We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad hotel”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Gdynia, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very bad hotel”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

What to say... I was VERY disappointed with the hotel.
1. Overprice - sorry for this price I expect something more.
2. Privat pool - it is a big joke ;) It is a small tub located in the shadow. The water is dirty and very cold!!!
3. Staff in the restaurant very irritating. You are waiting for the waiter but the staff was busy making a pictures of each other.

Not recomended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    120
    47
    23
    18
See reviews for
41
612
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here in September for our honeymoon and were very disappointed in the service and the rooms. When booking my husband let them know it was our honeymoon since they advertise they will 'coordinate a memorable experience.' He also followed up with them a few weeks before our arrival to see if we could get the 'honeymoon' upgrade that they also advertise on their website. The hotel responded with a nice email that everything would be taken care of. When we checked in the guy at the desk, who was unnecesssarily pretentious, told us unfortunately the arena suites were all booked due to off season maintenance and took us to a jungle room. The jungle room was right by the reception (not close to the beach) and as we walked up the stairs I had to step over a paint can. We were spending over $500 a night and seeing this room was such a bummer. Our view was the neighbors clothes line, the curtains were dirty and the room was very small. I had done a lot of research on this hotel prior to booking and was expecting much more based on their website and reviews on tripadvisor. There was nothing luxuries about this room so when we later saw the manager who asked how we were we told her of our disappointment. She came back to us a little later with an arena room (number 17) that was now somehow available. We ended up moving but still were unhappy with this room. It was better than the first but right on the walking path so you continually hear guest walk by, staff wheeling wheel barrels of stuff by and if you want any privacy you have to close all the curtains. Once you close them the room becomes extremely dark and depressing. The private plunge pool is not private at all. There is a dirty outdoor curtain you use to block the view but we never used this pool since it wasn't very clean. The room also had a damp and weird smell as some other reviewers mentioned as well. We had just stayed 5 days at the Maroma in Playa Del Carmen for the same price and had a completely different experience. IF you do decide to stay here be VERY SPECIFIC on the room you want prior to arriving. If you want privacy make sure it is not on the walking path. The room could make or break your experience here. The grounds are pretty, cocktails are great and the food is very good. Give the level of customer service and room quality this place is completely overpriced for what they offer!

Room Tip: Do not get room 17 or any room on the walking path if you want a quite and private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccrivello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear "ccrivello",

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very sorry about your experience. But please, take into consideration that before those days the area was hit very badly by heavy rain, with evacuations, and considerable maintenance work was mandatory all over Tulum and the area. Yours was an extremely atypical situation, which we dealt with as fast and as professional as possible.
We did, however, fulfill the room upgrade as agreed, but we understand your frustration with the aftermath of the storm.

Again, we are sorry and we want to thank you for staying with us.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

At first we were amazed about the great beach and the fact that we had a private plunge pool. But then it turned out to be our worst stay for years: there are no views to the sea from the rooms (just 1 overpriced) Avoide rooms with plunge pool because they are on ground floor and you have no privacy, and the pools are so cold no one would use them. The rooms were humid and had a bad smell. There were no phones for dialling outside and no Tv's in rooms and cell phones don't work there... Wifi hardly ever worked. The tap almost fell of the wall, and everything needs to be re-adjusted. It might be the only design hotel in the area for the moment (W Retreat is going to open allthough) but it's just totally overpriced for what is offered.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We've just returned from our first trip to Mexico. Before booking our holiday we researched the area carefully and read lots of Tripadvisor reviews of hotels. Be Tulum had good reviews, so we thought we'd give it a go! I'm so glad we did. The hotel, the location and all the staff are wonderful. The hotel is shabby chic with a touch of Californian hippy..... but with all the amenities for a very relaxing stay. The towels were the fluffiest I've experienced anywhere, the beds were ultra comfortable. Candles and torches lit the grounds at night and the garden scented.
The staff, from cleaners to gardeners to senior management were very efficient, friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay so enjoyable.
The food was fresh and delicious and the cocktails excellent!
The beach is picture perfect and has the most sensible double sunbeds I have ever seen, with lots of large cushions for your head. There are also armchairs and large beanbags on the beach, so always somewhere comfortable to sit. At night a fire was lit on the beach and beanbags and armchairs placed around it......just the place to enjoy an after dinner drink.
If you got cold, wraps would be provided.......they really do think of everything.
We loved it so much we are already planning our return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but be aware because of the nature of the site, only the upstairs rooms are priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElenaB130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear "ElenaB130",

Thank you so much for your incredible words! It's very rewarding to read that we did such a good job!

We look forward to welcome you again very soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

First let me start by saying we had a wonderful time here. The staff here are really friendly and helpful. Its a very hipster shabby chic hotel, which suited us, maybe wouldnt suit everyone. This extended to the rooms though, which had seen better days and were a bit scruffy. The bath in the centre of the room had a leaky tap. And the aircon also leaked when on. The room didnt have a TV, although did have a bracket on the wall, which didnt bother us but might some. It also had no fridge, which I find odd in a hot country and we also had to ask for a hairdryer. We had an upstairs room, which had a bath but no plunge pool. The downstairs rooms have plunge pools but they can be seen by everyone walking to and from the beach/bar/restaurant not very good if you want privacy. The staff, bar, the breakfast and the beach (best along this strip) are definitely the best parts about this hotel and save it. Would definitely try another hotel if we came again

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if you want privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MR_RACE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel is set in the jungle with a beautiful beach and stunning sea. The rooms were nice with a large double bed, sitting area, spa bath, designer marble sink and both indoor and outdoor showers. The food at the hotel was delicious all served at the small restaurant on the beach or by the bar. Breakfast was lovely with interesting eggs cooked to order. We ate dinner here a couple of times and the food was fantastic, delicious salads and perfectly cooked tuna. The star dessert was the secret garden, a flower pot of creamy lemon mouse with black crumb topping served with a
deconstructed spiced apple crumble. Delicious! There are a few local restaurants within walking distance but the road is very dark at night, no lights and no pavement.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kay2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear "kay2948",

Thank you so much for your nice review! It's been a pleasure to have you staying at our hotel!

We hope you can visit us again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Booked a jungle suite with a king bed through Travelocity. When I arrived they showed me to a room with two twin beds and told me and my girlfriend to "push them together." I informed them of the error and they said they can't guarantee rooms based on Travelocity. Pretty sure that's the whole point of using a booking site. Anyway, When I asked them to find me a new room, they took my request down and dodged my phone calls for the next few days. After several conversations with management they put me in the Arena suite at my expense. Which is a lot more expensive. They even tried to move me out of it on my last two days because they needed it for another guest. Pretty crummy. The place is beautiful, the food was good and the waiters were very nice. It's a shame it had to be ruined by poor customer service. The funny part is I saw them do this to another couple as I was leaving. If you go, make sure you request a king bed over the phone with them directly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TankyB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear “Matt H”,

We are very sorry about what you wrote here. Unfortunately, bed requests on Travelocity are not guaranteed, as the reservations site do not ask us for them, they just inform us that the guest would like to have that specific room configuration post-reserve. As we can not answer to the request in advance to the guest’s arrival, once in a while we end up with a bed-type problem we can't solve on the very same day. This seldom happens, but it happened to you, and we are genuinely sorry about it.

We never dodged your phone calls, that has to be a misunderstanding. Why would we do such thing with a paying costumer?

We understand that you didn’t like not having your requested bed, and that the king size beds were in a different type of room was not the answer you were looking for. Again, we are very sorry about that, but please understand that third-party online booking systems have sometimes this issues, and they are not the hotel’s fault. On your arrival, we tried to fix the problem as much as we could.

Thank you for chosing Be Tulum.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#8 of 96 in Tulum
587 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 96 in Tulum
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ana y Jose Charming Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 96 in Tulum
401 reviews
2.6 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Property: Be Tulum Hotel
Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing