We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swim and ride a dolphin”
Review of Dolphinaris Tulum

Dolphinaris Tulum
Ranked #20 of 86 things to do in Tulum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Tulum at Bahia Principe Resort combines the best features of our dolphins, with beautiful tropical surroundings.The facilities feature the innovative concept of traditional platforms that provide shallow, beach-style access to conduct interaction programs safely for any visitor.For the convenience of swimmers and observers, we have located various service areas within our facilities. These service areas include: check-in and customer service, induction hut, a new room where classes for the Trainer for a Day program are conducted and our photo & video store.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“swim and ride a dolphin”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

it was fun to ride a dolphin but its only for a couple of seconds
i don't think its work 99$ US for that ride.
you get the see many other aspects and spend time with the dolphins and you are a group of 8-10 ppl during that hour!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank christina2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    107
    40
    14
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great experience - With BD travel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I loved this experience. I booked this activity with Pedro Cobos of BD travel desk at the Grand Bahai Principe tulum. Pedro was very sociable and a great representative. I will definitely book everything through him next time I go!!
Swimming with the dolphins was really amazing. I Never thought I would have any emotional connection to a sea creature! The trainer was very good and seemed to really care about them.
The only bad part is the photo prices. Just ridiculously expensive. We bargained our way and got them all for the price of 4 photo's listed on their price sheet. Seriously disappointed with this part of it. But I have rated this experience very high because this was the only negative of the whole activity.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fatima_00900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear visitor,

Thank you for your visit and your feedback about your experiences during your time at our facilities. Dolphinaris is happy to hear you had an awesome time with our intelligent dolphins. The experience is something you will remember forever.

In regards to the photos, our prices are at the current industry marketing price. Our photo and video department offers several different packages and prices to give you a selection to choose from that are optional for purchase but do make a great souvenir.

Thank you for choosing Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best experience EVER !!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Was so nervous but needn't have been, the staff were so friendly and you could tell that they totally cared about their dolphins. U have to take all jewelry off so the dolphins are not harmed in any way but unfortunately I was not told this prior to booking. It wasn't a problem if u speak to them, I took all mine off except my actual wedding ring as I haven't taken this off since my wedding day, (my ring wouldn't come off anyway now) it was a trip for our silver wending too and I really didn't want to jinx anything ha ha they had a look at it and because its not sharp/ raised or anything they said it was not aproblem for me to keep it on, just a tip though, just in case you are not aware. Anyways, the session was awsome and I was overwhelmed to be honest, one of the best experiences err and I highly recommend it, we purchased all the piccys and the DVD as all proceeds go towards the centre so it's well worth it x make sure you go it made our holiday so special

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear visitor,

We are delighted to hear you and your husband had such an amazing time here at our facilities swimming with these beautiful mammals. Dolphinaris is happy to hear that we could be a part of such a special day of yours!

In regards to the jewelry, you are correct we do not allow jewelry while swimming with the dolphins. This is for the safety of the dolphins, you can lose your jewelry in the pool and the dolphins find and swallow it and also you can scratch the dolphins with rings, bracelets ect.

Dolphinaris invites you to visit us again in the future maybe at one of our other facilities.

Thank you for your preference in Dolphinaris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We did trainer for a day which was 150 dollars each, this was great value for us as we were the only people doing that on that day. Myself and my daughter had 6 sessions with the dolphins, including care etc. The dolphins looked well cared for and there are 5 off them. We got all our photos (360) and dvd (16mins) for 200 dollars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear visitor,

Dolphinaris is happy to hear you and your family had such an amazing time with the dolphins at our facilities. We appreciate your feedback about your experience during your visit with us; your comments help us to improve our services.

The Trainer for a Day Program is the most complete program we have. It is the perfect program for true dolphin lovers. In this program you will receive the most time, education and activities with these amazing mammals. This program is truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Thank you for choosing Dolphinaris and please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Got the 60mins swim with the dolphins for nothing as part of package to move hotel rooms from Akumal to Sian Kaan. We booked it at the PR Desk and went to check on the day that the PR team had booked it and it turned out it was booked incorrectly. The Women on the desk was very helpful who put us through the Dolphinaris Manager who was BRILLIANT and sorted everything out for us that day.

Once we were in with the dolphins we got the whole 60mins and the women instructor who was brilliant. Great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOLPHINARIS, Community Team at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear visitor,

We are happy to hear you and your family had such a wonderful time here at our facilities. Our staff’s goal is for you to have the upmost experience, education, time and activities with these beautiful mammals. We want you to leave with a smile on your face and to go home and tell all your friends and family members about us.

Dolphinaris invites you to visit us again in the future maybe at one of our other locations.

Thank you and you are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphinaris Tulum also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Dolphinaris Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing