We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different exprience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
Ranked #46 of 93 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
MINNEAPOLIS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A different exprience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is very difficult to rate as this is a one time exprience. You are going to be living in cabana right by the beach. We stayed at Cabana # 1 and we were the only ones at the time in the whole cabanas. The room was spacious and literally on the beach. There is nothing new I can write that already hasn't been written. The first day there we noted that there some kind of bugs/ ants all over the room. Be carfeul where you place your things and bags. The first day we jsut checked out the place. Nice little resturants just walkable distance. You can rent a bike or motorcycle. There are other cabanas around too. The challenging part was when it got drak after 10 and the lights went off. It took time getting used to the dark. However, the next morning the breakfast was fantastic. Very limited choice but just enough to like it and keep you fullYou have to try the french toast. Everyone that worked there were very cuertous.

It was very uncomfortable in the cabanas as it is very humid. When you get out of the shower, your sticky all over again. The shower is so slow you rather bathe by taking water from the sink. There are no outlets in the room or anywhere. It is very uncomfortable during the night with just a fan above the bed but it is of no use. There is no air from it. The only light is from the candles.

There is really no much to do but just relax and go to the beach. Make sure to use lot of bug spray.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DIVYA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    74
    19
    5
    12
See reviews for
38
217
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was absolutely the perfect place for my husband and I to get away and relax and reconnect. No internet and only 3 hours of electricity made it perfect for us since we had to break our internet addiction for a few days and connect with each other. The breakfasts were fabulous and the beach a true gem. These cabanas epitomize shabby chic. Eduardo, the inn keeper, was so polite and a truly gracious host. We cannot wait to go back to Tulum but especially to Cabanas la Conchita!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firenze
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We decided to go back at "La Conchita" after 13 years, almost the time when it first opened, and surprisingly, after all these year, this place is still magic, if you need peace and relax you could spend there as many days as you have at your disposal. The staff is super nice, the place is clean, beautiful and discreet, breakfast is very good. We were very lucky as we saw the big turtles at night, which come to this beach to leave their eggs, this their season. We also had the chance to set the little turtles free on the beach, those who luckily escaped the hurricane, thanks to the help of local volunteers. We really think we will go back there again without waiting 13 years, this time!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libera_24Firenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband was quite simply blown away by the fabulous breakfasts served right by the beach every morning. The place was small and peaceful, with a gorgeous beach. The attention to detail on all the buildings with little shells set into the walls was a beautiful touch - the place really blends in perfectly with its location.

All in all, Tulum was a fabulous place and Cabanas la Conchita was a marvellous find. We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCarvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

Everything about this place is exquisite. The white sand beach is steps away, the breakfasts amazing. Our cabana felt like a sanctuary. I appreciated that there was only electricity from 6-10. It made the stay all the more peaceful and restful. Did I mention the made-to-order breakfasts? So many choices and we would bring a plate of fruit back to our cabana in the am, read and listen to the waves before starting our day. We will definitely be back to this special place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atilahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed at Cabanas la Conchita with friends in cabana #2 and had a wonderful experience. The cabanas are very clean and comfortable, and they are all very beautiful. The beach access is perfect--so easy--just steps away. The sunrises on the beach were spectacular as was the breakfast (included with your stay). Everyone loved their meals that were prepared fresh for us each morning. Even the coffee was good! I especially loved lounging in the hammocks at the cabanas and the nice chairs at the beach.
We really loved everything about this place. Granted, it's a bit different going without electricity for most of the day, and having a mosquito net over your bed, but it was all part of the fun and we were more than comfortable through the whole experience (I say that having a severe bug and spider phobia--if I can handle the nets anyone can!). We had some lizards visit our room but we enjoyed the company (all part of the fun!) and getting photos of them. We did not miss having air conditioning while we were there. The weather was fairly hot but with the ocean breezes and the palapa roof we were quite comfortable.
The service was SO great--really a very friendly and helpful staff. Everyone, from the front desk to the housekeeping and breakfast staff was so helpful and pleasant. They even filled a cooler with ice for us to keep at our cabana for drink storage.
The beach was so beautiful and very good for swimming--not rocky and NOT CROWDED!--and we enjoyed a little body surfing! You can order food and drinks from one of the waiters at the hotel and restaurant next door.
The cabanas are located in the heart of the fun on the Tulum beach strip but they are removed from the street so they are incredibly peaceful. There is a lot to do nearby and you can easily walk, bike or take a cab anywhere you want to go. We went to a concert for three nights at Zamas, which was a lot of fun. We loved the food and smoothies at Mateos' just a few steps away, and of course visiting the Tulum ruins and beach was a blast. We loved Conchita and will absolutely be going back to this lovely little escape with its wonderful little beach.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach or 2nd floor rooms get the sea breezes and stay cooler. Really all of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatrinBMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had an amazing 4 nights in March at Cabanas la Conchita. The cabanas are directly on the beach and it was heaven to wake up each morning to have sand at your feet and hear the waves crashing. We stayed in Cabana 6 which was great and often sat out on the balcony or lay in the hammock and enjoyed the view. The cabanas are very well located with a number of restaurants and a small supermarket within a few minutes walk.

The breakfasts are fantastic and we tried everything on the menu with the favourites being omelette with the lot and the beautiful fresh fruit. The staff at the front desk were always extremely helpful and willing to assist whenever we had questions. The fact that there was only electricity from 6-10pm each day didn't matter. The only complaint would be that the showers were often a trickle of water, but it certainly didn't impact our stay.

Mateos is a short 2 minute walk away and we visited a few times and had excellent meals there. The fish tacos were tasty and coconut cocktails very large and delicious.

We were very sad to leave and hope we will return to Tulum again. We will definitely stay at La Conchita if we are lucky enough to visit again.

Room Tip: Cabanas 6 had a lovely view of the ocean due to its elevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.1 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#19 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#26 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#38 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 93 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maria Del Mar Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#67 of 93 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CalaLuna Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CalaLuna Tulum

Property: Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
Address: Carretera Tulum Boca-Paila km5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas la Conchita)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel CalaLuna Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Tulum CalaLuna We are here to realize your dream holiday unforgettable!! For our customers, we do everything... Hotel CalaLuna Tulum have 50 meters of private beach, with white sand and turquoise sea, in the sea of Tulum, 4 the most beautiful beach in the world More variety and availability of rooms, rooms for families, couples, single or friends The hotel Hotel Calaluna Tulum will be your vacation retreat, permitting you to enjoy the sound of nature. If you are lucky, you will be a spectator of the sea turtles hatching, and might even be able to return one of the baby turtles to the ocean... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel CalaLuna Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Conchita Tulum
Cabanas La Conchita Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing