We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and nice”
Review of Yoga Shala Tulum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yoga Shala Tulum
Ranked #36 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Me & my girlfriend spent 6 days in Yoga Shala in May. We had a cosy room on the ground floor with our own bathroom. The place was clean, and people there were very nice. A decent breakfast for 5 USD each morning to get us started, maybe some yoga during the day, and always a very pleasant chat with the couple running the place. Want to explore the surroundings? Rent a bike for another 5 USD per day. And it was quiet at night. What more can you ask going to Tulum to chill? For partying, you might wanna check other places. Considering the affordable price, this is an ideal place to prolong your stay in Tulum. Since its not on the beach but across the road, you also get some time off from the wind and waves. Oh, and when you are pointed to a restaurant called Loco something, just go there and treat yourself to as many pescadillas as you can eat. I am still drulling...

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja_y_Luka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

yoga shala is WONDERFUL!!!!
it is a haven......a tranquil retreat setting,surrounded by beauty, the sounds of the ocean, lovely yoga, and wonderful people....

my husband and i decided to stay at yoga shala for our entire 2 week vacation....and were delighted that we did! along the road of many hotels, yoga shala was towards the end, it was more tranquil, there were less people and the atmosphere more peaceful.

each night we were lulled to sleep by the ocean, yoga shala is just across the street, only steps away from the turquoise waves. the yoga studio is delightful, and with 20 classes a week, you can create your own yoga retreat, as we did. the teachers are wonderful and have great knowledge on postures and the philosophy.

our room was lovely, and although the rooms were full for some of the time we were there, everyone respects a quiet environment, and so we were able to sleep peacefully. everyone that passed through were lovely, it was very easy to talk to all the many nationalities and diverse people.

gary and akal, the managers of yoga shala, were absolutely delightful people. they would do anything for you and their hospitality was present with everyday that we spent there. they are easy going and a pleasure to get to know. art and margarita who work there are also lovely. we were always greeted by their charm and a welcoming smile!

although it is not directly on the ocean, it didn't seem to matter. in fact, because of the wind and copious amounts of sand (!), we were glad not to be sleeping by the beach. it would of been too breezy, and everything would of been filled with the sand in no time......so it was nice to be on the beach during the day and get a break from the wind at night!

i would definitely recommend yoga shala for any vacation, long or short in tulum.......it is indeed a haven where you can unwind, relax, rejuvenate, and be........

thanks to gary and akal for creating this vision!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayantii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Hi there,
We recently came from Tulum, we were staying at Shala Yoga hotel. I can say enough on how wonderful the experience was. The owners Gary and Akal are great people, their work at the hotel is excellent. They supply healthy breakfast and also it is by far the best place to get a relax nap. Beside, the Kundalini yoga was fantastic. Akal The teacher was very knowledgeable about the kundalini yoga. It is highly recommended establishment.
Thanks guys for the great experience and We´ll be back soon,
Sincerely

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrthn_op
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

It's no wonder who garrys establishment is always full even towards the end of high season. If your going to tulum book this place a few weeks in advance. Most guests that stay here have ended up extending there stay which is th highest compliament. Yoga shala is way cheaper than any of the main hotels at the beech. I'll definitely be back thanks garry!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rohughsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Gary and his team are just AWESOME! It was a pleasure to stay there for a few nights. The staff is really nice, the room was perfect and the beach is just accross the street! Perfect spot to do yoga and relax also!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxdo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Loved this place for all its beauty, the environment was jungle like with the sound of the ocean just a distance away. The quality of attention paid to guests was wonderful. Beautiful bedding, wonderful breakfasts, fantastic yoga palapa and instructors - it was all better than good. Gary and Akal are wonderful hosts and we look forward to returning to this eco relaxing paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaseOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Highly recommend this beautiful gem. I didn't stay here because I only discovered it when I was already in Tulum. But the Yoga classes are fantastic and the spirit of the place is beautiful. The grounds are charming and the common bathrooms and showers are immaculate so I imagine it is a wonderful, peaceful, quiet and healing place to stay. It certainly was a wonderful place to go for yoga just steps from the beach!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneloveBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
4.1 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#45 of 98 in Tulum
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shambala Petit Hotel
Shambala Petit Hotel
#65 of 98 in Tulum
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hostel Che Tulum
Hostel Che Tulum
#15 of 134 in Tulum
194 reviews
4.2 mi away
MayaYoga Hostel
MayaYoga Hostel
#43 of 134 in Tulum
29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Life Source Retreats
Life Source Retreats
#17 of 134 in Tulum
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoga Shala Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoga Shala Tulum

Address: Carretera Ruinas-Boca Paila km 7.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range: £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yoga Shala Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a holistic, yoga oriented petit hotel 50m away from Tulum's pristine beaches offering the most yoga classes in Tulum on a regular basis. Set amongst luscious tropical gardens, there are 15 rooms available, some with private bathroom, some share the communal bathrooms. We also have an onsite a health orientated restaurant, clothing boutique, massage room and there are bicycles for hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Yoga Shala Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoga Shala Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing