We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure paradise....”
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Be Tulum Hotel
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This was our second visit to BeTulum. Once again, we were not disappointed! This time, we splurged on the ocean suite for 7 days....pure paradise❤️ The food was even better than before! More menu options, beautiful salads and smoothies, filling breakfast. The nightly bonfire (ponchos provided) were magical, especially under the full moon! One night there was a movie on the beach....enchanting! The new spa just opened up, but we never got to check it out. I did take advantage of the daily yoga class, overlooking the jungle...nice! This is our place! Looking forward to visiting again in 2015! Thank you!

Room Tip: If you can splurge, the ocean view suites are amazing:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oregonstarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear "Oregonstarrs",

Thank you so much for the nice words and for visiting us again! We improve things all the time, and it's very rewarding to know that you have noticed it. Be ready for the spa next time you come!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

My wife and I just returned from the Be Tulum Hotel. First the good stuff. This is a great place. Fantastic beach, very friendly wait staff, and a romantic setting. The food and drinks were very good, though the service was a bit slow. We didn't mind the wait as the sound of the waves and view of the sea were mesmerizing and the people watching exceptional. At night there was often wonderful and diverse live music.
The rooms were mostly situated in the jungle on a winding path not far from the beach. The lower floors had individual pools and the upper floors were a bit sunnier.
Unfortunately the ones close to the main recreational area were noisy. Our "arena" room was funky chic and comfortable but looked worn. The curtains were drab and looked dirty, the finishes were rough and not first class. It was often damp and smelled moldy.... and then there was the view of garbage from our room (15.) A simple screen would have made a great improvement.
We were there for 10 days and we saw the manager once. We were told he was managing two other hotels.
A manager dedicated to "this" property would have made this a four star experience.
Our Car was hit in the parking lot and it took us a whole week to sort it out. I had to threaten not to pay the Bill before it was resolved. The Manager was nowhere to be found.
I must tell you with all these misgivings we loved this place and the wonderful working people that made it so delightful. We will likely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear "James S",

Thanks for the positive feedback. You said very good things about the hotel, even though you had a problem with your car (although we weren't to blame for that). We want to specially thank you for your kindness.

We are very sorry about the car issue you had at the parking lot. It wasn't your fault, of course, but it wasn't ours either. You just had the misfortune of having a small car hit and we had the misfortune of having that car in our parking lot. It was hit by a Coca Cola truck, and it was an very minor accident no one could have prevented (it can happen anywhere, anytime).

Unfortunately, you were forced to deal with the insurance company because the car was rented under your name, and that was a legal issue we couldn't help you avoid. It would have been the same way in any other hotel of Mexico or even the US. Our general manager helped you as much as he could, until the issue was solved in much less time than it would normally have taken.

You requested us for a rate discount as a compensation for this problem, and we gladly provided that. We did our best to help you and to compensate you for what happen with your car.

Again, we are very sorry that the unfortunate event took place, and even though we did everything we could afterwards, solving it took time and energy, and for that we apologize.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Part of me wishes to keep BeTulum our secret place to vacation, but that would be selfish.

BeTulum is a little bit of heaven on earth-the clean white beach, the beautifully decorated rooms (No, it doesn't look like a cookie cutter hotel!), the friendly and kind staff, and the delicious food made everything perfect.

When we arrived-early-we were escorted to the beach/dining area and were served a delicious white wine spritzer with minced apple floating on the top. (Something delicious and crunchy was also in the drink and maybe they will tell me.) Soon we were escorted to our room, up in the treetops. Beautiful! Our room: Wide planked floors, thatched roof, sparkling immaculate white linens, balcony overlooking the jungle with two natural wood chairs, and two showers, one of which was outdoors. We were delighted to have screens on the balcony doors so we could hear the ocean at night.

Our best meal in Tulum was served in BeTulum restaurant. Great care is put into every dish served.

The breakfasts were outstanding: fresh fruit, freshly squeezed juice, eggs Mexicano style, homemade spreads and jellies, croissants, homemade yogurt and granola, and of course coffee.

My husband and I ran on the beach so we didn't look for the spa or fitness center.

Another aspect of the hotel that we enjoyed is that it is on a nice stretch of beach, out of the congestion, but still within walking distance to restaurants. We took a taxi-which are reasonable- to further destinations, such as the ruins and other restaurants.

Just writing about it makes me want to return. Thank you BeTulum!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear "joanconn",

Thanks for sharing your thorough review about Be Tulum! We try our best to make every guest feel that our hotel is a "little bit of heaven on earth", as you put it. Thank you for choosing us!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a wonderful time at this intimate hotel. Everything from the setting--beach and gardens-- to the architecture, to the comfortable and well appointed room, was very appealing. The spa across the street is beautiful and offers some of the best treatments we've experienced. The bar and restaurants were fun without being loud, the drinks and food were great (better than some of the fancy resorts north of playa). The restaurant service can seem a bit reserved, but if you persevere most of the staff is actually quite helpful and nice. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. There is no gym but running on the gorgeous beach more than made up for it.

Room Tip: 20 and 16 have a rooftop plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRVSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear "FRVSF",

Thank you so much for the nice words! We love to read that you had a great time while staying at Be Tulum! Thanks also for visiting our spa, we can see it was as remarkable an experience as we aimed for.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was our fourth stay at Be Tulum and we always enjoy our stay there, mainly because of our room and the staff. We stayed in room 20 again, the one closest to the beach with the plunge pool on the roof. Tulum is not what it was 10 years ago - it is booming and becoming quite expensive, just a head's up if you haven't been in a while or ever. There are less expensive properties but plan to book well in advance. We booked our visit for next year when we were leaving and couldn't come as early as we wanted because they were already booked with a wedding! The staff at Be Tulum: Daniel, Daniella, Jesus, Juan Carlos, Pia, Montserat, Victor, Nikolas, Angel, Guadalupe...they all know us by name and make us really feel like this is our Tulum home when we are there. Other reviewers have said the hotel is over rated or is too expensive, but Be Tulum is a unique property unlike almost any other that you might find in Tulum. Like I said, we like it mainly for our room and the people. Also, because it is so far south it does feel more remote and is less populus. The spa was open this year and my husband loved it - I toured the spa grounds and it was pretty spectacular. The owners have also acquired the main Pablo Escobar house - Casa Magna. We toured it and it would be great for families or a wedding. There are only 8 rooms so it is very quiet and the beach is also amazing. They maintain all of their properties so well. Staying at Be Tulum is expensive, but it is worth the expense to us because it is a personal experience and a reliable one. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Room 20 or 16 (Ocean) if you can afford it, otherwise an Arena room as close to the beach as possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tulumtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear "tamiam1969",

Thank you for your thorough review of Be Tulum Hotel! Thanks also for mentioning how well did our staff take care of your needs. To make a guest feel like home is one of many objectives we try to achieve each and every time.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had high expectations, but unfortunately Be Tulum was underwhelming. The service was lackadaisical at best, snippy and slow at worst (waiting for 45 minutes for coffee at breakfast seems unnecessary, surely), food and drinks from the restaurant were blah and expensive, and hordes of mosquitoes and a scorpion made their way into our room. Yes, Tulum is a jungle, off-the-grid, beautiful wild place, but for what this hotel charges I'd rather not find predatory arthropods hanging from the curtains.

The beach is by far the hotel's best asset: absolutely beautiful and kept clean of trash, and the rooms are stylish and reasonably well-appointed if a bit over-designed in places. It seems like you're paying for spiffy design without substance to back it up. With a few tweaks here and there this place has real potential, but this go-round it was sadly an unworthy splurge.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear "zj s",

Thanks for the feedback. We are sorry to read you were not as satisfied as you expected to be.
Many of the things you mention are intrinsic to the Tulum area, and we do everything we can to minimize or completely solve them. Every once in a while, however, there is going to be a bug here or there, this is a jungle after all. Anyway, we are sincerely sorry about that.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel occupies a long narrow strip at the far end of the Tulum hotel strip. The accommodation blocks are arranged like the teeth on a zip with a narrow path running down through the centre of the hotel to the beach and bar. (The staff step off the path as you pass - a bit like Downtown Abbey).

This hotel is more about design than function. For example the marble washstands cannot hold water and drench you whilst you wash your hands. The Jacuzzi took all afternoon to fill up and flooded the floor (we only tried it once). Some appliances which other luxury hotels regard as standard eg iron and hair dryer are absent.


Many of the staff [and it would seem lots of the guests] are chosen for their aesthetic appeal - think Italian film directors and Hollywood starlets. If you are getting on in years and rarely see the inside of a gym or a beautician you may feel a little out of place (like us).

This was the only place we encountered in Mexico where the hotel wanted to charge us extra for ordering an expresso for breakfast. Everywhere else we stayed would gladly serve us any type of coffee, tea, hot chocolate or whatever but apparently customer service does not run to an expresso with your "all inclusive" breakfast here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear "Rick S",

Thank you for the review and comments. We are sorry to learn that you were expecting another type of hotel. Tulum is a very special place, and Be Tulum offers a particular way to enjoy it. Perhaps we couldn't fulfill completely what you were looking for, and for that we apologize. We have some items in the restaurant menu, such as espresso coffee, not included in regular breakfasts.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Beach Tulum
The Beach Tulum
#9 of 99 in Tulum
628 reviews
3.2 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#19 of 99 in Tulum
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Encantada Tulum
Encantada Tulum
#1 of 99 in Tulum
458 reviews
3.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#34 of 99 in Tulum
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#44 of 99 in Tulum
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range: £359 - £826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A happy marriage between nature and construction. A boutique hotel for world travelers seeking for total relaxation. Between the jungle and the sea, 20 comfortable, exquisitely designed rooms to enjoy facing the spectacle of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing