We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fly fishing April 6-13” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Ranked #32 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fly fishing April 6-13”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Great Staff, Food and Accommodations. 45 to 90 minute boat ride one way to fishing flats this time of year. I am an experienced West Coast Steelhead fisherperson. This was my first salt water trip for bone, tarpon, permit and snook. Two fishermen and a senior and wantabe guide per boat which was a Real Plus. Disappointed in how much time we spent in the boat ( 22 ft, 50hp) looking for fish. I enjoyed the wadding for bone fish but in the 6 days of fishing I had 22 opportunities for bonefish ( I was surprised at their size 13-17 inches) landed 13 and had one opportunitiy for a "baby" 6-9lb tarpon and landed it. Very nice experience because of the previously mentioned reasons but dispappointed that we did not see this 25mile by 25mile biosphere teeming with fish, especially with no commercial fishing allowed. Jim SF, CA

Room Tip: Two fishermen Our upstairs room had a king and hideabed. I got the short straw and the hideabed. d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week of angling at Grand Slam Lodge in Punta Allen with family and friends and frankly everything about the lodge exceeded our expectations. For a fishing lodge the rooms are fairly deluxe and plenty spacious with king size beds and a nice sitting area. The balconies all have hammocks, a Bali bed and a rod rack with gear bench. The lodge food was really quite good although we would have enjoyed more of a Mexican centric menu. The main man in the dinning room is named Chendo and we all found him to be very friendly and attentive to our needs. Capt. Miguel Encalada is the general manager and in addition to glad handing he runs a pretty tight ship. The fly angling in Ascension Bay within the Sian Ka'an Biosphere is fabulous indeed with Bonefish very plentiful and Tarpon, Permit and Snook all possibilities every day. The GSL has terrific guides too and after spending 7 days with these wonderful men I'm a much better angler. Lest I forget to mention the great birding in the Biosphere remember to bring a pair of binoculars for zeroing in on some the wonderful birds you will see every day.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Farandfine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I spent 4 and a half days here at the end of March. This is a fabulous place!!! The staff lead by General Manager Miguel Encalada are very attentive and guest focused! In the center of the resort is the restaurant / lounge. The buildings north or south of the restaurant contain the guest accommodations. I had a second floor villa. The decor was understated tropical. It had a king bed, a/c, a 42-48 inch flat tv (Spanish/English programming) with DVD player, 2 couches, one of which was a pull out bed, a 2 person jacuzzi tub, and a large bathroom! The bathroom had a long double vanity, rain fall 2 person shower, and a enclosed toilet along with plenty of closet space. The only difference between the upper villa and the first floor villa is 2 beds versus the single king bed in the upstairs villa. Outside each villa is a Tahitian bed! There are numerous Tahitian beds along the beach to lounge on in the sun. GSFL also has a small swimming pool with a wood deck surrounding it. Palm trees are every where and provide shade except for the beach. Don't let the name imply that this is nothing but a fishing lodge!!! This is a full service resort. There are numerous activities for those that don't fish!! However, for those that do fish; this is an amazing fishery and the guides are outstanding!!! They know how to put you on fish, speak English, and have phenomenal boat handling skills and will see fish you never will!!!! This is a little remote, but there is 24/7 electricity, wifi, no cell service, an excellent chef, friendly staff, and a fully stocked bar!! All staff speak Spanish and English. At night lanterns illuminate the grounds. I am bringing my wife back in September!!! One reviewer stated there wasn't a menu. There is one now, at least for lunch/dinner. After breakfast, those going fishing make there own lunches and put them in large Tupperware containers that then go in coolers on the pangas.

Room Tip: For couples, book an upper floor villa!! The sunrises are amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuckeyeDeputy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have finally gotten round to reviewing this place after putting it on the long finger. I went there with my wife on honeymoon last year. The room, upstairs in a villa, was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in. It was beautifully decorated and wonderfully spacious.

The complimentary bites with drinks before dinner were always delicious and dinner too was great. There is no menu here but they are more than happy to prepare something else for you should you not like what's on the set dinner. The whole cooked fish was fantastic!!!

I found the staff here most helpful and pleasant and the place itself sooooo relaxing. I can't wait to get back here. Viva Mexico y GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge!!!

Thank you to the staff for a lovely honeymoon vacation!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuinnMicklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

A little out of the way but well worth the trip! The staff is friendly and attentive, the rooms are large and nicely furnished, the food was excellent, the margaritas were on time and our guide, Gaspar or Gaspy as they call him, did a great job of getting on the fish. Bobby and Mike have done an excellent job of setting the place up and it runs perfectly. This one is a keeper!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavedvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

In mid May, I treated my three sons (and their father) to a fishing trip to celebrate some milestones in all our lives, one being my retirement. I had flyfished in salt water only once before a Casa Blanca, which is across Ascension Bay from Punta Allen. After some checking, I discovered that the management from Casa Blanca had moved to Grand Slam Lodge. I was able to book a trip with them. Mike met us and was a gracious host the entire trip. Thanks Mike.

The amenities are amazing. Rooms are deluxe, to say the least, with air conditioning and huge Jaccuzzi tubs. Great big, firm beds and palatial room. Expertly cleaned and inviting at the end of a long day fishing. Meals were excellent, with appetizers our by the pool with the pre-dinner libations, gourmet dinners to follow, including great choices for breakfast and pack your own lunch.The service was impeccable and everybody was sooo nice.


However, for a fisherman, this is all window dressing. We had a great time fishing as well. We caught all the bone fish we wanted and our not catching a permit, tarpon or snook is not because we didn't have opportunities, but rather because none of us are great casters. The fish are there. The guides were great (shout out to Gaspar and Mike), the boats were clean and in good shape.

In summary, it would be difficult to find a nicer place to stay and a better place to fish by themselves. To find them together in one operation--impossible.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Montanam1k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

My fishing buddy and I decided to try the GSL partial because of the management whom we knew from another operation. To say we were pleased would be an understatement. The facility is very well maintained, offering amenities not usually found in a fishing lodge. The staff is truly the best, ensuring a pleasant experience. The fishery is healthy with the opportunity of a variety of species. Other fishermen had great success as well; Grand Slam and Super Grand Slam while we were there. All ready making plans for a return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are Ocean side with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishman2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tulum
22.9 mi away
Hotel MangleX
Hotel MangleX
#63 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
25.9 mi away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
27.4 mi away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 mi away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman Fishing Lodge
Fisherman Fishing Lodge
#8 of 13 in Punta Allen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sol Caribe
Sol Caribe
#1 of 13 in Punta Allen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge

Property: GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge
Address: Carretera Tulum Punta Allen, Lote # Predio de San Miguel, Municipio de Solidaridad, Tulum, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your GrandSlam Fly Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandslam Fly Fishing Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing