We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place !”
Review of Yoga Shala Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yoga Shala Tulum
Ranked #37 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here in November.

Owner and staff are super friendly.

We stayed in a private room downstairs for 2 nights and then moved up to a shared shower room upstairs. Both are great.

A close walk across the road to the beach.

I took the evening yoga classes which were great, the atmosphere and teacher made it an experience.

Walk every evening to restaurants. Use front desk to get a driver to go to downtown.

Fun and safe.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mi_travely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Yoga Shala Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

One of the many yoga places in Tulum, the Yoga Shala offers at least 3 different types of yoga lessons provided by their expert yoga teachers. The Yoga Shala is centrally located so you can walk to it from most hotels in the Tulum hotel zone. The venue and props such as mats are impeccably clean. Students include all levels, from first timers to more experienced yogis.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoltan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Yoga Shala Tulum is a serious yoga place. The morning starts with exquisite kundalini followed by mainly vinyasha practice throughout the day. The accommodation is simple and very welcoming. The hotel does not have its own restaurant but Mario next door serves fine breakfast and fresh juices (at a discount to Yoga Shala customers). Please go there for lunch also, the salads are really good. The access to the beach is through the wonderful hotel Ahau, good cuisine, friendly service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TIINA I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This little gem on the jungle side of the coolest, hippest part of the beach attracts an eclectic group of travelers who are more interested in experiencing unspoiled living rather than the 5 star, overblown, expensive version elsewhere. The rooms are darling with hanging beds and shared bathrooms, some with large screened windows overlooking the jungle. Yoga classes are top notch with skilled instructors that know their stuff.

When you come here, be prepared to ratchet down your nervous system and get away from television and easy access to the internet. Having to walk from your room to get on FB allows you to do what so many of us have forgotten to do when we travel...converse with other travelers in the common area. So what if you're not on the beach? After you've been on the beach all day taking advantage of the amenities of the more expensive hotels knowing you are paying a fraction of their cost to just cross the road to sleep on the other side, it feels like a sweet deal and you're getting peace and quiet from the wind and the waves. It's a bohemian haven with little paths and pretty foliage, a nice boutique; Margot at the desk knows everything about what to do, where to go...and she speaks several languages to boot! You're not going to get this experience at this price anywhere else on the beach. Less electronic diversion allows you to look up to the Mayan sky and the stars here are incredible!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ethrelke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you go to Tulum for small scale luxury, this is not your place. Don't get me wrong, this CAN be a great hotel, but beware what you are booking. Most rooms, to start of, are not ensuite and that's not always clear on the booking sites. Showers are salt water, a nice idea, and hardly stay warm and working, not so great. Shares a beach with the neighbours at see, so you have a great view if nature, but not the beach. Very small scale with excellent advice. You're into yoga, mind sessions and massage? Great! But if you're more into relaxing anonymously in a clean room with a quite beach, this isn't the perfect place. The beach is beautiful but quite busy here. (Tip, the one NEXT to the ruins is perfect.) Hotel price was okay but the amenities are scarce. Internet was free (great!) but doesn't reach into your room. The coffee and smooth bar is low key and tasty, but expensive. Luckily it's easy to get a taxi. Bikes rentals are nice bit expensive and you can only use them safely by daylight.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erickok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Yoga Shala for two nights and we think it was way too expensive for what we got. I would say it's a place to go with friends when you think of doing yoga mainly. It's not really a place for a couple as it's far from the city and it's not on the beach side.

Overall we had a nice stay. The room was nice but not quiet for a couple.

Room Tip: Don't take room 9
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie1Ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was my first time in Tulum but not my last. We stayed at Yoga Shala for a week in January looking for an escape from winter.We aren't the 'all inclusive' types and this place was the opposite of that. A nice boutique hotel. The staff here were very friendly (a shout out to the receptionist from Montreal who organized our excursions for us!) and the room and the property were clean and well maintained. There are two cute cats that live here that will join you if you sit in the outdoor lounge area.
We had a room with private bath at the top of the stairs. I loved the bed - it was a king bed suspended from the ceiling by ropes, and covered in a diaphanous mosquito net. It was like being in a cradle. Super comfortable. I had a great sleep every night.
The shower looked out into the jungle behind the property. The room was open to allow the ocean breeze in at night.
We bought a yoga pass so that we could attend as many classes as we wanted that week. We ended up going to four classes. All were challenging with experienced instructors.
The beach was right across the street through the Ahau hotel property - it wasn't a problem not to be right on the beach.
You can rent bikes here for $10 / day. We rode out to the Tulum ruins and the Santa Fe beach (about 30 min)
Anyway, it was great. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 & 12 are the only ones with hammock-beds.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissyS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#67 of 98 in Tulum
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#72 of 98 in Tulum
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
0.1 mi away
Life Source Retreats
Life Source Retreats
#15 of 129 in Tulum
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azucar Hotel
Azucar Hotel
#42 of 89 in Tulum
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoga Shala Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoga Shala Tulum

Address: Carretera Ruinas-Boca Paila km 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £68 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yoga Shala Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a holistic, yoga oriented petit hotel 50m away from Tulum's pristine beaches offering the most yoga classes in Tulum on a regular basis. Set amongst luscious tropical gardens, there are 15 rooms available, some with private bathroom, some share the communal bathrooms. We also have an onsite a health orientated restaurant, clothing boutique, massage room and there are bicycles for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Yoga Shala Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoga Shala Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing