We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again for the third time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This little hotel has become our home away from home in Tulum and we love it. We have very sentimental memories at this special place.
Our first visit in November 2008 was when we got engaged. We returned in April 2010 for our small wedding (next door at the former Maya Spa) and stayed here again with a small group of family and friends (there were 7 of us). The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, cabanas rustic and romantic. The full breakfast is out of this world, all you can possibly eat and (for what my husband eats) is probably easily worth $15 per person or more. Yes, it's a pocket beach instead of the expansive wide open one a little further south but the advantage is incredible privacy and seclusion. However, everything you could possibly need is steps away including numerous restaurants and a little store to pick up supplies, beer, liquor and snacks. Our only complaint is that Punta Piedra next door has put some very cheap, dirty-looking beach beds and umbrellas out which in our opinion looked a little trashy. Though not the fault of CLC and not a dealbreaker by any means. CLC has been there for over ten years and is due for some minors repair (conditions on the beach take their toll) but the place is still so very beautiful and charming.

The last thing that I would like to mention is that we have been coming here over a period of 5 years and have noticed that there is absolutely no turnover with the staff. The same people still work here. That says something about a place as far as we're concerned. Not to mention, all of them are so friendly and will do anything within their ability to make your stay perfect.

Can't wait to go back a fourth time :)

Room Tip: Cabana #1 is right on the beach, closest to the water...an excellent choice. Cabana #2 is also a gre...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trishkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Hotel CalaLuna Tulum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

My husband and I loved Cabanas la Conchita! It is very quiet and relaxing and right on the beach. Not having any electrical outlets was just fine with us, as the front desk is happy to charge your cell or camera as often as you need them to. This is a rustic place - the cabanas are not entirely enclosed and do not have air conditioning, and the water in the shower just trickles, but we didn't have a problem with any of that. Electricity from 6 to 10 worked fine, and after 10 you get to light all the candles that they provide (and replenish daily) for a very romantic atmosphere. The fan ran all night which is great, and helped cool us down quite a bit. I just wish they were able to run the fans all day!

We stayed in cabana #7 for our first night, then moved on to #1 which was the best cabana of all, followed by cabana #4 which had the best breeze and got the least direct sun which made it cooler, but also had the least impressive non-direct view. Cabana #7, we felt, didn't have enough privacy and didn't have a view or a breeze, but it was still lovely.

Everyone who works there is very friendly and accommodating and they want nothing but for you to be comfortable. We were even invited for a special dinner with the staff one evening when they made fresh ceviche, and it was very wonderful.

All in all, we would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone NOT looking for a cookie cutter big-name chain hotel. It's definitely a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guppyshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I have stayed in some very luxurious, expensive hotels, and was a little frightened about staying in a cabana on the beach, but without a doubt, this is the experience and the place we talk about the most! We carry on about this our-of-this-world experience to our friends that they've all heard the story so many times before. THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY IN TULUM. Even if you are planning on going to Tulum- take a drive down and stay here, even for just one night, THIS is heaven, it is truly so peaceful and blissful, you will not want to ever leave, you really feel like you are a million miles away, you go to sleep with the sound of the waves crashing on the beach and wake up with the white sand between your toes when you step out your door and the crystal clear water of your own beach in front of you. WOW, its doesn't get much better than that. This is luxury on a beach. Our cabana (#1) was so beautiful, and clean, lovely crisp sheets, candles everywhere. I loved the fact that the power turned off, it a little exciting, and so romantic, so many candles, and well, when you can't read or watch TV, I am sure you will find something to do in the dark ;-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is very difficult to rate as this is a one time exprience. You are going to be living in cabana right by the beach. We stayed at Cabana # 1 and we were the only ones at the time in the whole cabanas. The room was spacious and literally on the beach. There is nothing new I can write that already hasn't been written. The first day there we noted that there some kind of bugs/ ants all over the room. Be carfeul where you place your things and bags. The first day we jsut checked out the place. Nice little resturants just walkable distance. You can rent a bike or motorcycle. There are other cabanas around too. The challenging part was when it got drak after 10 and the lights went off. It took time getting used to the dark. However, the next morning the breakfast was fantastic. Very limited choice but just enough to like it and keep you fullYou have to try the french toast. Everyone that worked there were very cuertous.

It was very uncomfortable in the cabanas as it is very humid. When you get out of the shower, your sticky all over again. The shower is so slow you rather bathe by taking water from the sink. There are no outlets in the room or anywhere. It is very uncomfortable during the night with just a fan above the bed but it is of no use. There is no air from it. The only light is from the candles.

There is really no much to do but just relax and go to the beach. Make sure to use lot of bug spray.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DIVYA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This was absolutely the perfect place for my husband and I to get away and relax and reconnect. No internet and only 3 hours of electricity made it perfect for us since we had to break our internet addiction for a few days and connect with each other. The breakfasts were fabulous and the beach a true gem. These cabanas epitomize shabby chic. Eduardo, the inn keeper, was so polite and a truly gracious host. We cannot wait to go back to Tulum but especially to Cabanas la Conchita!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We decided to go back at "La Conchita" after 13 years, almost the time when it first opened, and surprisingly, after all these year, this place is still magic, if you need peace and relax you could spend there as many days as you have at your disposal. The staff is super nice, the place is clean, beautiful and discreet, breakfast is very good. We were very lucky as we saw the big turtles at night, which come to this beach to leave their eggs, this their season. We also had the chance to set the little turtles free on the beach, those who luckily escaped the hurricane, thanks to the help of local volunteers. We really think we will go back there again without waiting 13 years, this time!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libera_24Firenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband was quite simply blown away by the fabulous breakfasts served right by the beach every morning. The place was small and peaceful, with a gorgeous beach. The attention to detail on all the buildings with little shells set into the walls was a beautiful touch - the place really blends in perfectly with its location.

All in all, Tulum was a fabulous place and Cabanas la Conchita was a marvellous find. We'll definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaCarvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.0 mi away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#74 of 98 in Tulum
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 98 in Tulum
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#22 of 98 in Tulum
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 98 in Tulum
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
Posada Lamar
Posada Lamar
#57 of 98 in Tulum
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#11 of 98 in Tulum
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CalaLuna Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CalaLuna Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca-Paila km5, Tulum 77780, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas la Conchita)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: £80 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel CalaLuna Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Tulum CalaLuna We are here to realize your dream holiday unforgettable!! For our customers, we do everything... Hotel CalaLuna Tulum have 50 meters of private beach, with white sand and turquoise sea, in the sea of Tulum, 4 the most beautiful beach in the world More variety and availability of rooms, rooms for families, couples, single or friends The hotel Hotel Calaluna Tulum will be your vacation retreat, permitting you to enjoy the sound of nature. If you are lucky, you will be a spectator of the sea turtles hatching, and might even be able to return one of the baby turtles to the ocean... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel CalaLuna Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Conchita Tulum
Cabanas La Conchita Hotel Tulum
Tulum Cabanas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing