We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Beach Vaca...”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is my first review that i actually gave out a 5 Star, and Be Tulum deserves every bit of it!

let me first say that if you have a problem with this resort it is becuase you didn't realize what you where getting yourself into. This is the most laid back, relaxed atmosphere i've ever been in. This is a place with a relaxed geusts, quiete, well traveled, beach lovers that come from all over the globe (during one lunch i think my wife and i where the only Americans out of about 6 couples)

Everything that has been said positve about this resort is true, i'll touch on a few points
-Rooms are big, water pressure for indoor and outdoor showers are great
-Food is good, French Toast AMAZING, Ceviche Amazing, Mint Lim-Aid, Amazing
-Beach is exactly what it looks like in the pics, powder sand, clear water
-Beach beds are comfy and there are more then enough (one afternoon i took 3 naps)
-Pool, resturant and bar area are beautiful
-Hotel staff are very nice and helpful
-The staff is sooo relaxed, whatever you want they not only can but will do, nothing is a problem
-The resort is intermingled withing a Jungle...truly an amazing jungle (all natural looking)
-at night it was amazing to go down to the beach, sit in the chairs and feel the breeze, look at the stars and hear the ocean, even at 10:30 at night you will have a staff member politley ask you if there is anything that you need
-at night the hotel is light up with Tikki Torches and cancles....breath taking!
-the outdoor shower is awsome!

minor room for improvements
-i know the staff combs the beach every morning but i think they should do it twice a day, don't get me wrong the beach is amazing but the worlds oceans are so poluted (all of them are) and it would be nice if the hotel did a better job cleaning twice a day. again i realize the hotel didn't polute the water and the beach is amazing...i'm beeing very nit picky
-the beds are just ok..not uncomfy but just ok
-the water pressure for the tub is bad...took well over an hour to fill...very odd since the water pressure for the showers is much much stronger

again, this is the first 5 star review i've ever given and i've been to world class resorts. the minor rooms for improvment are truly minor. This place is amazing, so romantic, so relaxing and exactly what any couple who wants to enjoy eachother and relax would want

avoid this resort if you want; they typicall AI Mexico vaca (loud drunk people, beach games, fake atmosphere, nightly entertainment)

Room Tip: we enjoyed the 2nd floor rooms as they are more a jungle feel and brighter with the windows and high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mnymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear "mnymaker",

Thank you for your amazing feedback! And thanks again for taking the time to write so much about us!

Your suggestions are more than welcome!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I stayed in Tulum for one week and my husband had chosen Be Tulum. What a good idea, we had a wonderful and relaxing time. The small size of the hotel, just 20 rooms, give an intimate and magical tranquility. The walkway to our room was amazing, through the jungle with all the staff who welcomed us. My husband made me a great surprise, he had booked a really huge room (ocean front and private pool on our terrace roof!) AMAZING.
The entire staff was absolutely wonderful and very helpful with everything. Special thanks to Ana and Carolina from the front desk for their friendly welcome and to lily for her kindness. Thanks a lot we will come back
Alix&Alex

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear "Alix M",

Thank you so much for the fabulous rating you gave us! We are happy to read it!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed in Tulum for 2 weeks and only booked Be Tulum for the last 3 nights. How we wished we had stayed here longer!
The welcome from Ana and her team was so warm and friendly, it didn't feel like a stuffy hotel where you are just a number, really felt at ease and at home immediately,
The walk way to our room was incredible, through the jungle with all the staff greeting us.
Our room was a surprise. It was huge! Had a plunge pool, hammocks and a little seating area to chill out on out the front, all very private. The air conditioning was heaven after some of the other fan only places we had stayed. All fittings in the room were luxurious yet seemed fitting to the jungle surroundings.
Loved waking up to the sound of birds and jungle life, what an experience, in a room that was just like being in a 5 star NYC hotel room yet in the jungle!
The beach was immaculate here with great longing beds with shade,
Breakfast was good too, you must try the banana and coconut milkshakes, to do for!
Overall I could not recommend Be Tulum enough and would like to thank Ana and her team for making it so special.

Danni and Simon x

Room Tip: We loved the jungle rooms with plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkDdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear "UkDdd",

Thanks for the nice feedback! We are happy to read that you had a great time here. Perhaps you can stay longer next time!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 7 nights at BeTulum at the end of April and had such an amazing and relaxing time. The entire staff is absolutely wonderful and so very helpful with anything that may be needed while traveling. Ana, Laura and Julio were the best front desk staff I have ever experienced while traveling. The rooms and property are exceptionally clean and very well maintained. I also can not say enough about how great the food and drinks were. My favorites were the Mexican Civice and the Rosa Maria drink. Out of this world!!! Can not wait to return!!

Room Tip: With only 20 rooms I believe, you can not really go wrong with any of them. however, the beach fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brettrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon trip travelling around the Yucatan. It was an absolutely perfect place to end our holiday, absolute paradise.

We stayed in a Jungle room (number 12), we felt it was well designed and loved the power shower and decking area outside. The rooms were well designed and blended into the surroundings really well, walking to the beach through the jungle felt like an adventure every time! As others have commented, the lighting is a bit dark, but we didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't really matter. The room was cleaned immaculately every day.

The beach is absolutely beautiful, and because the surrounding properties appear to be non-operational, Be Tulum guests have it to themselves. We loved that we could get drinks and snacks served to us on the beach, the dips and salsas were so tasty. Our only criticism would be that a couple of stray dogs kept wandering up to the hotel and one urinated on one of the beach beds which was pretty unpleasant! - the staff could do more to chase the dogs away.

The food at Be Tulum was the best we ate in Mexico, I am craving their burger as I write this! The breakfasts were great with loads of choice, we had fresh fruit every morning and my husband loved the yoghurt and granola. The smoothies are to die for! Compliments to the chef, we had such great dinners every night that we didn't bother eating elsewhere. A good selection of Mexican and international food. We enjoyed the band on our last night, great music and not too intrusive.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay at Be Tulum and felt that the quality of the hotel, its design, the standard of service, the excellent food, and the beautiful location justified the price. We'd love to stay again if we can save up for the flights. Thanks to Ana and all the team for a wonderful end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harrietstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear "harrietstar",

Thank you so much for your very nice comments about your stay! We love to read words like yours!

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stayed in Be Tulum for four days in December 2011 and had a wonderful time. The hotel staff went to every effort to ensure I had everything I needed - I was five months pregnant at the time - and the hotel's location right on the beach is perfect. THe rooms/grounds are beautiful and designed to blend in with the surroundings, while the beach has white sands and a beautifl blue ocean. The food was deliciious, and room service was very efficient. The perfect place to get away from our busy, modern lifestyles, and forget about it all for a while.
If you are looking for somewhere with all the mod cons - TV, DVD players, mini bar in room etc - this is not the place for you, but you don't need any of these modern day accessories given the stunning beach, amazing bath/hot tub in room, balcony to read and doze on etc.
If I return to the area I will stay in this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear "sarah h",

Thank you for your lovely comments and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We Love Be Tulum, and we will be back its that good...... The staff are out of this world amazing!! The rooms are beautifully put together and fit perfectly into its surrounds and the location of the property could not be any better.... This is as good as it gets in my eyes, the beach and ocean are picture perfect, the food is to die for both in the hotel and at every restaurant we visited... Our fave... was Hartwood, got to try the whole fish and definitely grab yourself a Habanero Margarita "absolutely delicious"! All of the rooms in the hotel look amazing we had one of the Arena suites with a hot tub and it was fantastic. I loved the beach bar at the hotel in fact I wish I was sitting their right now with a cocktail and one of those 'Awesome fish tacos'... If you are looking for a place to kick back and relax look no further... Go on guys, treat yourself you deserve it........

Thanks to all the staff at Be Tulum for making our vacation so wonderful, we hope to see you all very soon...

Room Tip: if you can get in the ocean front module upstairs do it otherwise all the other rooms are fair game...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeTulum, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear "Matthew J",

Thank you for your nice words! It is very nice to read that you liked so much our hotel! And thanks for the pics!

We also look forward to welcome you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 98 in Tulum
1,314 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#7 of 98 in Tulum
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 98 in Tulum
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#36 of 98 in Tulum
184 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £385 - £670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing