We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newest Lodge in Punta Allen...Absolutely Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Ranked #35 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Newest Lodge in Punta Allen...Absolutely Outstanding”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My fishing buddy and I decided to try the GSL partial because of the management whom we knew from another operation. To say we were pleased would be an understatement. The facility is very well maintained, offering amenities not usually found in a fishing lodge. The staff is truly the best, ensuring a pleasant experience. The fishery is healthy with the opportunity of a variety of species. Other fishermen had great success as well; Grand Slam and Super Grand Slam while we were there. All ready making plans for a return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are Ocean side with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Grand Slam Fishing Lodge
If you enjoy fishing and all the luxury comforts of a great resort this is the place, the hotel/lodge is high end excellent accommodation and wonderful staff set in beautiful Punta Allen.
The rooms are large, comfortable with huge decks overlooking the ocean, you will not be disappointed, the room is 5 stars and will out shine any 5 star resort.
The road to Punta Allen is a challenge but we enjoyed every moment of the drive, the second you arrive at the resort you are welcomed with drinks and wonderful staff.
The staff running this place will go above and beyond to make your stay in Mexico a great one, regardless if your planning one night with them and the rest of your vacation in the Mayan Riviera.
Thank You Bobby and all your efforts to help us, the rest of our vacation was wonderful.
My husband and I will always remember Punta Allen and Grand Slam Fishing Lodge with a warm smile.
From the non fishing couple landing at your lodge in January 2012

Room Tip: All the rooms are Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

5 of us spent New Year eve in GSFFL.
Our review is bellow.
Positive:
- Location;
- Area around;
- Rooms;
- Facilities;
- Service.
Negative:
- the road from Tulum, don't make savings: just rent a SUV!!!
- no internet for whole week (now I thinking maybe it's a positive side :)))
- beach was wild, not clean

Thanx to Bobby! Great stay! Great place!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor instead of second!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

GrandSlam unfortunately overbooked on the week I was supposed to go. They took full payment in my account, but cancelled at the last minute, leaving me with no option but to find myself another place. They have refunded my payment only 3 weeks later. I called them to express my disapointment and to see if they could help and I was not able to reach them or did not receive any call back from them for 7 days. Please be careful. Best vacations to all.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Line202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Outstanding! Best room of any fly fishing lodge we've ever visited. Great food. Super staff. Fishing was truly special. Been all over Belize and the Bahamas and the fish here are big and plentiful. Knowledgable, hard working guide, Tomas, with very good English. Shots at big Permit 3 of the 6 days we fished. Bigger bonefish than we've seen in Belize. Fished a new area every day of 6 and caught bonefish at them all. Nice clean beach. Go!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pleibig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Grand Slam is truly a deluxe Fly Fishing Lodge. It is a jewel hidden away in Punta Allen. Our room was extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. The meals were superb. The chief prepared fantastic beef, fish and lobster dishes. The presentation of the food was almost like a work of art. Our host “Bobby” was great at attending to all of our dining, relaxing and fly fishing needs. I would highly recommend Grand Slam if you are looking for a super deluxe fly fishing adventure!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We were ready to explore Punta Allan and the Sian Kaan Biosphere and ventured with our rental car down the long bumpy sand road to check out the Grand Slam Fly Fishing lodge. Interesting drive, amazing pristine coastline with most beautiful wild beaches, mangroves, beautiful lagoon, wildlife, small mayan ruin. We are Exotic Members and have been all over the Yucatan Peninsula but never made it down to Punta Allan in the past. We have taken a tour of the Sian Kaan with Amigos del Sian Kaan and knew we love this area. This was a fun adventure for us. Long and very rough sand road for the little Aveo rental car but worth the drive. Unfortunately, no one was at the Grand Slam Lodge to give us a tour. They must all have been out fly fishing. So we just walked around alone and toured the property. Very impressed with everything we saw and we hope to be able to stay here in the future. We are not fisherman but might try our luck with the lure. You don't have to be a fisher to like this lodge. If you are a nature lover like we are and like the off the beaten path type experience this is for you. It sure looks like a stay here would be a pampered and very laid back and great experience. We did get to use the restrooms in the Reception building and it was just as nice as at any of the other Karisma resorts with the same nice soap and hand lotion. Very, very clean and is probably and indication of how the suites are there. Nice pool area, beautiful beach and great gathering deck with cozy and stylish looking seating area. The restaurant and bar looked really inviting through the windows. We ended up having a great grilled fish lunch with very good margaritas at the little cabana hotel and campground next door called Playa del Sol. Very nice local family that owns the place. I posted our pix of the Grand Slam Lodge for whoever is interested.

Room Tip: They all face the ocean and are on the white beach
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Munichchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulum
22.9 mi away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#68 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
23.1 mi away
Rosa del Viento
Rosa del Viento
#21 of 95 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman Fishing Lodge
Fisherman Fishing Lodge
#8 of 13 in Punta Allen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 13 in Punta Allen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
Kanxuk Luxury Resort
#1 of 3 in Punta Allen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Posada La Conchita
#11 of 13 in Punta Allen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge

Property: GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Address: Carretera Tulum Punta Allen, Lote # Predio de San Miguel, Municipio de Solidaridad, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandslam Fly Fishing Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing