We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”

Restaurante Las Estrellas
Ranked #32 of 389 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, International, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Las Estrellas Restaurant, located within Cabanas La Luna premises, is like a secret place still to be discovered. It offers a blend of fresh local ingredients with worldwide ideas creating innovative dishes. The beautiful setting of the restaurant reminds of places somewhere in the Middle East, but it stays in the same time truly Mexican. During the day, guests at Las Estrellas can enjoy the beautiful clear view of the Mexican Caribbean while savoring a light, fresh lunch. Every evening our chefs create three or four special dishes. Our fresh catch of the day is always a big hit. Don't miss our famous BBQ on Wednesdays and the new Mexican theme evenings on Fridays; Mexican dishes that will take you beyond the typical tacos, fajitas and guacamole dishes.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The place is nice, but a bit weird as it tries to mix North African decor with Cabanas. The food was good, not too pricey, but the menu we felt didn't have great variety. Staff was very nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GdBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you thought of your experience as good but not great. Our concept is simple: blending fresh local ingredients with worldwide ideas to create innovative dishes. We are happy that you liked our concept. The setting of our restaurant reminds indeed of places somewhere in the Middle East. Most of our guests feel like they are beneath the glistening stars when they walk in. It is just a twist of Middle East which comes back in one of our dishes in our menu. We are glad that you appreciated our services and home to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    96
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A perfect lunch ands dinner spot”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were staying in Cabanas La Luna and ate at the restaurant several times. We couldn't fault the food and ambience. Every meal was delicious and we were amazed by the quality of the food on the BBQ night which cannot be missed if you are staying in Tulum!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank davemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you choose La Luna for your stay, but are even more thrilled that you loved our restaurant and kept coming back for more! We hope to welcome you back to our tables again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yukon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Beach Club with a GREAT lunch!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We decided to try a new beach club every day. We hit this one on day three and have gone the past five! The lunch specials are amazing! The food is excellent. What a great kitchen! The delicious smells at lunchtime, with fresh fruit stacked everywhere, clean kitchen and happy workers! We had grilled BBQ octopus salad with fresh spinach, pecans, sliced apple and crispy fresh asparagus. The grouper was at least two inches thick, cooked to perfection, with lentils. The scallops in a bean sauce was heaven. Shrimp tacos with guacamole unreal. Carlos has been our waiter daily and is always cheerful, speaks excellent English, has a good sense of humour. I don't think we'll be going to a different beach club this trip! Oh, and the Coba fruit juice drink made with Chaya, pineapple, and I don't know what else, is fantastic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iceqween13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Las Estrellas here. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed us so much that you kept coming back for more! You described our dishes so well, I hope that it encourages others to give us a try. Thanks again! We hope to welcome you back to our tables soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique dishes”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Unique foods/pairing. We really enjoyed trying something different. perfect ocean views. staff was very hospitable.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurante Las Estrellas, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our menu selection, as well as the style of the restaurant. The beaches of Tulum are gorgeous and should be showcased. We hope to welcome you back for another meal soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantástico ”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Went to have dinner with a party of 18 as a pre celebration of my daughter's Jen with Patrick
Following the research and based on the reviews here on trip advisor we selected this place to end a day of adventure and discovery of the riviera maya particularly TULUM
after a long day and nice tour of the amazing ruins we ended at this magical place. From the beginning when we started selecting the menu and the entertainment Kuamy Vela was spectacular, he was responsive, knowledgeable and efficient. From guiding us in the deselection of a terrific menu that included a great ceviche, incredible shrimp in a combination sauce of hot and sweet and another great appetizer calamari with chipotle sauce, all served family style as we were all in one table at the terrace just as sunset started and the magic of the surf, the sand and the natural mangrove plants that surrounded us. Each one of our guests selected a main dish that could be fish of the day or chicken, every one was served promptly and given their choice of main dish, besides the food as every one raved, I know that Kuamy had only one helper from the kitchen but he did it. My fish was grouper in a very unique sauce some how similar to Veracruz style but with major improvements hard to describe but the tomatoes were not overwhelming and it had a little chile a nice hot kick, the vegetables were perfectly done and the couscous was excellent. Like my comment on the fish people kept complementing the chicken and the drinks, and then dessert, we were served an apple crisp just out of the oven with a coconut ice cream drizzled with Kaluha I was pampered even more and was given one of their signature ice cream " chocolate with chile" awesome you must try it.
Kuamy also arranged for music I gave him freedom to choose and he produced a winner, a trio not of Mexican music but a super cosmopolitan group that played from tango to lounge music we were able to have a conversation and the music complemented the meal incredibly. We really did not want to leave and many of us are making plans to return and stay in the Cabanas right by the ocean. The co owner Renata was super gracious and un intrusive she knows that they have a winner and a great staff and a star in Kuamy Vela. I would be remiss not to say this was the best meal of a one week trip that included several 5 star locations this was the best and their prices were very reasonable

Helpful?
Thank Ikemx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Las Estrellas also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurante Las Estrellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing