We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hip Hotel Tulum
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I met my boyfriend in Tulum for a long weekend get-a-way and couldn't have been happier with the location, beach front view, complimentary breakfast and extremely friendly customer service staff members. The room is basic, but incredible at the same time. Bed facing the ocean with french doors to let the ocean breeze right in. No AC needed at all. Our weather conditions were perfect, so we def couldn't complain. The rock shower is super neat and fun! The hammocks and 2 step walk to the sand couldn't have been more dreamlike. There was a wedding happening the evening we arrived, but they informed us right away. We both laughed bc the only negatives you see on here are about people complaining about weddings. I'm sure if it was their wedding they wouldn't be complaining about the happiest day of their life in one of the most beautiful places in the world!! There are weddings occurring at hotels up and down Tulum beaches all day everyday. Part of the ecomony there. Every single staff member does anything they can to help make sure you have an amazing vacation. Gabriel recommeneded a fabulous local mexican restaraunt to us. There is wifi in the lobby and restaurant. The complimentary breakfast is bread with jam, fresh fruits, coffee, orange juice, eggs any style or pancakes. It is just the right amount to get the day going. We would eat breakfast be out all day and not have to eat again until dinner. Even when they ran out of bikes to rent they recommened to rent from La Palmas down the street. The location was amazing, right in the heart of all the phenominal restaurants to boot. I highly recommend staying here. I would stay again. It really isn't loud late either, you can easily go to bed early if thats what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Definitely rent a beach front room. We stayed in room 22. There are 2 other rows of 3 rooms that f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    148
    38
    17
    27
See reviews for
75
257
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Paradise !

We have stayed at The Hip Hotel each time we have went to Tulum, it’s amazing. If you’re looking for a big resort with many pools and restaurant’s this is not the place for you. If your high maintains and demanding go someplace else, if you want a quite laid back atmosphere it’s perfect. The location is great with many other small resorts around to check out. The beach is one of the best in the world.

Room Tip: Beach Front are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We loved Hip Hotel! The location of the hotel is along a stretch of Tulum filled with tons of restaurants, other boutique hotels and a gorgeous white sand beach. The rooms are clean, simple and located steps from the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful - we were having trouble with our lock and they sent someone over right away and had it fixed. We ate a few breakfasts at their restaurant and were pleased with each meal we ordered (Huevos Rancheros were delish).

There was no AC (but the ceiling fan worked great) and Wifi was spotty so if you need those types of amenities you might not be pleased with your experience. But if you are looking for lovely simplicity in gorgeous Tulum, you'll be happy here!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

At first we were very happy but the week went on we were very disappointed. They had a wedding there on our last night. It started at 4 and went on until 11:15. We came home early from dinner to enjoy our last night in peace, we couldn't get to sleep until after 11:30. Very inconsiderate of their paying guests. The music/base was so loud it ruined our whole night. The staff was not very friendly and forget wi-fi. That never worked. Kept saying it was down. But in truth the music/wedding ruined it for us. We paid a lot of money and the staff never told us there was going to be a wedding and the noise level, that the restaurant/bar would be closed off to paying guest. The next morning the manager blamed the staff for not telling the guest about the wedding. She was just passing the buck. Horrible experience.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was staying down the beach and hip hotels music was so loud our room was shaking. I walked over to ask them to please turn it down and they said they would talk to the manager. If you're coming to Tulum for peace and quiet and to hear the ocean at night don't go there. They totally ruined my last night with their bs bass. I don't know why the other hotels dont stage a formal protest. They are so selfish :(

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ammirite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Hip Hotel is a wonderful beachside paradise! We stayed in a gorgeous ocean view room for several nights, which was comfortable and clean with a very large bathroom. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves, and awoke to sunshine streaming through the window. We enjoyed the hammock outside our front door when we wanted to get some shade, and it was a very short walk to the private, uncrowded beach. The breakfast that was included in our stay was delicious, and the staff was friendly & helpful. Hip Hotel is a short walk to some other hotels where you can have lunch and dinner. We also used the hotel bike rental to take an enjoyable day trip to the Tulum Ruins. I really can't say enough good things about our experience @ Hip Hotel. We hope to go back soon!

Room Tip: Ocean view cabanas are worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amandadb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A lovely, friendly, charming spot right on the sand. The staff was accommodating, the food was excellent, the room was comfortable, the location was a bit off the beaten path. I hope to go back to Tulum and will definitely return to the Hip Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms right on the sand….there are three ON THE BEACH (13,14,15)…..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needabreakasap101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
841 reviews
2.8 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 95 in Tulum
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
792 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#24 of 95 in Tulum
569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Property: Hip Hotel Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing