We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CAN'T WAIT FOR MY NEXT TRIP!”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“CAN'T WAIT FOR MY NEXT TRIP!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed a Be Tulum last December and a few months decided to book the same room but this time...stay longer. If you want to pamper yourself and get away for some R&R then this is the place. Perfect blend of getting away from the hustle and bustle of the world and still remain in luxury. If you aren't staying here...stop by on a beach stroll for a drink and check out the property. Perfection in Tulum! Can't wait to see you in December!!!! BG

Room Tip: If you are staying here - splurge a little more and get one of the 2 ocean view rooms with a soak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear "Bethjamie",

Thank you very much for leaving a great feedback on TripAdvisor! You seemed to enjoy the special "beer with a view" from your room!

We hope to host you again soon!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    120
    45
    24
    16
See reviews for
40
603
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we had the chance to go back to Be Tulum last week and we loved it every bit as much as the first time. we stayed in the Ocean Suite #20 and it was great. The staff is every bit as great as last time if not better. The lunchtime grill produces some of the best food of my life!

if you enjoy a relaxed, laid back, sexy atmosphere this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear "mnymaker",

Thank you for your great words about our hotel, for the second time! It's inspiring to know you have loved your first time with us, and decided to return!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

If you wish to be pampered for a few days then look no further.
Gorgeous section of the beach with fabulous beds and bean bags; a flag in the sand brings a waiter to you whilst you relax and enjoy the perfect views.
Rooms were very nice and secluded with the option of an outdoor or indoor shower.
Bikes free from outside which are really handy to get into the main bit of town.
Had a wonderful stay; a lovely treat for some relaxation.
I have been fortunate enough to visit many beaches but Tulum really is the most idyllic/picture perfect I have seen.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear "Amy S",

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about your stay at Be Tulum! That beach flag really proved to be useful, didn't it?

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Be Tulum was recommended by a good friend and it did not disappoint. Exceptional design elements are present throughout and our Jungle Room was very comfortable and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and made some great restaurant and activity recommendations. We can not wait to get back!

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor room as they have plunge pools however we really didn't spend much time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrys415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear "henrys415",

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for the nice words and pics you shared with the TripAdvisor community!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Be Tulum is set in a very mellow almost remote part of Tulum. You can easily access some incredible restaurants (on the same road) by taking one of the hotels freely available beach cruiser bikes, or grab a taxi (almost always waiting just outside). We stayed in an arena suite and were literally about 20 steps from the beach. The hotel's restaurant has beautiful, clean, healthy food which we ate for breakfast each morning as we watched the waves roll in. The beach cabanas are comfortable beds both covered and not, that give the perfect place to relax as you go in and out of the extraordinary ocean water. The waitstaff at the restaurant will bring anything right to on the beach. Our room had a/c which was great after some hot and humid days. It was spacious and clean and very sexy. We used the indoor and the outdoor showers and had incense lit every night by the turn down service.
The hotel itself is an exquisite place to relax and unwind, an upscale crowd but not a "scene." The local restaurants near by were amazing and we found some fantastic activities too - Yoga at a local studio (the Be Tulum yoga and spa were under construction during our visit so they sent us down the road), and an incredible snorkeling adventure with Adventure Tour Center (http://www.adventuretourcenter.com/#) All of these were the perfect fit with the tropical, jungle, beach paradise that is Tulum. We will be back to BE for sure.

Room Tip: We chose a downstairs room after looking at both. It was very spacious and there wasn't any noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAnastas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear "AAnastas",

Thank you for your nice feedback! And thanks for the pics as well! We love to know you enjoyed so much our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What an escape! The whole stretch of very small boutique hotels that make up Tulum's "hotel zone" are nothing like Playa del Carmen, Cancun, etc etc. You are truly stepping back into a bit of time warp in many respects (in a very good way), absent of the big ol' resorts. We thoroughly enjoyed the very laid back feel of Be and Tulum in general. Yes, maybe there are a few creature comforts that might be missing (no tv's at Be). Be transports their guests to an extremely relaxing place that feels worlds away from busy life, and the tourist areas of Mexico. The beauty of the beach and waters rival that of Thailand and other idyllic beaches of the world... Amazing white sands and those Caribbean blue waters!

We stayed at Be for 5 days and felt VERY well tended to. Continually helpful and attentive staff contribute to a great experience. Anything we asked for, was done promptly and with a smile.

Pro's :
- The (included) Wi-fi worked perfectly the entire trip, including down at the beach.
- All room service meals were fantastic ... from breakfast to a filet mignon dinner.
- Restaurant meals we also very good.
- Air conditioning in the room worked like a champ! As cold as you'd like. (I must confess air
con was the leading reason we chose Be.)
- Water pressure and hot water from the rain showers (both the inside and outside) were very
good.
- Great soaps, bath salts etc. to go with your jacuzzi tub.


Con's (minimal really) :
- Not flushing TP down the toilet takes some getting used to. A small closed trash can is used
for this purpose. But this is a reality of all the homes and hotels in Tulum.
- Not all of the outdoor room showers are that private. Walking up the stairs to our own room
we could easily see down into our neighbors outdoor shower, as they were enjoying it
together.... Keep that in mind too : )


All in all, we'd definitely choose Be Tulum again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 236joshc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear "JCranford",

Thank you so much for your nice words on Be Tulum! And thanks for the pic! All your comments are welcome and useful.

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Words like "idyllic", "paradise" , or "getaway" are used far too often to the point they dilute their true significance. I myself have scoured the earth in search of the hidden gems yet to be discovered by the masses. All travellers looking for those gems travel from Thailand to Sri-Lanka, and back to the beaches of Ibiza all searching for the perfect combination of nature, comfort, and adventure. In Tulum we found such a combination of elements, and BeTulum was our greatest discovery.

BeTulum is hidden 10km south of the closest town along the untouched pristine white sand beaches that neighbour a Biosphere reserve. The chaos, noise, and crowds of Playa del Carmen or Cancun are far away. A few scattered bungalows neighbour the Hotel which is also fashioned in a "eco-chic" vibe. The boutique hotel consists of 20 or so suites surrounded by lush green vegetation. The suites have private plunge pools, indoor and outdoor nature showers, and all the commodities of 21st century living.

What makes BeTulum stand out are not the amenities mentioned above, or the infinity pool by the beach, or the Wi-Fi... All these can be easily found on other sites. What makes BeTulum a hidden gem are the people. The attention to detail is what surprised me the most. Every morning the wooden slabs on the way to the beach are carefully swept of sand, the beach and cushions are fluffed, the towels are prepped, and the staff is on high alert to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Attention to detail is present in every aspect of BeTulum. If you are lucky enough to listen to live music during a full moon on the beach, be assured you be enchanted by the sound of classical guitars, flamenco percussion, or even sitars!

On our last night we could not believe our eyes when we caught sight of a 200 lbs turtle come on shore on a full moon. We couldn't have asked for a better good-bye! Thank you. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lazarov77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear "Lazarov77",

Thank you so much for your amazing comments about your stay! We love to know you think of us as a hidden gem.
The turtles on the beach under the Moon light is really an amazing sight, we are glad you experienced that.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#10 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#33 of 95 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 95 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing