We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Maya fish wrapped in banana leaves”

Restaurant Piedra Escondida
Ranked #59 of 407 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: In the Piedra Escondida Restaurant, a cozy place with spectacular ocean view and an open terrace on the beach, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner offering favorites such as Pepata di Cozze e Vongole, a dish of mussels and clams or Fish Fillet Tikinchik with annatto. With almost 2 dozen dishes of juicy chicken, perfectly cooked steak and enticing fresh seafood, your meal will delight and please your senses.
Des Moines
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious Maya fish wrapped in banana leaves”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is one of the best views of rocky part of Tulum beach. The waiters are all friendly, and very attentive. The food was excellent. The restaurant has both Italian and Mexican/Maya cuisine. We have found that in June, lots of restaurants can be closed; luckily, this one was open, and was excellent!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuliaDesMoines_Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    51
    18
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food - But Only Accepts Pesos”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our family happened on to Piedra Escondida because of the fact they have a very convenient parking lot. We arrived at 6:00pm local time and were the first ones in....people seem to eat very late here. The view is beautiful as this restaurant bar is part of a boutique hotel and has it's own cove on the Caribbean.

We enjoyed a couple of mixed drinks (mojitos and pina coladas). Our meals ranged from local crab and linguini to chili pescada. The delivery of the food was timely and we were not rushed out at all. Before we left, the restaurant slowly began to fill.

Our bill for (6) mixed drinks, (1) fresh fruit smoothie and (4) entrees totaled $1100 peso or approximately $85 US. We would have paid much less in town, but the view and breeze at Piedra Escondida made the extra price worthwhile. This restaurant does not accept credit cards of any type, and I recommend using Peso vs. US dollar since your exchange rate will be better from an atm than will be from a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at the hotel and ate at the restaurant twice for dinner, once for lunch, and 3 times for breakfast. The choices were quite varied and every dish we tried was excellent, including the Ceviche and Beef Carpacio, as well as the fish and pasta entrees we tried. The tacos were excellent too! The free / included breakfasts were excellent and more than enough too!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION . FOOD EXPENSIVE!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

1200 PESOS for two small starters and then a small grilled lobster and a grilled chicken breast! 3 glasses of good house wine . very friendly service . we had visited for our regular sundowner - lured by easy parking opposite ! Beach is enclosed into a very private cove by rocky headlands on both sides . so we returned for dinner . I think its location parking and cove seclusion would make me choose to stay there when we next visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobessonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The fact that the restaurant is on a beach is the only thing that even makes me call this place average. It's a clean, nice looking restaurant with a pretty nice beach view. Other than that, everything was pretty sub-par. We had breakfast - I had Huevos Motuleños and my husband had Huevos Rancheros. The peas in my motuleños were chalky and disgusting. The potatoes served with my breakfast were oily and soggy and the black beans were overcooked. My husband was not the biggest fan of his breakfast either. We stayed at the hotel next door and ordered drinks from their bar our first day and half on the beach - all of our beer was lukewarm at best. We got smart and went to a gas station in town and bought an ice chest, ice, and our own beer and we were much happier after that.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ajacks00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Piedra Escondida also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurant Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing