We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“After numerous vacations in the area, Casa Cavu...”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Casa Cavu

Casa Cavu
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Cavu
Swimming Pool, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
40 reviews
Casa Cavu
Swimming Pool, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu beachfront pool, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu outdoor living area, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu outdoor living, Tankah Bay
Aerial view of beach and pool.  Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu beachside view, Tankah Bay
Casa Cavu and beach at Tankah Bay
View of Tankah Bay looking South
Exterior Casa Cavu
Exterior Casa Cavu
Sunset Casa Cavu - Photo by Steve Mollin Photography
Casa Cavu
Exterior Casa Cavu
Casa Cavu Pool Area.
Upper ocean view terrace, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
View from the upper balcony of Tankah bay beach.
Azul waters and soft white sand in front of Casa Cavu,Tankah Bay
View of Tankah Bay looking north
Green sea turtle
Tankah Bay At Night Photo by Steve Mollin Photography
Sunrise Tankah Bay S. Mollin Photography
Casa Cavu
Dining and Kitchen area
Great ocean views from dining area. Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Breakfast bar, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Fully equipped kitchen at Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Dining area at Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Sitting area with sliders out to the poolside.  Casa Cavu
Master Bedroom, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Master Bedroom with sliders out to the upper terrace. Casa Cavu.
Master ensuite bathroom, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Main level guest bedroom.
Main level guest bedroom.  Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Guest Bathroom, Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Second guest bedroom with ocean view. Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Second guest bedroom with ocean view. Casa Cavu, Tankah Bay
Isidro and Rocio
Icidro's Lobster Ceviche!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
Studio, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jena C
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After numerous vacations in the area, Casa Cavu is now our favorite destination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We awoke to the most amazing sunrises over the Caribbean, and enjoyed our days on the beautiful beach. It was such a treat to walk right into the water in front of the house for snorkeling. Although there were lots of people on the beach in Akumal and Tulum, Tankah Bay was always quiet. It is a short drive to visit the other beaches, but we found ourselves drawn back to the peaceful house and pool. Loved the kitchen, and we cooked in most evenings. We just didn't want to be anywhere else! Isidro and Rocio took marvelous care of us and the property. One evening, Isidro made us fresh fish ceviche to have with our margaritas, then prepared a delicious fish dinner. We couldn't have found better anywhere! The security for the area was very friendly, and kept a good eye on things, without being intrusive. (We still kept the house locked up at night and when we were snorkeling or away.) Casa Cavu will be special in our memories. We hope to visit there again!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The overall experience.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Boston
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 3 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Oct 2013
Update!! Casa Cavu has been freshly painted on the outside. The house is in perfect condition as of 11/4/13. -

This is our prior response to you. Thank you for your comments about your stay at Casa Cavu. We appreciate your praise for the staff, Icidro and Rocio. We are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the light. Yes,it was raining terribly hard during your stay. Management has attented to this issue and it is repaired. Late October is the time for painting and exterior maintenance. Icidro paints the exterior of the house at the end of hurricane season to avoid painting twice. Casa Cavu is about to receive a fresh coat of paint end of October.
Thank you for staying with us. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Atlanta
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for continuing to choose Casa Cavu for your vacation. We are sure that Icirdo and Rocio, the staff were very happy to see you again. Thank you also for taking time to comment on your stay. We all appreciate it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lfcjaz
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casa Cavu - In need of a Makeover”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Cavu is located in Tankah Tres, where the beach is coarse sand and beach shoes are required to enter the water as there are lots of rocks, sea urchins etc. It is not a fine, wide sandy beach such as that at Tulum.
The Casa itself has a few issues, at present, which need to be addressed by the management team. For example, some electrical switches are broken and have been taped up (obviously, not safe for young children) Bathrooms and bedrooms look quite tired, kitchen is adequate. However, it is kept very clean by the caretaker and his wife. Overall, I would say that the Casa is adequate for somewhere to sleep etc. but has no wow factor. Tulum is within easy reach and that is where we spent most of our time, nice beach, restaurants etc.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Easy access to Tulum
Liked least: Tired property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2013
Thank you for your thoughts about Tankah Tres beach and Casa Cavu. Each beach along the Riviera Maya is unique. Tankah Tres beach has an incredible barrier and inshore coral reef for people who enjoy snorkeling. When entering the water one does have to naviagte the coral in the shallows however there are plenty of sandy spots for water entry. Aqua shoes are recommended. Tulum beach is completely differnt, the barrier reef is further off shore so there is no inshore coral reef. This is why Tulum beach is completely sandy water entry.

Please know that Casa Cavu is inspected by the staff and management team to ensure good repair and maintenance of the house. During your visit the house was waiting on an electrician to repair the item you mentioned. We apologize for your inconvenience. We feel Casa Cavu is a very nice and casual beach home. We have many happy repeat clients who visit the home. Recently the bedrooms have been updated, new art has been installed all over the house warming the atmosphere. During your visit the art was removed from the walls for updates. We are very proud of our staff who maintain the house extremely clean. We are sorry the house did not meet your WOW factor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael V
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, good house, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Casa Cavu is located on a perfectly quiet and isolated part of Tankah Bay, with reef-protected beaches and great off-shore snorkeling. If you like to get away from the hotels and resorts of Cancun, this is a great choice. In the neighborhood is a great snorkel/dive/fishing charter shop at Casa Cenote, and also Tankah Inn for great breakfasts.

The house is right on the beach, pool is good for kids just splashing around, and Isidro and Rosio were great helps. What's missing is furniture. The couch is built-in and the entertainment center was across the open floor plan behind the dining room table. It might have seemed like a good idea, but the concrete couch is not terribly comfortable or convenient.

Don't miss the short drive to the Tulum ruins, and also the 45 minute drive inland to Coba to climb a crumbling Mayan pyramid. It's the kind of thing you couldn't do in the US without a having a trial attorney waiting at the bottom for you to tumble down. Our 12 year olds made it up, but the 10 year old bailed out. All in all, a good rental for the price.

One other ding. The wifi was expired when we arrived and even when finally connected two days later was very slow - 256k. Very limited and worthless for video streaming of any kind.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and Isidro and Rosio taking care of us!
Liked least: Furniture and 20th century wifi speeds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Thank you very much for posting your thoughts about your stay at Casa Cavu. We apprecaite your comments about our wonderful staff. Thank you for choosing Casa Cavu for vacation. It is typical for couch or chairs to be built in due to the fact that a free standing couch has springs that would rust and break down quickly due to exposure to salt air. We apologize for the WIFI glitch. The house was in the process of switiching internet providers. WIFI in this area is not guaranteed 100% connectivity unfortunately. Thank you for providing advice to future visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S.
CA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Casa Cavu. Yes, Tankah Tres beach located 10 minutes north of Tulum is a perfect place to relax and escape the action of Tulum beach. We appreciate you staying nice things about Icidro's cooking. We feel it is one of the nicest amenties that the house offers. We apprecaite you choosing Casa Cavu for vacation!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Susan and Tim
OR
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay at Casa Cavu. Thank you also for posting your beautiful photos of the house and the cooked seafood! We do hope that you will return to Casa Cavu when vacation permits. We appreciate you choosing Casa Cavu for your vacation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
18446737050
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing