.

We hop to see you again in your next visit to Tulum

HIP HOTEL TULUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This review is based on the negative booking experience that made me cancel my reservation and stay elsewhere. Two weeks prior to our arrival I emailed the hotel directly to confirm our reservation and request a room to accommodate us since I was recovering from an injury and could only walk limited distances. I wasted my time exchanging 10 emails with their reservation agent, even offering to pay whatever more money they wanted for a better room since other reviews recommended ocean front rooms. Finally, it became a futile exercise in trying to communicate with her that I was completely discouraged from staying here. If it was this complicated and frustrating of a process, I could not imagine staying and dealing with such inept service. Luckily for us, the service I originally booked it through applied what I had already paid (and would have lost) to book a better and more accommodating hotel for us.
NOTE: I was informed that they only have king size beds in the rooms with mosquito nets over them. If you need extra sleeping space you must request it separately and they can only provide a sofa but it does not have a mosquito net.

Room Tip: They only have king size beds in the rooms with mosquito nets over them. If you need extra sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank SSSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank your for our time reviewing your experience, this comment is already with the operation manager to take the necessary steps to avoid any future misunderstanding.
Hip Hotel Tulum feature CABAÑAS with one bed and some of them have a sofa bed, all of them have same shape and layout, our corridors and access to restaurant, lobby and beach are open air and beach sand floors, great natural location, we invite you all to review our web site.

We look forward on welcome you soon...

HIP HOTEL TULUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Pros: large rooms with nice restroom and beautiful view from my bed of the turquoise Caribbean. I like the double showers, separate toilet area, and toiletries.

Cons: Hot water in showers is erratic. No mosquito nets and when it rains the water leaks through the ceiling as you lay in bed. Water also enters through doors and windows so if it rains during your stay be prepared to wear water shoes in your room or to walk in puddles.

Service: Staff is very accommodating. They were kind enough to let us check out late in order to allow us to shower after swimming.

In summary, if you avoid the rainy season and bring a travel mosquito net like we did, you will have a perfect stay. If it rains during your stay be prepared for minor inconveniences.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sm27357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your time to review your stay with us, your comment is already with the operation manager, Hip Hotel Tulum will do the best to get better base on your experience

We hope to welcome you again in your next visit to Tulum

HIP HOTEL TULUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The Hip Hotel is very good. The rooms are comfortable and large, as are the bathrooms. (We stayed in a beachfront room.) The showers weren't the greatest but they were just fine. We had some issues with small biting no-see-ums in our room at night, which I believe was caused by the fact that the roof is thatched and had some openings at the edges. This problem only arose on the two windless nights we were there. Some netting over the bed would have been welcome. The staff is friendly, but the overall service felt slightly absent, especially in the restaurant. The front desk was extremely helpful and very friendly (thanks, Leonardo!) Overall, we were very happy at the Hip Hotel and would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Go with the beachfront rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvwadsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Public Relations Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Thank you for your time in review your stay, is very important for us to get better every time, we look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Tulum....

HIP HOTE TULUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was very lucky with my room. Everythingh worked, had Hot water in my bathroom( some friends didnt have). The staff was fantastic, very attentive and friendly. The Hotel is a beach hotel, view fantastic .The only thing I missed was a frigobar in my room...I enjoy to be to have cold water during the night .
I would go back for sure!
Eventhough the service at the restaurant was very slow, the food was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leninha086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The Hip Hotel Tulum is actually built not "next to beach" it is "on the beach". You may as well put your shoes away while you're there as you are "on" the beach as soon as you leave your room. Not only is the hotel small but it has a very cozy feeling. Beach is beyond words, simply fantastic. Great restaurants in the neighborhood. Rooms are basic but have everything you would need to relax. Internet is available, speed depends on weather conditions (seems it is slower during a rain shower) and rooms have no TV (how great is that!). Staff is incredible helpful. Nice restaurant with view over the beach. The ideal place to relax and get away from business and stress.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guido B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your time in review your stay, we look forward to welcome you again.
Regards

HIP HOTEL TULUM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stayed for 4 day the past week. The hotel seems very charming, but it has a lot of issues to solve. First of all I want to clarify that the people working there are excellent. They always tried to help us. We booked a room by the sea. The room didn't have windows, so it was extremely windy and freezing during the night. By the 2nd night we were all sick. On another note, we never had hot water to shower. I have a 4 month baby that I had to ask If I could use another room every night to bath him. At this point we had to request a room change to one facing the road, which was quite noisy. The rate on that room was cheaper but they wouldn't give us our many back. Finally, they say they would provide a crib, so I didn't take mine. When we got there, the crib was very vey old and not really safe for my baby to sleep. It had wire floor and a extremely soft mattress. Any kid could suffocate in there.
So, in conclusion, the location of the hotel is perfect, the equipment by the beach as well, the hotel a complete disaster.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsegroup, Manager at Hip Hotel Tulum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for review your stay, we find very help full any type of comments the follow up on your comments is our priority.

Hip Hotel Tulum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
908 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
608 reviews
0.9 mi away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 100 in Tulum
451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#24 of 100 in Tulum
619 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#12 of 100 in Tulum
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £165 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing