We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff at Be Tulum was attentive and sensitive! The location, food, and service were beyond outstanding!”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Be Tulum staff were incredibly attentive and helpful. My partner and I had flown all day and she was on crutches with a broken foot--so we were a little nervous about her ability to get to the room and around the hotel--but as soon as we arrived the staff assisted us and made sure every detail was in place for us to enjoy our stay and my sister's wedding. Ana, the hotel owner was amazing!! She was just like a family member throughout our stay! The hotel planned all of the details for my sister and made sure the entire party was comfortable! It was the best weekend EVER!!! My partner and I have booked a room to go back in October after her "boot" is off....and she can enjoy the beauty of Be Tulum...and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are incredible! Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geekgirl1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 905 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2011

This hotel is situated on one of the most beautiful white beaches on the yucatan..I would describe the area as more bohemian.the rooms are incredibly comfortable,and beautifully designed - a chic jungle /beach vibe. The hotel staff are so hospitable and take care of you with such cool and grace...always smiling and unintrusive. The food is delicious and the setting is magic...a true getaway...cannot wait to go back!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dashlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

This is hands down the chicest best run hotel in mexico and certainly Tulum. The staff will make you feel as though you are home but with the surroundings of paradise! Do not think just go and you will forever remember your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaws212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

We have travelled extensively to beach locations, but haven't seen architecture situated so comfortably in a natural setting like this in a long time. The natural landscape is comfortably meshed with the modernist feel of the cabanas. The upper units provide much more privacy and the feel of being perched on a tranquil palm tree. The rooms for this area are very spacious with indoor / outdoor showering ... the large jacuzzi tubs can provide for lots of fun. The beach is like paradise where one can dream as a rich man contemplating his next big move in serenity ... the main pool was something special especially along that coast line. For being in Mexico and in the Quintana Roo Region this has to be one of the best boutique hotels you will find especially if the weather is cooperative ... we had a phenomenal stay ... this place compares with Francis Ford Copola's "Turtle Inn" in Placencia Belize ... another must stay boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCAarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at BeTulum for 10 days.

ROOMS: Spacious room. Large, comfortable bed. Large jacuzzi. Indoor and outdoor showers (outdoor with perfect sunset view). Decent size balcony with view of the beach and bar area, perfect for lounging in the evening. The rooms are very dark, however you get accustomed to this. No hairdryer in the room, but the reception has several you can borrow. The rooms are very humid and there is no proper door to the bathroom, leaving a weird smell from the cleaning detergents they use throughout the room.

BEACH: Fantastic and the reason we chose Tulum in the first place. Located south along the beach, it feels quite secluded and private. Nice beach beds and great service.

DINING: Decent, but no culinary highs. I did not expect Michelin star quality, but they do use a lot of processed foods and the food served seemed very uninspired. In a hotel of this quality along the beach, you would expect the calamari to be fresh and made on site, not the frozen stuff. Despite describing other things in the menu, they served most of the dishes with ready-made, processed potato wedges, which were not very nice. It does not require much effort to make food from scratch, and I would have expected at least the same quality of food from the restaurant at BeTulum as we make in our own kitchen (we are not chefs).Unfortunately we only discovered the morning we were leaving (very lazy holdiay) that Hechizo is a very short walk away (take a right on the beach), the prizes there are similar but the menu and food seems a lot more inspired.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE:
Fantastic staff, they make such an effort to make you enjoy the stay and the get you anything you need. It is expensive, but still has a laid-back, relaxed cabana feel. It is luxurious enough without being in your face. Would go back for the beach and the surroundings, but the stay would have been even better if the food was made with a bit more inspiration.

As you can see from previous reviews this hotel is not for everyone. If you prefer large resort-type holiday with all amenities just like home, this is not the place for you... but if that is what you want I don't think any of the hotels along Tulum beach will meet your needs and you should probably just go somewhere else. However, having stayed in similar hotels in parts of the world that could compare to Tulum, BeTulum still has a bit of a way to go before perfection can be claimed...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Be Tulum exceeded all our expectations. The room was beautiful and very spacious, nicer than what the pictures on their site depicted. The staff was really nice, helpful and pleasant. The beach is wonderful. The hotel is at the end of the strip so you had miles of private, undeveloped beach adjacent the the hotel. The people staying there were sophisticated and international. Not for the all-you-could eat/drink crowd. It's a small boutique hotel. We stayed for 9 days and could have stayed on longer. We definitely recommend Be Tulum to those looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2011

Dear "DavidSteven"

Thank you for taking the time to share your most positive experiences at our hotel.

You have discovered what Tulum is all about. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel so much.

Thanks again for your wonderful comments!

Kind regards,

Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I'll try to be brief,
- The bedroom is literally in the dark!
- There was a permanent sent of moist in our room as if the wooden floors were absorbed with water!
- The shower and bathrooms mixers give salty water!!!!!!!
- Our friends bedroom had water dripping from the ceiling!
- The hot water did not functio properly!
- We could hear our upstear neighbours do their business at 1 AM!!
- You cannot use your private pool because it is extremely cold, and has a 2mm thick coat of insects because the water is in stagnation (no filtration).
- You have absolutely no privacy in the pool which is on the pathway.
- No hairdrier in the bedroom.
- No cupbords or drawers in the bedroom. Just a couple of shelves.
- No TV in the bedroom.
- You cannot throw paper in the toilet.
- One of our bath towels had an orangy-brownish stain.

Most of this is fine if you pay 150$ a night. But at 650$ a night, it's a total rip off!!
And for those arguing that the beach is nice, well it is just as nice before and after, as all the hotels are on the same strip!
Run away, this place brings more stress than relaxation!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank toy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2011

Dear "toyBeirut"

We are very sorry that you seem to had a bad time as you express here. But we are also somewhat confused with your complains, as they are mostly about things that represent the Tulum very way of life. Let us explain:

Tulum is an eco-friendly hip&chic place, located almost into the mayan jungle. There is no electricity but the one we generate ourselves for the minimum needs of this boutique eco-hotel. Thus, we keep electrical consumption as low as we can. Most of the appliances you normally get to have in any good hotel are not present in Be Tulum, for our choice is to have a very small footprint in this amazing place. We are very sorry that you needed to have TV or a hairdryer in your bedroom, as we do not provide those appliances on the rooms (we have hairdryers on the front desk).

As we said, Be Tulum is a green boutique-eco-hotel and we choose to keep a very low energy consumption.

We would also like to clarify that the price we charged you was $400, you should check the difference with your travel agency.

Again, we are truly sorry for your unpleasant experience on Tulum, México.

Kind regards,

Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 100 in Tulum
639 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#21 of 100 in Tulum
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 100 in Tulum
470 reviews
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#39 of 100 in Tulum
452 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#38 of 100 in Tulum
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £296 - £796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing