We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great spot for dinner with live music.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Cafeto Mar Caribe

Ranked #115 of 382 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: On the main street going through the town of Tulum.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great spot for dinner with live music.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

My Sister in Law lives in Tulum and she eats here all the time and never has had a bad meal here. Fried fish was very fresh and is cooked just like grandma's pan fried in olive oil. Margaritas were good and so was the service. Good dinner and we happened to be seated just before the carnivale parade. With the 3 piece combo behind us and the parade out front it was perfect.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    70
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick, Easy and Entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I have eaten there twice now, both times the service was swift, the food was VERY good. The salsa (with tortilla chips) is spicier than many serve, and that is GREAT. I have to try and reproduce those pickled vegs/garlic at home - too good to be true. The ceviche appetizer was a full meal in itself - a bit bland, but nice, so it partnered with the hot sauce and pickles very well. My partner had chicken breast with cheese and was kind enough to give me a bite...though just a small bite. It was awesome. At least as good was the music, which enthralled us to the point where we wiled away an extra two hours we hadn't intended... but that's what vacations are all about, right?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ComoxDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
batavia ny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our hotel recommended this restaurant which was within walking distance. It is really a sidewalk cafe. There was live music inside which was not too loud. We could "people watch" as we waited for our food. The food was very good with large portions. They gave us a basket of taco shells, like they do in Mexican restaurants in the states. They handed us a bowl of salsa which they said was very hot (it was, but was very good) and a bowl of big pieces of peppers and vegetables that we really didn't know what to do with.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank viajeraexotica02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenexa, Kansas
1 review
“Stay away and call the health department !!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Prior to traveling to Tulum I looked at all the restaurants and planned on which to eat at. This one was not on my list. One day at the last minute someone recommended eattting at Don Cafeto's, so we gave it a try. We were seated out on the sidewalk and enjoying the atmosphere. While looking at the menu, my wife noticed that the picked up the left over chips and vegetables from another table placed it on ours. We said something to the waiter and they denied it. They did bring us "fresh" chips and vegetables. Knowing their pattern we did not partake. During our dinner my wife observed that they did this several other times to other customers. Ahhhhh !!! Gross.. We ate our meal and left. Then 24 hours later we all started to vomit and spent the next 1.5 days sick from Don Cafeto food poisoning. Who knows what they do in that kitchen. They need to review their food handling license. Hence, go there if you want to loose 4 lbs. and spend a sleepless night vomiting. Otherwise there are plenty of other good restaurant in town.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonylenexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Had mixed ceviche (twice) and garlic shrimps. Both super tasty.
Very good pina colada and refreshing water-juices.
Always quite full with good representation of local people that to me is typically a good sign.

Helpful?
1 Thank Justine1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Cafeto Mar Caribe also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Don Cafeto Mar Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing