We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

First of all, let me start by explaining Tulum and addressing any of the (few) negative comments. Tulum is in the jungle, there are bugs in the jungle. We visited the first week of October and had no more problems with mosquitoes than we do in our own back yard (perhaps it is different at other times of the year). Everything is run on generators in Tulum. People light paths and restaurants with candles and torches to conserve energy. The rooms do not have a lot of bright lighting but I cannot imagine why you would need a ton of light. Hey, if you're on your honeymoon or a couples getaway, we all look better in a little low light :-). Did I mention it is the Jungle, so yes it is humid and yes the room smells different (not bad, just different) than my home but it is part of being somewhere different, trying something new. In ALL of Tulum you cannot flush toilet paper this is not exclusive to Be and for someone to suggest that you should be able to do otherwise because of the price of the room, is ridiculous. Be Tulum has air-conditioning and hot water, these are luxuries in Tulum. It is different than any other place and it may be strange to think you are paying a premium for something most of us take for granted, but that just shows how spoiled most of us are. As for the privacy, this was not an issue for us. If we needed it, we closed the blinds. Yes, when you sit outside, people are passing back and forth, say 'Hola' and smile.
Be Tulum is an amazing, unique and wonderful little place. We stayed in a jungle suite and the location was perfect. We were about halfway along the property between reception and the beach. I would not pay a premium for an arena suite. The property is so small that no one is far from the beach. If you feel privacy would be an issue for you, recommend an upstairs room. The beach is what you go for and there is none better. The covered beds do get snatched up quickly but there are oversized lounges you can pull into the shade and be just as comfy. Put your flag in the sand and start ordering drinks, the day will disappear.
We ate at the hotel and around Tulum. We walked up the beach to La Zebra and had 2 amazing lunches there. The tacos at Be are great too. At night, get a bike and ride up the road for dinner. Posada Margherita is not to be missed. It is safe everywhere you go just bring your little light that they give you at check in. We actually didn't use ours until the last night or so, the moon was so full and bright, it lit our way.
If you are considering a vacation in Tulum, stay at Be Tulum. We had the most amazing vacation of our lives :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank ACJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear "ACJW",

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time here! Thank you for the inspired and honest review of Be Tulum! You really connected with the special atmosphere of Tulum.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    120
    46
    23
    17
See reviews for
39
610
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We loved our time at Be Tulum. LOVED. The staff was so welcoming and helpful. We ate every night at the restaurant because we thought it was the best food on the beach! The ceviche was our favorite! The hotel has an eco-chic vibe, it is upscale rustic. We loved the decor in the rooms as well. The hotel used handmade pillows and throws from Mexican crafters which are also sold down the road from the hotel in a tiny little boutique. We went during the off season (first week of September) so there were very few guests there. The hotel hosted a flamenco night as well which was such a treat! FYI, they also offer yoga on some mornings:)
We couldn't have dreamed a better honeymoon spot. Thank you Be Tulum!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penelope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear "Penelope L",

Thank you for your incredible feedback! We feel honored to receive such kind words from our guests. And thanks for choosing us to spend your honeymoon in Tulum!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Amazing. The staff is great and so is the propert. Private. Nice. Beautiful. The hotel zone strip has so much to offer. The food at the hotel is good but they also recommend a lot of options outside the hotel. I'd recommend a ground floor room so you have a private pool. Loved the indoor/outdoor showers in the upstairs room as well though. Just an overall great place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cna109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear "Cna109",

Thank you so much for your positive words on TripAdvisor!

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and I just spent 5 nights at Be Tulum and it was just wonderful! We had one of our best vacations ever! The hotel is really gorgeous: rooms, beach, restaurant, staff, location....you name it! Everything was perfect!
The beach has many beds/beanbags/chairs options and we actually often had the whole thing to ourselves! This is the beauty of going to Tulum during low season I guess!
The restaurant is very good. We had breakfast on the beach every morning and it felt like heaven! We also had dinner at the hotel a couple of times and the food was delicious!
Tulum ruins are just a 10 min. drive away and the Sian Kahan biosphere also just a short drive away. We also went to Chichen Itza and Coba', which are respectively 2hrs and a 1/2 hr drive away.
What else to say about this heavenly place? The hotel has bikes that guests can use to go to the neighboring hotels/restaurants/shops.
We also loved the fact that we could be barefoot at all times at the hotel. There’s no need for flip flops either!
The only negative remark that we have to make (which is not about the hotel itself though!!) is that we didn’t like all the trash that we saw on the beach during our walks, just a few steps away from the hotel. It’s sad to see all that plastic just sitting around and apparently nobody cleans it and cares! It should be of some concern especially when you know that that beach is the place where giant turtles go to lay their eggs at night and then later the little guys make their way towards the water and we wondered how many of them die just because they get trapped in some kind of (plastic!) litter! We wished that the Tulum community would do something about this problem! They probably don’t realize what a beautiful natural “treasure” they have there and it should be their duty to preserve it! For them and also for us!

With that being said though…….We can’t wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmerry17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear "Bmerry17",

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback! We love to read you had such a good time staying at Be Tulum! And thanks for the lovely pics!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We had such an incredible time at Be Tulum on our recent honeymoon. The staff was so attentive and friendly and always remembered what we liked to order. The accommodations are perfect and exactly what we needed. Although the hotel is quite small, we had plenty of privacy on the property. The hotel offered bikes, movies and extra books to use during our stay. The beach is stunning and we never really wanted to leave the property while we were there. It was a great location for day trips to the Tulum ruins and local Cenotes and the hotel arranged for us to have transportation whenever we needed it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear "Kendra H",

Thank you for your incredible comments! It's such a joy for us to know our guests had a great honeymoon at Be Tulum!

We look forward to welcome you again very soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Be Tulum for our honeymoon and it was just an amazing place to stay. The hotel grounds itself are so tranquil and surrounded by lush vegetation, creating a very secluded and quiet environment. The rooms are wonderful, with your own private balconies. The staff was very nice and the restaurant is right on the beach with amazing food, the ceviche was awesome. We stayed at another hotel for a few nights after we left Be, and we were totally missing it. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear "Marcus W",

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback about your stay! We are happy to know you had an amazing honeymoon at Be Hotel! Thanks for the pic you shared!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

From the moment I walked through the doorway, I was absolutely blown away by the breathtaking beauty of the property. I would have been perfectly content to stay on site for my entire vacation; you want for nothing here. The staff were exceedingly kind and helpful (not to mention forgiving of my pathetic Spanish), the food was wonderful, and there are no words to describe how overwhelmingly beautiful are the rooms, property, pool and beach areas. On a scale of 1 to 5, Be Tulum is a 6!

Room Tip: Upstairs suites have indoor hot tubs, downstairs suites have private outdoor pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Dear "kelly k",

Thank you for your incredible comments! Knowing our guests had a great time is what makes us tick.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 95 in Tulum
580 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#20 of 95 in Tulum
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing