We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house, right on the beach, with all...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beachfront
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beachfront
Beach side patio View from bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Beachfront
Beach side patio
View from bedroom
View from Terrace 1
Hammocks, beach chairs, palapa and peace...
Beach
Beach palapa and hammocks
Living room from open first floor
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Open living room with lots of cushions
Living Room
Living room opens to patio and beach
Living Room
Large sofa in living room
Kitchen bar and dining room AND the Caribbean
Fully equipped kitchen with tropical garden view and Carribean view
Open Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Dinning Room
Master Bedroom 2
Ground floor blue master bedroom 2, French doors to patio and beach
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Master Bedroom 2
Ground floor blue master bedroom 2 - large closet
Blue master bedroom 2
Outside the blue master bedroom
The Room 2
Blue bathroom in blue master bedroom 2
Blue Bathroom, Master Bedroom 2
Half Bathroom first floor
Living Room
Stairs
Main entrance and stairs to second level
Second level
TV Room
Stairs to roof
Upstairs hang out corner
Green Master bedroom with deck overlooking the Carribean
en suite tropical bathroom
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1- Private deck over the beach, a glimpse of the tropical shower
Master Bedroom 1
Terrace Master Bedroom 1
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Tropical shower in Green room
Tropical shower in green room
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
Master Bedroom 1 Tropical Shower
Master Bedroom 1 Bathroom
From your room, serenity...
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Canopy twin beds upstairs bedroom
Tropical shower Twin Bedroom
Tropical shower Twin Bedroom
Tropical shower
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Terrace Twin bedroom
Outdoor Kitchen / patio
outdoor kitchen
Outdoor kitchen /Patio
BBQ -outdoor kitchen
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach side patio
Beach
Steps to the tanning roof
Beach
Roof with private sunbathing and sunset Margaritas
From the roof, a very quiet and private beach
Roof Top
Roof Top
Beach
Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gaskyns
Rudgwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely house, right on the beach, with all amenities provided”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week staying in this lovely villa. We travelled from UK and met up with our son, his wife and our 21 month granddaughter along with our daughter-in-law's mother who all live in New York state. So we were five adults and one little girl. The accommodation was perfect for us and we had a lovely relaxing week. It is exactly as described and everything has been thought of and provided. It is obvious that this is a well loved holiday home to the owners and it was lovely to spend time in somewhere that felt 'lived in'. There is plenty to see and do in the area, some lovely beaches and good restaurants. All in all it was perfect accommodation for a week away from the winter weather and we would thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location, right on the beach
Liked least: Beware tummy bugs - water not drinkable, but bottled provided.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words Mary! I enjoyed talking to your husband for a bit on Friday night. Happy to hear everyone in your party enjoyed the house and the area. Hope to see you again at Villa Mariposa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sueba3
Montgomery, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Gathering”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I met our 2 adult sons and their wives at Mariposa in October. It was perfect for 6 adults. The house is designed so that the bedroom areas are private and they each include a bathroom and balcony over looking the beach. The public areas and kitchen were roomy, comfortable, wide open and nicely decorated.
The beach was very private because there were so few people staying along the strip of beach. There were kayaks to enjoy and a nice cabana for shade.
We were able to find something to do in the surrounding areas everyday, but we were happy to stay at Mariposa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the access road
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macevebo
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A fabulous property in a fabulous location.”
Reviewed 8 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great time at Villa Mariposa. It is a fabulous property in a fabulous location. The flat water of Tankah Bay was great for kayaking and snorkeling. We kayaked four or five times, and snorkeled at various locations within the Bay, including the outflow area from the Cenote. Hanging out in beach palapa and hammocks was totally relaxing as well.

Location was about 100 meters from the lovely Cenote, and we dined at both the Blue Sky and Casa Cenote restaurants a few times, generally for breakfast on our way out, but also for dinner once each. Both were great.

Unfortunately we didn't get a chance to snorkel in or otherwise use the Cenote other than to watch the divers/snorkelers/paddle boarders, which is one regret for the trip, since even though I am now pushing 70 yrs. of age I have been a scuba instructor and professional diver for the last 30 years, mostly diving on shipwrecks for the US National Park Service's diving team.

The location of the villa, just a few minutes to the city of Tulum, was also great. We went several times...Amy is a professional chef and part of her vacation protocol is always to shop for, purchase, and prepare seafood and quality produce.... mission accomplished. Very fun. We also hit a couple of restaurants in the boutique hotel zone on the way out to Punta Allen... one good, one not so good.

Using the villa as our base of operations, we drove back up to Playa del Carmen (not a great experience as we are not big shopping freaks). Akumal beach (ok, but too crowded after our languid hours at the Villa), Tulum, and Coba. Both these last two were interesting for me since I am a retired archaeologist for the US NPS and have been on a couple of international teams working with the Mexican institute of archaeology (INAH) and the government of Belize.

Although the decorative elements of the villa were great, I was particularly enchanted by the Mayan glyphs hanging on the wall near the powder room, and looked all over for somewhere to purchase something like them...without success, until the drive to Coba where we found them en route, went into Alfredo Gonzales' (I think that was his name) place and purchased several to bring home after he showed me some illustrated classical Mayan archaeology texts from when he had selected the designs that he used to make his molds. Our friends bought some as well. For me, a highlight.

Returning from our travelling experiences to the villa itself...it has an elegant design, has plenty of room, and is well decorated. Airflow negated the need for air conditioning. Setting was very secure with the gate guards, and the in-bedroom safes worked great. Being steps from the beach was a real plus.

Having the driving directions and information on the grocery stores, etc. up-front was a major assist. Key pick-up was very simple and David helped lug our stuff in, since his parents had left him in charge...it took us longer to get out of Cancun than we had thought because of rental car inefficiency, which we sort of expected in spite of having a reservation. Customs itself was simple.

Luis and Nery did a great job meeting our needs, reliable, efficient, friendly, and they tended to be low profile although we were often around much of the morning. They also cooked for us one night...it was very good. A nice touch was the use of the palm fronds on the chair backs. Also, following your advice we told them it would be okay for the boys to be out and about, so we got to see those wonderful smiles from David and Luis Jr. several times. Roger came by the day after our arrival, although Amy and I were out and he met with our travelling companions.

We had a great time and would highly recommend Villa Mariposa to anyone seeking a place to stay in the Tulum area. We would definitely stay there again since it has so much to offer. You should be very proud of such a lovely home.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rekrab201...
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely gorgeous”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a week with some friends and were all blown away by the property and the area. It has it all, beautiful house, sea, cenotes, restaurants, places to visit so much to do and see we are going back. Friendly staff who lived next door. The men folk did diving with the Tankah group just up from the house. Tulum was the nearest town and provided everything that we needed. We would highly recommend you visit. As it states in all the info you are on the beach and you do have dense trees behind you so do expect the odd flying, crawling, slithering beastie which in our opinion was exactly as it should be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mommacass...
Gillett
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exquisite home”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This house is absolutely beautiful and decorated perfectly. If ambiance is as important to you as it is to me, I would highly recommend Villa Mariposa. We ended up saving money because it was such a beautiful spot that we didn't need to venture out every day. Nettie and Louis, the caretakers, were great. They made 2 delicious meals for us and kept the house and grounds spotless.

We did rent a car and found is very easy to travel to Tulum, Akumel, and Playa Del Carmen. And the restaurants down the road were easy to walk to for a meal or drink. We felt safe having a guard at the end of the private road.

There was no air conditioning in the bedrooms and at times it was uncomfortable but when there was a breeze, this wasn't an issue. Also, please note there is a reef so there are no waves on this beach. In some spots there are rocks and weeds, making it difficult for swimming. However, it was nice for wading, snorkeling and kayaking. The water is clear and warm.

All in all, this was a wonderful place for our family to vacation and we would highly recommend it! Hoping to come back soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so glad you had the "perfect" vacation. Summer nights may get hot and the fans work hard all night if there is no breeze. Thankfully we have the ocean breeze on most days.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing