We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Be Tulum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 1 night in of of the Arena suites and it was amazing!
The location of the hotel and it's surroundings is very beautiful & chic.... in every little detail. Even the cleaning ladies looked awesome in their traditional mexican dresses... a nice contrast to the modern hotel :)
We got a nice welcoming drink delivered to the room and the service in general was good. Staff not "too attentive"... we could eat and drink without being "disturbed". This is a place for tranquility and romance in deed...
We just wished that we had time to stay longer! All the best to this amazing design hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bambolina_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "Bambolina_j",

Thank you for this nice feedback! Tack så mycket!
Thanks for the lovely pics as well!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    119
    43
    23
    16
See reviews for
39
594
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent three nights at Be Tulum at the end of visiting a sequence of Maya sites. It was the perfect way to relax. The hotel - on the Tulum strip which still reminds of his hippy origins but is now extremely chic and luxurious - is terrific. Rooms are set among trees, there's an excellent bar and restaurant, and a pool. There are fun add-ons too, like a cinema screening on the beach on Friday nights, and lunchtime barbeques with live music. The staff are relaxed, speedy and helpful. We'd definitely come again, and we'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "Grant M",

Thank you very much for such a positive review!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed at Be Tulum for 4 nights on my honeymoon. Absolutely loved it. The staff were friendly and efficient, the food was delicious and the setting is stunning. Ceviche and margaritas in front of the pool, looking out over a turquoise sea with the sand in our toes was pretty lovely. Will definitely be going back. Full marks to Ana and her lovely team.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with jacuzzi bath tub and outdoor shower was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TKRKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Managern at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "TKRKLondon",

Thank you so much for your incredible comments! We love to read about happy Honeymoons taking place in our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed at Be Tulum April 16-19, 2012. We were doing 6 days in Mexico, did 3 in Playa and 3 in Tulum.

First a note to gay travelers, we didn't know what to expect in Tulum or Mexico as a gay couple, but it was a non-issue. Nobody blinked on pretty much our whole trip, and certainly not at Be Tulum.

Overall, we loved this hotel. Great service -- 2 room refreshes per day, plenty of towels, things clean. When there was a thunderstorm, someone came around to the rooms handing out rain ponchos! While there is no room service menu in the room, they'll bring you whatever you want from the restaurant if you ask. When we had special requests, they were addressed quickly -- at one point there was some hammering going on nearby, we called the desk and that stopped immediately; also, we requested the lights be turned off in our rooftop pool so we could star gaze and the staff was there in minutes.

We saw the photos online & booked the Ocean Suite, which has a private roof deck & splash pool on the roof, and a huge jacuzzi in the room itself. Gorgeous room! One word of caution, there are 2 Ocean Suites and only one has an ocean view from inside the room (not ours, which had an ocean view from the roof deck only) so if that's important to you, ask ahead. From the private roof deck, there are amazing views of both the ocean AND of the jungle, which stretches out flat to the horizon and it is an amazing sight at sunset.

In the room, the bed's huge and very comfortable, the deck large, the design is as nice as it looks in the pictures. That huge jetted tub was so amazing we took a jetted bath every day and felt a *little* guilty for using all that water but hey, after some cenote diving, it's clear that there is no shortage of water in Tulum. The room could use a couple more flat surfaces for your stuff but that's part of the design: the side tables for the bed are these great, minimal wood blocks which are small and hold very little but look fantastic (if you want clunky night stand with a King James in the top drawer please stay at a Holiday Inn Express). Screens are on the porch doors, so it's easy to keep the doors open and enjoy the jungle air though the A/C worked great when needed. Wifi not so great, they could use an antenna on the beach side of the hotel so you can get internet more easily in your room, but we were there to unplug so it wasn't a big issue for us.

And the hotel in general was first rate. The overall design is modern and cool, the bar has a trendy vibe, GREAT coffee every morning, with milk that comes warmed, amazing fresh juice -- all the small touches of excellent guest service. Bar snacks very good (calamari, chips, etc). Didn't get a chance to eat dinner here so can't comment on that. Plenty of palapas on the clean sandy beach. The beach is phenomenal. We could have been in that water for hours.

A final shout-out to our resident gecko, who we named Scout. He lived on the ceiling and did a first rate job of keeping out any unwanted pests. Being in the jungle, we had expected to see more creepy-crawlies, but Scout kept watch all night long and kept us safe.

The room was over $500 per night which is expensive for Tulum, where cabanas can be had for half or less of that price, but it was worth it. I doubt there is much in Tulum that rivals the chic, modern experience here. We'd come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesSFCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "jamesSFCA",

Thanks for the amazing review! It's like a magazine article! We love what you wrote, and reading that you had such a nice experience on Be Tulum makes us proud!

We also hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryn mawr
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

be tulum is a boutique hotel at the end of the tulum strip. my friend and i stayed here and had a very relaxing and easy time. customer service was excellent; rooms were fine; food was fair. wished it was a little more central but we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "sandra k",

Thank you for your review! It is nice to know you had a great time with us!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calexico, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a chance to visit Be Tulum this spring and we had an amazing vacation.
This hotel is perfect, from its secluded beautiful beachfront location to the luxurious interiors of the rooms. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed the food. Overall its a relaxing getaway with a boehemian vibe that offers privacy, romantic setting, and many wonderfall small details throughout the property. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "Greg M",

We'd like to thank you for your incredible words! And thanks for the nice pics!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

low key barefoot elegance; great service and friendly staff in a beautiful setting; delicious food and tasty cocktails; gorgeous beach; fantastic rooms; beach cruiser bikes at your disposal. we were at be tulum over easter weekend (thurs-mon) with our 2 teenage daughters (16 and 18), and our stay couldn't have been better. we had 2 rooms in the same building (ours had a king bed, plus a wonderful private rooftop deck with ocean views, plunge pool and outdoor shower; our girls' room, on the lower level, had 2 queens and also had its own little hammock, swing, plunge pool and private outdoor shower), so we were close enough but not too close. the appointments in the rooms are lovely--good mattresses, great showers, cool sinks, soft towels. and the hotel's location is excellent: easy to get to anywhere by bike, taxi or on foot; just as easy to stay there (why leave such a lovely place?). enthusiastic thumbs up from the whole family :)

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MattaMorphosis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear "MattaMorphosis",

Thanks for such a good review! Thumbs up are very nice too!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#11 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#35 of 92 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 92 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 92 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing