We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in love with Luv”
Review of Luv Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luv Tulum
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a great find -- it's very reasonably priced and a great value and bang for your buck. The staff is pleasant and really works hard to make sure your stay is great. Even if it's full (which it was during our stay), it doesn't feel crowded. Rooms are clean, rustic, and feel very unique. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. We stayed in two different rooms, Cielo and Agua. Cielo is huge, and although set back from the beach, still amazing. Agua has great views. You wake up each morning with the ocean breeze coming through the windows and the sound of waves. Included continental breakfast is nothing special, but a nice touch. You can order other items for extra (huevos rancheros is a more substantial choice). The food is good for lunch, so if you don't want to go anywhere and instead grab a quick bite and respite from the sun, it's a go-to find. I can't wait to return to Tulum and stay at Luv.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nwnyc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at LUV during 3rd week of February. We loved Tulum! And we really loved LUV - What a great little gem!! Amenities exceeded my expectations - given their off-the-grid location!. The staff was great. Rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in Fuego and in Sol for our last night. We preferred Fuego due to larger a bathroom and front terrace. The fact that there's no big restaurant at LUV is actually a plus. The small restaurant is just enough to have breakfast (hand made organic tortillas with honey were great!)/ lunch / snack if you want to stay put - but the hotel remains calm and quiet and private; and there are so many places to eat within a minute's walk... Our top choices for good food were: 1. Hartwood - worth the wait; 2.Villas LaEstralla - real Italian food .i.e. home made pasta w/ Mexican influences. I'm not a pasta person but the cochinita ravioli were to die for! Grouper carpaccio was heavenly. Our dinner at Casa Banana was pretty good, and Casa Violetta (next door to LUV) was great for lunch and afternoon drinks / smoothies. Best drinks - such as Mojito or Caipirinha with freshly squeezed cane sugar were at LaZebra. Most disappointing restaurant - food- and drink-wise was Ziggi's. Overall - a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We're looking forward to returning next Spring.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lulu341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Super nice hotel. Roomy, clean bungalows right on the nicest part of Tulum's beach. Very nice staff who will help you the best they can. Breakfast is good but pretty small. You get mixed fruit with yoghurt and müsli and also coffee and juice. For 50 or 100 pesos you'll get more, like scrambled eggs, BLT etc.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor for better view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mippz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I traveled to Tulum in Febraury. Luv Tulum was perfect. We stayed in the Amor room, right on the ocean. The most gorgeous sunrises every single morning. I would highly recommend staying here. It's towards the southern side, on the south beaches which was perfect for us. The private shower was also perfect.

Have dinner at Casa Banana - on the jungle side while you are here, delicious!

Room Tip: The Amor room was lovely but really any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trudesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I just spent 7 nights at Luv and we had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Luna room, which is part of the front unit on the ground floor, and could literally open our door and walk 20 feet into the water! The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was spacious, clean and smelled just fine. The shower was separated from the toilet area, which is one of my concerns before booking (as there seemed to be no pictures of the bathroom), but it was done up nice as well. We had perfect weather where it wasn't that hot and the stiff breeze kept the mosquito's away. Now this is true for all of Tulum, but the further from the beach you are, the hotter it will be and the less wind you will get. I'd just keep that in mind if you are there when it is really hot and humid as most places won't have A/C.

We found the staff to be courteous, professional and very accommodating. The kitchen opened back up for serving hot food on the second day we were there and we couldn't have asked for better food. The fish tacos were absolutely amazing! We thought the breakfast was good as well. My wife usually had the fruit yogurt and loved it and I usually went with the fried eggs that came with refried black beans. Both were really good. The service was great too, but realize you are not going to a 5 star resort where staff is going to wait on you hand and foot. Most of the time you will need to go in and ask for a drink/food at the little dining area, but they will bring it to you on the beach which is nice (and if your lucky to catch someone then you can order from the beach as well).

The location was great as well. The beach road of Tulum is essentially 6k of little hotels with some restaurants and shops on the road. Luv is towards the end of the road, which makes it a little less crowded and quiet. There are many good restaurants to walk to though and we agree with many others that the stretch of sand in front of the hotel was one of the nicest parts of the beach. There always seemed to be beach chairs to relax on in the sun or shade. There was just one day where we used our porch chairs as all the others were full, but that was only the case for a little while as most people would leave to do some sort of exploring.

Our goal was for straight relaxation and we definitely got it. One day we rented bikes and road to the ruins, but besides that it was wake up, take a dip in the ocean, eat an awesome breakfast, lounge, eat amazing fish tacos, lounge, try a new restaurant for dinner and then back to the beach porch to watch the waves roll in underneath the beautiful Tulum sky. Simply an amazing vacation through and through. I will be adding some photos soon for the proof, but in the meantime, thanks Luv, we can't wait to come back and visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luna room which was awesome, like you are sleeping on the beach, but in a comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Luv Tulum in January and place was wonderful. We had the amor room which faced the ocean which I highly recommend. I would especially like to thank Pedro and Juan who were friendly and very helpful throughout the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from an amazingly beautiful trip and stayed again at Luv Tulum. The people at Luv Tulum are beautiful and welcoming as the ocean and sunshine. I was so comfortable with my room and the included breakfast was a healthy and nice way to start the day. (Muchismas gracias para cafe descafeinado!!) Waking up on the beach to the sunrise over the ocean, wow! I am so grateful to Luv Tulum for another great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suenos Tulum
Suenos Tulum
#29 of 98 in Tulum
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#42 of 98 in Tulum
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.5 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#3 of 98 in Tulum
290 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tata Tulum
Tata Tulum
#55 of 98 in Tulum
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luv Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luv Tulum

Address: Carretera Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £88 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luv Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with 12 individually designed rooms, on the beach in Tulum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luv Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing