We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“even better second time around”
Review of Luv Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luv Tulum
Ranked #27 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Have just come back from the hotel where we spent 10 glorious days in an ocean front room the hotel was even better than last time and the room had just been recently upgraded and even more luxurious than i remembered and really loved the new restaurant which still has a great vibe and the same simple delicous food the position on the beach is still the best in tulum and as usual great staff so helpfull which made our holiday a truly wonderfull experience cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: we stayed in a room called Sol even tough all but two rooms are on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nick878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Do not book this hotell !! We arrived 9/1 2014 we had booked one week there. After we payed the
man who worked there,he told us that there where a fued going on , That someone had taken the restaurant and some of their cabanas, so for breakefast thy served a litte fruit and a tiny tiny Little bowl of yoghuth. Te cabana was moisty and mouldy.
water on the floor, and smelled really bad. we told the man emedeately, that we wanted tho check out the next morning, and we said that it is okej if we could have 75% back but they would not give anything back. So we have payed 2500 us dollars for one night and they wont give anything back. booking .com said that they tried to help us, i dont Think they did. And if you go whith your family, It is a lot of junkies, and you can smell mariuana. LUV TULUM is my worst experience ever.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
7  Thank kent963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was our 4th Tulum hotel and in many ways our favourite. We stayed for 10 days. There are a few things you would be best knowing but I do recommend it (although I hear that they intend to raise their rates again).

PROS
Location – well what more can you ask than to open your door and walk straight onto the beach? We had no idea that it was just about still the season for turtle hatchlings so we were delighted to be there when some did hatch.
Staff – they were great. I lost my glasses in the sea and was immediately helped to find an optician and had more made in 2 hours! Cannot remember his name, but the waiter was also very friendly.

FYI – unlike every other hotel they do not have a Happy Hour for cocktails. No idea why not as it simply meant we went next door, but they don’t.

Go to the hotels next door or over the road for food.

Rooms – we had a great room. The mattress was rather softer than we are used to and there was no headboard for sitting up and reading, but the shower was very good. It is PITCH black when you turn the lights out so if you get up in the night take a plug in night light.

CONS
Food – given that there are so many alternatives we were surprised that the choice of food was so sparse. Breakfast was inadequate with
Breakfast – if you have it included check what is included. We were very disappointed by the food in general and went next door for most meals, but as breakfast was included we stuck with it, only to find that we were billed for additional items which frankly were all that made it sufficient. Every single morning the waiter apologised that they did not have orange juice and we had rather weak pineapple, we asked after 5 days whether oranges were out of season as we could get orange juice everywhere else, but he just said no. We had a few smoothies instead but found later that we were charged extra for them. Toast seems to be an alien menu item to them so they give you cuts off a French stick which are either untoasted or like large croutons and not at all satisfying. There is a shop 1 minute away that sells normal flat bread but any requests for it were not seen as serious. The amount if butter was so small that every morning we had to ask for more several times and the jam was not nice; I finally bought my own honey from the shop and took it to breakfast each morning.
What they don’t tell you

Lights – the reason that it is so dimly lit in the main house and in your rooms is because the turtle hatchlings are VERY easily confused by lights; therefore, any light could cause them to hatch and then head the wrong way and ultimately die. So please draw your curtains if you have a light on and don’t use the outside lights in hatching season.

All that said, we would stay again if we could have the same room. I think it was called Luna.

Room Tip: Luna is a beach front room, it is worth trying to get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I guess you either get Tulum or you don't !
This was my 4th visit and I love it at Luv Tulum.
My room was stunning and the view off the hook!
There is no mains power or water in this the most lovely and natural part of Tulum.
And yet the water flowed better, and the lights stayed on better than any other place I have stayed in this area.
Due to I believe a good solar system.
To cap it off I met such lovely people who the hotel seems to attract.
Thanks to all the team for the best holiday ever Paul Windle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We started off on the wrong foot when they emailed us 2 weeks before we arrived to inform us they'd been a dispute over land and they'd lost their restaurant and the room we were supposed to be staying in which was a King Ocean Front. Looking at other reviews on Trip Advisor they'd known for ages so that was disappointing they left it until 2 weeks before we arrived!
The room we got was described as the 2 Queen Beds. They are not Queen Beds they are Double Beds. Also, there was supposed to be internet in the room and there wasn't! We had to go down to the restaurant to get a signal.
The room is basically a Cabana so you expect it to be basic, no TV or Radio, no Air Con etc.
So I would sum it up by saying, Nice but very Basic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

we have just got back from spending 2.5 fantastic weeks at Luv. what a perfect place to relax and connect with the spirit of Tulum. unlike most properties Luv is on the beach. you wake up to the sound of the sea, the breeze and the tropical birds. we could not fault Luv in any way. the staff are extremely attentive and Luv is run superbly with a very personal touch. nothing is left to chance. a simply wonderful experience..GO!!

Room Tip: cielo is my pick of the rooms. huge open plan tree house with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have been in Luv Tulum in october and we had an awsome time. Luv Tulum is a smal and very individual hotel. All the staff was very friendly and helpfull. We nearly ate every day at the restaurant. The food was great and the prices very resonable. Luv Tulum ist not a luxury accommodation but it is very charming and you really get good value for your money. We loved the beach and the relaxed atmosphere in Tulum and definitly want to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 463LauraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#40 of 99 in Tulum
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 99 in Tulum
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
2.4 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#26 of 99 in Tulum
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Tulum Hotel
Be Tulum Hotel
#25 of 99 in Tulum
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luv Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luv Tulum

Address: Carretera Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £166 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luv Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with 12 individually designed rooms, on the beach in Tulum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luv Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing