We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing beach”
Review of Luv Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luv Tulum
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and amazing beach”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed solo at Luv Tulum for four nights recently and had a great time! The beach and location are fantastic. The public areas - beach beds, outdoor/indoor seating for restaurant, lobby, etc - are all beautiful and lovely, and well maintained being swept daily. The rooms were great, I ended up seeing three and each was a bit different. Some had smaller beds which would not be ideal for a couple or a very tall person though, but the king bed was fantastic. Everything was clean and done daily. My one note was that these are cabanas so they are not 100% keeping bugs out even with screens on the doors (there are small gaps in the structure). But I didn't actually see any bugs in my room and had no issues with mosquitoes even though there are nets. The charm of Tulum is the rustic nature, so this is part of it. I would definitely return to this hotel!

There is some construction going on during the daytime right now as Luv appears to be expanding. It was slightly annoying when sitting in the sun on the daybeds at times if they were using power tools, but it did not at all disturb me in my room or wake me up. Personally it didn't bother me, and I only noticed it when I sat closest to that side of the property.

Room Tip: I actually preferred the rooms off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    76
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
52
179
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had the most fantastic experience at Luv Tulum!! We just got back and can't wait to return. We stayed in Luna. this room is steps from the water. Absolutely spectacular!!! We went to bed to sounds of the ocean waves and a constant breeze that was the perfect temperature for sleeping. We awoke to a spectacular sunrise.

The staff was attentive and responsive to every request. Though you didn't need to ask for anything as it was already there.

The on site restaurant serves an adequate breakfast of local fruits, yogurt, toast and coffee. Later in the day they prepare delicious ceviche, tacos, guacamole, margaritas and mojitos. Don't forget the taquila shots!!!

The room was bright, clean, romantic, comfortable and affordable. The location was perfect and we are so glad we could not have been happier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a great find -- it's very reasonably priced and a great value and bang for your buck. The staff is pleasant and really works hard to make sure your stay is great. Even if it's full (which it was during our stay), it doesn't feel crowded. Rooms are clean, rustic, and feel very unique. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. We stayed in two different rooms, Cielo and Agua. Cielo is huge, and although set back from the beach, still amazing. Agua has great views. You wake up each morning with the ocean breeze coming through the windows and the sound of waves. Included continental breakfast is nothing special, but a nice touch. You can order other items for extra (huevos rancheros is a more substantial choice). The food is good for lunch, so if you don't want to go anywhere and instead grab a quick bite and respite from the sun, it's a go-to find. I can't wait to return to Tulum and stay at Luv.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwnyc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at LUV during 3rd week of February. We loved Tulum! And we really loved LUV - What a great little gem!! Amenities exceeded my expectations - given their off-the-grid location!. The staff was great. Rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in Fuego and in Sol for our last night. We preferred Fuego due to larger a bathroom and front terrace. The fact that there's no big restaurant at LUV is actually a plus. The small restaurant is just enough to have breakfast (hand made organic tortillas with honey were great!)/ lunch / snack if you want to stay put - but the hotel remains calm and quiet and private; and there are so many places to eat within a minute's walk... Our top choices for good food were: 1. Hartwood - worth the wait; 2.Villas LaEstralla - real Italian food .i.e. home made pasta w/ Mexican influences. I'm not a pasta person but the cochinita ravioli were to die for! Grouper carpaccio was heavenly. Our dinner at Casa Banana was pretty good, and Casa Violetta (next door to LUV) was great for lunch and afternoon drinks / smoothies. Best drinks - such as Mojito or Caipirinha with freshly squeezed cane sugar were at LaZebra. Most disappointing restaurant - food- and drink-wise was Ziggi's. Overall - a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We're looking forward to returning next Spring.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lulu341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Super nice hotel. Roomy, clean bungalows right on the nicest part of Tulum's beach. Very nice staff who will help you the best they can. Breakfast is good but pretty small. You get mixed fruit with yoghurt and müsli and also coffee and juice. For 50 or 100 pesos you'll get more, like scrambled eggs, BLT etc.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second floor for better view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mippz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I traveled to Tulum in Febraury. Luv Tulum was perfect. We stayed in the Amor room, right on the ocean. The most gorgeous sunrises every single morning. I would highly recommend staying here. It's towards the southern side, on the south beaches which was perfect for us. The private shower was also perfect.

Have dinner at Casa Banana - on the jungle side while you are here, delicious!

Room Tip: The Amor room was lovely but really any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trudesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I just spent 7 nights at Luv and we had a fabulous time. We stayed in the Luna room, which is part of the front unit on the ground floor, and could literally open our door and walk 20 feet into the water! The bed was very comfortable and the room itself was spacious, clean and smelled just fine. The shower was separated from the toilet area, which is one of my concerns before booking (as there seemed to be no pictures of the bathroom), but it was done up nice as well. We had perfect weather where it wasn't that hot and the stiff breeze kept the mosquito's away. Now this is true for all of Tulum, but the further from the beach you are, the hotter it will be and the less wind you will get. I'd just keep that in mind if you are there when it is really hot and humid as most places won't have A/C.

We found the staff to be courteous, professional and very accommodating. The kitchen opened back up for serving hot food on the second day we were there and we couldn't have asked for better food. The fish tacos were absolutely amazing! We thought the breakfast was good as well. My wife usually had the fruit yogurt and loved it and I usually went with the fried eggs that came with refried black beans. Both were really good. The service was great too, but realize you are not going to a 5 star resort where staff is going to wait on you hand and foot. Most of the time you will need to go in and ask for a drink/food at the little dining area, but they will bring it to you on the beach which is nice (and if your lucky to catch someone then you can order from the beach as well).

The location was great as well. The beach road of Tulum is essentially 6k of little hotels with some restaurants and shops on the road. Luv is towards the end of the road, which makes it a little less crowded and quiet. There are many good restaurants to walk to though and we agree with many others that the stretch of sand in front of the hotel was one of the nicest parts of the beach. There always seemed to be beach chairs to relax on in the sun or shade. There was just one day where we used our porch chairs as all the others were full, but that was only the case for a little while as most people would leave to do some sort of exploring.

Our goal was for straight relaxation and we definitely got it. One day we rented bikes and road to the ruins, but besides that it was wake up, take a dip in the ocean, eat an awesome breakfast, lounge, eat amazing fish tacos, lounge, try a new restaurant for dinner and then back to the beach porch to watch the waves roll in underneath the beautiful Tulum sky. Simply an amazing vacation through and through. I will be adding some photos soon for the proof, but in the meantime, thanks Luv, we can't wait to come back and visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Luna room which was awesome, like you are sleeping on the beach, but in a comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 95 in Tulum
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suenos Tulum
Suenos Tulum
#28 of 95 in Tulum
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#39 of 95 in Tulum
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#36 of 95 in Tulum
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 95 in Tulum
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luv Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luv Tulum

Property: Luv Tulum
Address: Carretera Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luv Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with 12 individually designed rooms, on the beach in Tulum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luv Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing