We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking some basics, but ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yoga Shala Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoga Shala Tulum
Ranked #22 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
san francisco
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lacking some basics, but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

First of all, let me say that the maids and night watch are delightfully friendly and trustworthy. The rooms are small and simple but have a comfy bed, mosquito net, a little desk and an area to hang clothes. The maid kept my room spotlessly clean. The good pretty much ends there. The communal bathrooms, while also clean, barely function. A small dribble of barely lukewarm water is all you get. The wifi doesn't reach to the rooms on the back of the property, meaning you have to take care of any emails/business in the lounge area (not fun at night when the insects are trying to suck you dry). The hotel claims to be "Eco" but does not offer beach towels even though the beach is right across the street, and does not offer a place to refill water bottles. The room price is relatively inexpensive for being so close to the beach, but what they don't charge in room rates, you end up paying by having to purchase breakfast (highly recommend Il Barino next door) and $15 yoga classes and bike rentals (other hotels offer free bikes to use). The yoga class I took was horrible, taught by an inexperienced teacher who didn't focus on alignment and led an embarrassingly awful "meditation". The yoga studio itself is kind of cool because its more or less outdoors. The class I took was packed full and there was no personal attention from the teacher. Even though the place overall is not that great, it's close proximity to the awesome restaurant at Ahau, the fun dancing at La Zebra, and the yummy coffee at Il Barino make it an OK base for a few days or a week near the beach. I would recommend this place to young people or yoga enthusiasts but if you are looking for real comfort or something more "romantic" this is definitely not the place. And bring your bugspray. You will get eaten alive in the communal shower as they are right next to a mangrove swamp and the Mosquitos hang out in the shower. One last thing, they process their own waste water, so at certain times of the day a horrible sewage stench wafts over the property. I would advise going to the beach in the afternoon to avoid this, especially if your room is near the back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank darcitananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    45
    21
    8
    7
See reviews for
6
53
69
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Me and my mrs tried this hotel for two nights back in August. I cant comment on the yoga part but the hotel was very basic, to the point that i didnt enjoy it. The water for the shower and sink is recycled sea water, It tastes terrible and leaves your skin dry. Also the floor was made with some kind of eco concrete, which stays wet for along time attracting even more mosquitos and feels strange underfoot. We booked a double room and recieved two singles pushed together. In the end, its very close to the beach and is visually very pretty, but funcionally not great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexdavid2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I loved staying at Yoga Shala. It has a beautiful palapa for yoga practice, three times a day classes with good teachers (I took two great classes with Luna). The staff is sooooo warm and kind. Not quite a budget option, but it is one of the best priced hotels in the area (the really budget options are in Tulúm town, far from the beach). Good linens, clean towels, clean bathrooms. The beach is just across the street, going into Ahau (they have some sort of agreement and you can use the beach chairs with just buying a drink, sometimes not even that). If I ever go back to Tulúm I'll stay there again for sure. I met beautiful people there, and the overall energy of the place is great. There are a lot of restaurants from hotels nearby, which are not cheap. It's a long way to Tulúm town, where the cheap places to eat are, but with the cost of the taxis you might as well spend the same going back and forth than eating nearby (taxis there are $110 mnx fixed prices - although I did get to negotiate lots of rides for $70 mnx). The place rents bikes, and has a small restaurant next to it, where you get 10% discount when staying at Yoga Shala.
During rainy season (well into the end of october) I do not recommend staying at the cheapest rooms (next to the palapa), it was really humid.

Room Tip: For a small cost difference stay in the medium priced rooms, the cheapest ones are really humid, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPCSMPCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is just across the street from a breathtaking white sandy beach. I recommend renting a bike at the Shala to explore the area. It's a half hour bike ride to the Mayan temple and into town: there's a big supermarket there.

Rooms are clean and comfortable. Luxurious beds with good mosquito nets. Also screens in front of the windows. Had no problems with mozzies inside the room. Every room has a good fan, no A/C. Lovely garden and common area in front of the building.

WIFI works best in rooms at the front of the building. No internet at night.

There's a juice bar at Yoga Shala which serves Italian coffee and amazing breakfast salads. There's a little kitchen on the premises, you're not allowed to cook diner there. Also, there's no fridge. Plenty of AMAZING restaurants at walking distance. My favorite: Hartwood.

Staff is super friendly. It can be difficult to find staff in the evening, so make sure you let someone know when you plan to arrive. My experience is that everyone (from the cleaning lady to the receptionist) are very willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Yoga classes are professional and on time, 3 times a day. Class room is clean and peaceful... Be sure to dress light as it can get pretty warm.

I recommend this place wholeheartedly for solo travelers, couples and friends!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantiChanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband and it was just an awesome stay. Although the hotel is not at the beach front, it only 10 - 15 meters from the beach. So you can still hear the waves crashing when you lie awake at night.

The rooms were great, and the linens seemed to be brand new. There is no air con but the breeze from the sea keeps the rooms very fresh. You also get towels and there is also a great, modern kitchen where we cooked. But I think the best part is the Yoga classes that take place in the garden, and the amazing buffet breakfasts with European Bread, Jam, Nutella, Fresh Juice and delicious cheese. We also rented their bikes and cycled around Tulum. Highly recommended stay for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evah879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

For a quaint, yoga retreat, Yoga Shala has just the basics of what you'll need. A quiet room with a lovely outdoor yoga studio. My husband and I stayed at La Luna for nine days and decided to spend the last day at Yoga Shala becauase every other place we checked was booked. The rooms were ok, although it was hot despite the ceiling fan plus a portable one used beside the bed.

The bad part about being on the nature reserve side of the road (versus the beach side) is the bugs. The mosquitoes are significantly worse and we did spot a roach in the shower before we went to bed. I also found a scorpion in my suitcase when I got home. Yes, a scorpion. I am 99% sure it crawled in our last night at Yoga Shala as our suitcase was scorpion free at La Luna. My husband and I travel to tropical places quite a bit and should have known to put our bags up on the table provided.

Just something to keep in mind!

I wish I would have taken part of the yoga classes since the rest of the reviews raved about them. We just didn't have the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AubreyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Yoga Shala Tulum is a fantastic, minimalist, yoga oriented retreat. It is on the Nature Preserve side of the road, so very quiet. The atmosphere is relaxed, fun, and the retreat is full of the nicest people I have ever met in a foreign hotel.
They have an access agreement with the Ahau hotel across the road, for fine dining, and glorious beach relaxation or kite-surfing!
The rooms are very minimal, and very quiet. There is an onsite cafe which serves smoothies, meals, and a wicked espresso.
Yoga classes are 4 times daily, with different styles. They also offer any kind of massage body work you can imagine, at additional cost, with some amazingly good practitioners. The yoga instructors are extremely good, and people come from up and down the beach and all over the world for the real deal chakra alignment and focus, with a large side helping of envigorating sweat!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Conan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#18 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
3.9 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#14 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cabanas Zazilkin
Cabanas Zazilkin
#68 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoga Shala Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoga Shala Tulum

Property: Yoga Shala Tulum
Address: Carretera Ruinas-Boca Paila km 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yoga Shala Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a holistic, yoga oriented petit hotel 50m away from Tulum's pristine beaches offering the most yoga classes in Tulum on a regular basis. Set amongst luscious tropical gardens, there are 15 rooms available, some with private bathroom, some share the communal bathrooms. We also have an onsite a health orientated restaurant, clothing boutique, massage room and there are bicycles for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Yoga Shala Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoga Shala Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing