We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cenote Encantado
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Malca(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NEST Tulum(Tulum)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
26
8
4
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
8
4
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared kitchentulum beachgalialeoelectricityecowifiyogaoceanhammocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Avoid. Like the plague. Owner met us in a speedo, gave my girlfriend an unwelcome and overly long full frontal hug, and wouldn't even speak to me, but invited her to stay "forever". torn and leaky tents, 5 feet apart, unmaintained outhouses that are extremely close to the tents, and the "yoga space" is perpetually occupied by the frequently nude and overweight owner, and a bevy of drugged-up vegans, who will chastise you for preparing animal products in the "kitchen", if you dare to do so. It's a shame, this property could be nice, but it's a trashy and trampled piece of buggy jungle. Much better lodgings close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank marcopolo275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galia L, Owner at Cenote Encantado, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Hello, my name is Galia Lorberfeld, owner of Cenote Encantado-Camping Village

I am so sorry you had that terrible experience at my place. But thank you so much for your review, since that helped me confirm other comments as well as things that I saw for myself.

Pedro (the last manager) is NOT longer with us, and I apology for his behaviour with your wife and with you, and not only that , also the bad management of all the campsite as well.

We have now a new group of people that are kind and healthy taking care of our dear place, as well as myself all the times in the year that i spent there... As well as a whole new cleaning team, the camping looks so different already, and we changed our gear as well as sheets and pillows.
The difficult and extreme weather of the area really damage the things so fast!

We don't have any "rules" for what people like to eat, and you can use our kitchen to cook anything your preference, with no judgement at all.

We believe, everybody should have respect for who they are and what they choose to be, as long as we respect each other's space.

Again Im so embarrassed of the way Pedro treated you guys, and wish one day we have a new opportunity to host you so you can see our real philosophy of respect and communion with nature in a clean and healthy environment.

Sincerely yours, Galia Lorberfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed here because we only needed a few hours sleep before we took off very early to Si'an Kaan and Punta Allen. It is cheap compared to other places in Tulum - and you get what you pay for.

It looks better at the webpage than in real life - and when we were recieved by the owner to check-in he was not on top of his game. Anyway we were shown to the tent, where we left our backpacks, and got the "tour" around. There is a cenote with direct access from the campsite, but when told that there was an alligator - timid though, as told - we skipped the idea of a swim...!!

The spirit of the place is very eco-minded and like going back to the 1960's - with a big cabin for yoga and meditation, only power for a few hours in the evening, showers out in the free with 4 pieces of fabric to cover up (not succeeding), a eco-toilet where you lift a lid - sit down, do your thing, put sand on top with some eco-tablets and then close (and a devise to hit the insects with while you were sitting in the hole....ohh missed to tell about the smell...go figure..), etc.... A bit toooo much for me - and not the impression I got from the webpage.

Only positive aspects: Access to the beach through a looked door on the other side of the road, and the kitchen.

We will not go back.....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vennekilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I found Galia and Pedro perfect hosts as well as extremely interesting people. Cenote Encantado is a breath of fresh air at the end of the hotel zone. The communial kitchen was spotlessly clean and the tent was very comfortable and the shower was excellent. I did use the boat and rowed out to the middle of the cenote for a swim. The beach is just accross the road down a narrow access and there you can walk for miles. At night you can lie in the tent and hear the waves crashing on the shore. I was very lucky and was invited to take part in the Temazcal or Sweat lodge. I enjoyed my stay and hope to go back one day

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kush-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Cenote Encantado is a camping villiage a little more than 10km from the junction down the Boca Paila Highway. It's about 1/2km past Om (which you can't miss) on the right. They now have a sign displaying their name, so that helps a lot in finding the place. Most cab drivers don't know it.

The village honors your privacy. No one approached our tent. The community kitchen is where all gathered for jovial conversation. 1/2 the tents were filled when we stayed and besides our nightly gatherings at the kitchen it felt very peaceful.

Without a car, the area at the end of the hotel zone can feel remote. It's easy to get around via rental car or cab but the busses tend to be unreliable. Some days we felt stranded, but there's nothing wrong with being stranded on the beach. We walked each day up the road or along the beach to a nearby restaurant for meals. There was a small grocery nearby and common kitchen provided, but we didn't feel like cooking. A good selection of restaurants are within reach of a short bike ride.

It feels like the jungle. Bug spray required. The grounds are shared with little blue crabs that are fun to watch as they scurry around and immediately hide as you approach. Iguanas hang out here and there. Birds grabbing their meals from the brush. I love the pitter patter of a lizard as he crawls up the exterior of my tent. The tents are comfortable, though it is hot. Go jump in the ocean or a cenote to cool down and you'll be fine.

In the middle of the night, when the generator turns off, we could hear the sea. The rolling waves are a perfect lullaby and perhaps my fondest memory. Laying in my little tent beside my husband, hearing wind rustle the trees above but somehow never breeze through the tent. Fawna silhouetted by the moonlit sky, barely visible. Soft, rolling waves of the dark sea suddenly apparent in the quiet darkness.

The rate is 160 pesos per person per night (a little less than 30USD each night). The accomodation includes a tent with air mattress and fan, sheets (no towels), access to beach via a narrow path, use of bikes, kitchen equipment, dry storage and shared cooler for your food, access to nearby cenote (unnamed?) with path on premesis, meditation room on premisis.

The hosts are Pedro and Galia. Two artists so welcoming and soft that just thinking of them recalls the relaxting calm of our trip. We bought a CD from Pedro, wish I would've bought all 3.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aBlueMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews