We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens
Ranked #68 of 81 Tulum B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Spent there two nights and everything was perfect - beautiful cabana rooms with great decorations and hammocks in the porch, stunning garden with a pool and very helpful staff.

Tulum is not a classic small compact town so everything is quite far - but beaches and ruins are reachable by bike which you can rent. The only unpleasant experience is that we had a neighbor in the room upstairs and could hear her every step and cough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallesta_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    38
    26
    16
    27
See reviews for
21
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The staff were really helpful and friendly, despite the language barrier (the owner speaks excellent English). We enjoyed sitting on our terrace in the hammock and the free coffee, and the free coffee!
Thanks for a great stay.

We had a hire car so the location worked out really well, but if you are walking then you'll be making use of taxi's or your feet a lot to get around.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Praetorian85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is located at the end of the town so not the closest to anything and the path to the hotel is in bad shape but when you finally get to the hotel it is truly amazing. It is so peaceful and lush with vegetation. The cabanas are ample and very clean. Everything is so cute and truly sustainable. The pool is clean and very nice as well. Everything was so wonderful and the staff is the friendliest I have ever met. They were very accommodating to us changing dates twice! Miguel is great! I just wish we could have stayed longer to try the food but the restaurant looks in great shape as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kderas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The place is great, the grounds are beautiful and full of lush gardens and a swimming pool. The cabañas are very beautiful and comfortable. The manager is a nice very helpful guy. For the price this is a great place to stay in Tulum. It's approximately one kilometer from town but there is no sign on the road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axr42014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The grounds are beautiful and full of lush gardens and a swimming pool. The cabañas are very comfortable and quiet. Miguel, the manager was a nice guy and was very helpful. For the price this is a great place to stay in Tulum. It's a bit out of town so if you're not traveling in a car I recommend finding something closer to town.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachstylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I should first say that the grounds of this hotel are lovely. The cabanas are beautiful - the garden is fantastic - the pool serene.

Had we been in Tulum longer we would have most likely enjoyed our time here.

However, we had a really rotten experience upon our arrival. We came in during the middle of the night on the ADO bus from Belize. We had chosen to reserve a room with Green Tulum because it seemed they were the only place in town that was a reasonable price, yet had a "24 hour reception" (as noted on their website, April 2013).

We wrote them an email and tried calling repeatedly to let them know of our strange arrival time.

Unfortunately, when the taxi driver took us to Green Tulum, we embarked on a 10-15 minute argument with the proprietor (intoxicated, in spanish, make sure you are prepared), about how we were not allowed in (despite that we had paid). We sweated for a while but after showing him our payment receipt at least four times, he finally caved and then very angrily unlocked the gates and took us to our room.

I understand that arriving in the middle of the night is not ideal for an innkeeper. BUT, if your we website indicates a "24 hour reception," folks like us mistakenly expect to be welcomed overnight. Not the case.

So - a beautiful spot if you can arrive at a normal hour. If you can not, I would strongly advise that you call and speak with someone in advance and ensure your arrival time will be acceptable. Otherwise, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebecca_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tulum hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My boyfriend Mitch and I stayed at Green Tulum in early February. When we arrived, we were treated with a warm welcome. The owner is a kind, unassuming man who is there to help or answer questions when you need him. There are great bikes you can hire to ride into town (which isn't too far). The rooms are clean, and very beautiful. Like a swiss log cabin in Mexico!! There is also a great pool and a cute little bar. Thank you so much for having us!!

oh and it's also much cheaper than staying directly on the beach. You could make up the money you save on accommodation by spending on great restaurants on the beach (only a short cab away or a bike ride).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliewaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
Hotel Kin Ha Pueblo
#77 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.5 mi away
Uolis Nah
Uolis Nah
#70 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#45 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Luna Gitana
Hotel La Luna Gitana
#78 of 90 in Tulum
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.1 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lo Nuestro Petite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens

Property: Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens
Address: Calle Coba Lote 4 | MZA 37 esquina Puerto Morelos, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born from the green of its surroundings and the authenticity of its structures. Green- Tulum Cabanas& Gardens, in the heart of Tulum, the last virgin stretch in the Riviera Maya. The hotel has 13 artisan cabanas with two floors, a total of 26 rooms. The surroundings are unbeatable, a natural paradise of flora and fauna, with secret nooks were one can devour a book, chat by candle light or simply close your eyes....and feel the Mayan magnetism. The swimming pool makes the hot sunny days a desired element, in order to dive into the cool water, take a "siesta" in one of the sun beds and ask for a cocktail at dusk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulum Cabanas & Gardens Hotel Tulum
Green Tulum Cabanas And Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing