We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Spot North of Tulum”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cabana Ocean Front

' UN-PLUG'   and   '  RELAX  '
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
' UN-PLUG'   and   '  RELAX  '
Cabana and  Garden picture yourself here
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
' UN-PLUG'   and   '  RELAX  '
Cabana and  Garden
picture yourself here
both cabanas
your personal slice of paradise
Your private beach
peaceful sunset
margarita in hand, enjoying a tranquil evening
full moon on the bay
one queen, one full size bed cabana 2
cabana 2
cabana 2
1 queen, one full size bed cabana 1
cabana 1
ocean view from cabana 2
ocean view cabana 1
private bathrooms
shared outdoor kitchen
shared outdoor kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
heartattc...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cabana #1 could turn out to really be Cabana #2, which is not Cabana #1”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013
9
people found this review helpful

In September or October, my mom booked 7 days for the 3 of us here at Cabana #1 for a stay at the end of December. The description on TA is for Cabana #1. We didn't even know there was a #2 until we arrived and were given that cabana. Cabana #1 sits right on the beach with unobstructed views, has wind flowing in from the ocean and a 1-level floor. Cabana #2 sits behind Cabana #1 and a house that is also owned by the proprietors, has a partial view, and has a main floor with a higher level, as high as a step, for the beds. Since the floors are all tile, this makes it extra tricky/scary/awkward at night to "watch your step" if you need to get to the bathroom. It catches you off guard and we caught ourselves a few times. Tip: put candles around the ledge so you can see where the step drops down/goes up.

The beach is beautiful and rocky. They have some extra water shoes for you to borrow, which is nice. It is very peaceful to sit on the beach and read and watch the ocean. Throughout our time there, 2 sets of guests stayed in Cabana #1 and one couple in the house. The house looks to be the best of the rentals and has the most privacy. The cleaning service was friendly, helpful, and kept our cabana clean, beds made, floors swept. There is a small, compact fridge in the cabana and we stocked it with juice, water, yogurt and fruit. The provided breakfast is a pastry and coffee. I liked the coffee and could have used a bit more for the three of us. The nearest "market"/hole-in-the-wall convenience store is walkable, but it is tiny. If you drive or take a cab into town, 10 minutes, you can shop at San Francisco Market and find lots of great stuff. It is the size of a normal grocery store in the States.

Casa Cenote is a short walk down the beach and the margaritas will leave you wondering, what happened last night? They are the best in town and are super powerful. Pace yourself. The pizza place nearby is just so-so. There is also a breakfast place that is really good. That is all there is for food around the cabanas, but again, driving into the main part of town is only a short drive and there are lots of great places to eat. Go to Coco's on beach road for some seriously good pizza!

Cabana #1, which for us turned out to be Cabana #2 even though we reserved Cabana #1, is a great place to stay if you like to relax all day without people around. At most we had 7 people on our beach. It is really warm, lovely blue-green water. The owners are pleasant. I suggest renting a car so you can explore other places in Tulum. If you want to be around people, mingle and party at night, this is not the place for you. If you want nice, clean, economic accommodations with no one disturbing you, beautiful, warm water, a place to get away from it all - except they do have wifi, which was fabulous! - this is a great place to stay.

I'm not a fan of promising one thing and switching it on guests without checking first. If you book Cabana #1, double-check you really will be staying in Cabana #1. It looked nice.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
e k
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot North of Tulum”
Reviewed 25 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband enjoyed our stay at Slice of Paradise. Very comfortable low key setting. Art and June were very sweet and kind. Great centralized spot to get to the ruins, Tulum, Valladolid etc. Well priced. Tell Abram "Hello" for us!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylee201...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Heaven!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at Art and June's cabana's for 3 nights and it was the absolute highlight of our mexico trip! I wish we had of booked to stay longer. The property is quite private up towards the corner end of Tankah beach (I think the best part of the beach). The water is literally just a few steps from your cabana door. My husband and I spent the first day lying on the sunbeds by the water. The groundskeeper was a lovely man and cut fresh coconuts from the very tree that was shading us to give us a refreshing drink while we enjoyed total relaxation!
Art and June were the most friendly and gracious hosts. They really went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our stay.
I would absolutely book this place again and plan to do nothing but lay by the beach every day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Bugs and Crabs (but what else would you expect from staying in the jungle on the beach!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wattersda
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It really is a 'slice of paradise'”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We just spent a week in Cabana #1. It was FABULOUS! Our Cabana was exactly as advertised. It sat directly on the beach just steps from hammocks, beach chairs and snorkeling. Our cabana had a thached roof, windows across the front so you could see the ocean at all times, an attached bathroom and two beds with netting. We had a mini-fridge (with a few beers all ready for us) and there was an outdoor kitchen that we were free to use. The cabanas have bottled water with a dispenser which was very nice - it meant we didn't have to constantly be buying gallons of water.
Art and June were great hosts providing valuable information about the area, places to eat and gave us helpful information based on our wants for attractions. They even kept us updated on the weather and where the storms were likely to be. It was a nice change to have coffee and danish waiting for us at a table outside our window every morning. I also have to commend the housekeeper and grounds keeper.Our room was cleaned daily (including the bath towels shaped into animals) and the beach was great.
We did rent a car so we could see the sites at our own pace, a good idea unless you plan to relax solely at the cabana or pay for cabs. Parking was never an issue,even when there were other guests. We used Wi-Fi daily with very little problems and its free.
There are three places to eat within walking distance - Tanka Inn (breakfast only), Casa Cenote and Blue Sky. Art and June do have menus available for the restaurants which was nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: walking out the cabana door, straight onto the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
David C
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly as Expected”
Reviewed 24 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned home from a week at this wonderful slice of paradise and it was everything that we wanted and expected. The proprietors, Art and June Pizano, were gracious hosts and made our stay comfortable and relaxing. We have stayed in an all-inclusive resort prior to this trip and wanted something different. We wanted to spend our time doing what we wanted to do and where we wanted to do it. We woke up each morning with the breeze blowing in from the sea into the cabana. Art brought us hot coffee and warm bread outside the cabana each morning and was always around if we had questions about navigating around the area or anything else. This is at the top of our "best vacations ever" list and we plan to return. This area is approximately 90 minute drive south of Cancun. There are multiple things to do in this area without the hustle of the resorts and tourists. Tulum is a smaller town that has great food, great beaches, and is safe. It is also has Mayan ruin sites that are amazing. There are more ruin sites a short drive away in Coba. The only down side to this entire vacation is having to drive from Cancun and return to Cancun to leave. The Mexico Police seem to prey on rental cars and tourists driving up and down HWY 307. However, if you want to stay in a beautiful place like this, you have to drive there yourself. Risk 1% - Reward 99%. Loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ON
Reviewed 23 May 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing