We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant on the beach”
Review of Zamas

Zamas
Ranked #62 of 401 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant on the beach”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband & I had a lot of fun here. I had the vegetable enchiladas, which were very good. My husband was in the mood for pasta, so had the carbonara, which was a bit too buttery, but good nonetheless. It was our waiters first night, so he was cute & very attentive. We met another couple and had fun sipping tequila with them after the meal. It was a rainy night, yet beautiful to be on the beach & hear the ocean & the rain.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bandbshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    148
    47
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent every time”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Over the last week I have been here on four occasions, once for nachos the escape a rain storm, once for lunch and twice for dinner. Service has been excellent every time, food always great and great atmosphere, especially in the evening. Veggitarian as well as meat eater friendly. Wold def reccomend

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich-Jen2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa clarita, california
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“THE BEST BURGERS IN TOWN”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We come to this part of Mexico at least twice a year and this is always one of our favorite restaurants to stop at - right on the water...a beautiful beach on the right (south) side and beautiful rock formations on the south/east. A view no matter what. It's a casual restaurant, part of the Zamas cabanas rentals, and open to the public. It's south of Tulum ruins, on the road to Sian Ka'an. About a 7 minute ride from the ruins. The waiter, as usual, was fantastic, very accommodating. My husband had a double cheese burger with fries (skinny, just the way he likes them) and I had a cheeseburger as well. The rum and coke was OUTSTANDING. Jack's cervesa, was nice and cold. If you're looking for a restaurant that really gives you the "flavor" of coastal Mexico, this is the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdhdwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely food with a great view”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Loved this place, very simple well-cooked food in a beautiful location. Key lime pie divine! The best part was the fact that we went fishing with the company based opposite Zamas, ( They are really professional, 3 hours of fishing with 2 great guides who really made an effort to meake sure our kids had the best time!) We caught 3 edible fish and Zamas grilled them for us to perfection at a very small charge! Staff are super friendly and all food was very nice for a decent price!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have eaten here before and enjoyed our meal. This time, not so much. There were only a few people there and it is off season..but.... poor service and so so food. Ordered salads and pizza. Pizza was burnt. Will skip it next time if we go back to Tulum. Maybe better for lunch?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stlgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zamas also viewed

 

Been to Zamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing