We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hemingway Romantic Eco Resort
Ranked #78 of 112 Tulum B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Great place on a beautiful beach. Staying here was the highlight of our fortnight on mexicos east coast. The sun loungers are the perfect way to relax for a few days, while falling asleep to the sound of the sea is unforgettable. Recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1980hd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2013

I did not stay at this property but returned to eat at the restaurant several times. They had the best food in Tulum and the service was excellent. The atmosphere is utterly charming and the staff is so accommodating and adorable! I am very discerning and can say that I love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Really pretty, I loved the decoration, spacious clean "cabaňas". The restaurant area is very cozy and with a pretty view at the beach. They serve DELICIOUS food (you must try the tuna steak!!!). It indeed has a romantic feel and so far it is among the best places I stayed in Tulum.

Here are two "buts":
1. Restaurant does not display prices. I don´t like that, you have no idea how much you´re spending, how much is your bill in few days and it gives them posibility to "play" with the prices (I am not saying they do so).

2. The bathroom in our cabaňa smelled bad, it was the drain pipe and I know many hotels have this trouble, but for this price they should just do something about it. Plus the water in our sink and shower was yellowish and a bit smelly too :(

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We just returned from a 9 day stay in a beachfront cabana at Hemingway. It was our first trip to Tulum and I can't imagine a more perfect place to stay. The location was unmatched, the cabana rustic and beautifully decorated, the manager Alberta was kind, helpful, and always available.

I loved staying in a palapa roofed hut right on the beach. We were able to open the screened front windows wide at night and enjoy a gentle breeze and the sound of the waves crashing.

The swinging "beach beds" out front were so comfortable. The sand was like white powder. The water clear, gentle, and warm.

Prior to our visit, Paola, the owner responded the emails lightening fast. I asked for a massage and she recommended Malena Gopar, their house massage therapist. After one massage with her, I booked two more. I've had massages in the best places around the world including Esalen in Big Sur and she was absolutely wonderful. They have an open massage palapa that is relaxing and allows you to hear the waves while being massaged.

The restaurant at Hemingway was romantic and the food delicious. The Italian chef makes his own ricotta, handmade pastas, breads, and sauces. The tagliatelle with lobster is a house specialty and was so good I had it twice during our stay.

Another big plus is the Hemingway is across the street from El Tabano Restaurant. The cooks here are native women who put so much love, heart, and soul into the food. Standouts were the crepes with roast chile and huitlacoche, pineapple ceviche, and Mexican baked eggs. You can go wrong here. We had at least 6 meals here during out stay. Their cucumber margaritas area also great.

Down the beach was Posada Margherita (hotel and restaurant). This was out go to place for an evening cocktail. Beautiful lounge area right on the beach with the best caipirinha's ever!

Hemingway does not accept infants or young children at this hotel which is a plus for us. We really like a quiet environment and even though kids are great, this hotel is really more of a romantic retreat for couples and there aren't any amenities for kids.

We will be coming back. I highly recommend Hemingway to couples seeking a romantic, peaceful, beautifully rustic experience on one of the most beautiful stretches of beach in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We went for a ocean front Cabanna which we highly recommend as its the ultimate way to stay in tulum, waking up with the sunrise at your Cabannas porch. The room was clean and spacious (for a cabanna) with colourful interiors but basic. Bed was massive but quite hard and surrounded with a mossie net. The bathroom was the only downfall as could have been slightly more luxurious, basin tap water was yellow but they supply free bottle water in the room, shower was always hot but not so strong.

Had the most amazing massage Melina is highly recommended!

The bar/lounge/restaurant area has a comfy stylist castaway feel with v friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pooshmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

loved Tulum. Thought that Hemingway was a little overpriced, but having said that, the room was large, the breakfast was delicious with homemade bread and the position on the beach was ideal. Staff could have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ursi9320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.7 mi away
Om Tulum Hotel Cabanas and Beach Club
0.7 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#17 of 101 in Tulum
627 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hip Hotel Tulum
Hip Hotel Tulum
#32 of 101 in Tulum
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Alaya Tulum
Alaya Tulum
#2 of 101 in Tulum
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#78 of 101 in Tulum
230 reviews
0 mi away
Tulum Hemingway Romantic Cabanas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingway Romantic Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingway Romantic Eco Resort

Address: Carretera Boca Paila km 5.5, Tulum 77717, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing