We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luved it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luv Tulum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Luv Tulum
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Luved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

These cabanas are simply fantastic. Shabby chic interiors, a great breach location, friendly welcome and a short walk to a whole host of great restaurants. If and when we go to Tulum back I’d definitely consider another 3 or 4 nights here.

Room Tip: We were on upper floor of the cabana - I personally think it's even better than being on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    73
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
48
174
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Lovely boutique cabanas - can't call it a hotel - on Tulum beach, distancing 30 metres from the sea. The room was ample and the beds confortable, and the staff very solicitous. Of course being in touch with nature has its drawbacks when a bird starts chirping outside your window at 6 AM...
Also, the breakfast could (should, for the price!) be better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfect place. After hours pouring over various places in Tulum, I picked Luv Tulum. I picked well! Our ocean-front room was as close to the ocean as you could get. It was closer than any of the other cabanas on Tulum beach. Room was tasteful,clean and had the most fantastic view over across the sea. Breakfasts were simple and yummy with options for extras. We were here for 7 days staying in 2 different rooms and we were just so happy with it. We wanted a barefoot boutique beach bolt-hole and this was it! Watching the sun rise from our room over the ocean will be unforgettable. The beach was the softest sand I have ever walked on. All the staff were super-friendly from initially booking to leaving. Just beautiful!

Room Tip: Luna - ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pgEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed solo at Luv Tulum for four nights recently and had a great time! The beach and location are fantastic. The public areas - beach beds, outdoor/indoor seating for restaurant, lobby, etc - are all beautiful and lovely, and well maintained being swept daily. The rooms were great, I ended up seeing three and each was a bit different. Some had smaller beds which would not be ideal for a couple or a very tall person though, but the king bed was fantastic. Everything was clean and done daily. My one note was that these are cabanas so they are not 100% keeping bugs out even with screens on the doors (there are small gaps in the structure). But I didn't actually see any bugs in my room and had no issues with mosquitoes even though there are nets. The charm of Tulum is the rustic nature, so this is part of it. I would definitely return to this hotel!

There is some construction going on during the daytime right now as Luv appears to be expanding. It was slightly annoying when sitting in the sun on the daybeds at times if they were using power tools, but it did not at all disturb me in my room or wake me up. Personally it didn't bother me, and I only noticed it when I sat closest to that side of the property.

Room Tip: I actually preferred the rooms off the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had the most fantastic experience at Luv Tulum!! We just got back and can't wait to return. We stayed in Luna. this room is steps from the water. Absolutely spectacular!!! We went to bed to sounds of the ocean waves and a constant breeze that was the perfect temperature for sleeping. We awoke to a spectacular sunrise.

The staff was attentive and responsive to every request. Though you didn't need to ask for anything as it was already there.

The on site restaurant serves an adequate breakfast of local fruits, yogurt, toast and coffee. Later in the day they prepare delicious ceviche, tacos, guacamole, margaritas and mojitos. Don't forget the taquila shots!!!

The room was bright, clean, romantic, comfortable and affordable. The location was perfect and we are so glad we could not have been happier.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a great find -- it's very reasonably priced and a great value and bang for your buck. The staff is pleasant and really works hard to make sure your stay is great. Even if it's full (which it was during our stay), it doesn't feel crowded. Rooms are clean, rustic, and feel very unique. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. We stayed in two different rooms, Cielo and Agua. Cielo is huge, and although set back from the beach, still amazing. Agua has great views. You wake up each morning with the ocean breeze coming through the windows and the sound of waves. Included continental breakfast is nothing special, but a nice touch. You can order other items for extra (huevos rancheros is a more substantial choice). The food is good for lunch, so if you don't want to go anywhere and instead grab a quick bite and respite from the sun, it's a go-to find. I can't wait to return to Tulum and stay at Luv.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nwnyc1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at LUV during 3rd week of February. We loved Tulum! And we really loved LUV - What a great little gem!! Amenities exceeded my expectations - given their off-the-grid location!. The staff was great. Rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in Fuego and in Sol for our last night. We preferred Fuego due to larger a bathroom and front terrace. The fact that there's no big restaurant at LUV is actually a plus. The small restaurant is just enough to have breakfast (hand made organic tortillas with honey were great!)/ lunch / snack if you want to stay put - but the hotel remains calm and quiet and private; and there are so many places to eat within a minute's walk... Our top choices for good food were: 1. Hartwood - worth the wait; 2.Villas LaEstralla - real Italian food .i.e. home made pasta w/ Mexican influences. I'm not a pasta person but the cochinita ravioli were to die for! Grouper carpaccio was heavenly. Our dinner at Casa Banana was pretty good, and Casa Violetta (next door to LUV) was great for lunch and afternoon drinks / smoothies. Best drinks - such as Mojito or Caipirinha with freshly squeezed cane sugar were at LaZebra. Most disappointing restaurant - food- and drink-wise was Ziggi's. Overall - a wonderful, relaxing vacation. We're looking forward to returning next Spring.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lulu341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 mi away
Suenos Tulum
Suenos Tulum
#22 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#10 of 90 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanara Tulum
Sanara Tulum
#34 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luv Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luv Tulum

Property: Luv Tulum
Address: Carretera Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luv Tulum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run hotel with 12 individually designed rooms, on the beach in Tulum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luv Tulum Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing